September 1, 2014 | 1909 users online

Lipstick - Clinique - Different Lipstick - Sugared Grapefruit

no image

rated 3.4(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/9/2014 8:45:00 PM More reviews by clairerenee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I got this as a GWP many years ago. I quite liked it then but it got overshadowed by flashier lippies. I "rediscovered" it and LOVE it. I used to prefer very bright, bold lipstick years ago but now prefer more understated looks.

This is a sheer, shimmery (I don't think it is "frosty") coral that is good everyday or summer lipstick.

I am very fair (nc15) and I really don't think anyone medium and darker would be happy with the pigmentation of this shade.

No fragrance or flavor and shiny enough that no gloss necessary

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/5/2013 4:14:00 PM More reviews by mkinthecity

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Every time I go to the Clinique counter hoping to purchase Sugared Grapefruit Different Lipstick, the SA always talks me out of it and I never end up swatching it on. I end up with another neutral lipstick shade (albeit still gorgeous!) I went to Bloomingdale's and the nicest SA I have ever met at the Clinique counter helped me today. He told me that Sugared Grapefruit it is a bright shade, but at the same time, he said it was very sheer - so it actually shows up quite soft on the lips. He swatched a lot of colors on me to make sure I was sure I liked this shade. Out of all the swatches, Sugared Grapefruit was the color I have been searching for that I kept getting talked out of purchasing! When I applied it to my lips, the color is sheer pinky-peach color with a bit of shimmer. The formula is so comfortable too! It's a very happy and youthful shade. My lips have a natural coral tint, so this really brings out my coloring. I am very fair (I was swatched and my shade in the Superbalanced Foundation is Breeze - lightest neutral shade!) with dark brown hair. Perhaps if you are looking for a sheer bright color, give Sugared Grapefruit a try! This is my all-time favorite color in the Different Lipsticks and really gives a fresh and youthful look! LOVE IT!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/21/2012 9:20:00 AM More reviews by goldenrosegold

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

No pigmentation at all, very sheer to be a lip stick, just makes my lips look pearly, very disappointed

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/19/2012 2:42:00 AM More reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I thought this would be too bright and cool toned for my olive skin, but it isn't. It goes on creamy like a nice balm, and as it fades it leaves a pale coral tint on my lips that brightens up my face. When it fades it does feel a bit drying, but I don't mind reapplying. I hope it hasn't been discontinued because I would repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/14/2009 6:57:00 PM More reviews by ljanelle

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Light, playfu coral/pink color that's great for summer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/17/2009 3:07:00 PM More reviews by eq2008

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I didn't like this because of the frost. I am not a fan of anything frosty at all. No frost in my lipsticks and shadows for sure.....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2006 2:15:00 PM More reviews by JennBard

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

A nice bright color for redheads. Appears coral on me with a slight hint of pink and just touch of shimmer. Perfect for summer nights out and against tan skin! It's really a different shade and I highly recommend it to the orangey/strawberry redheads out there (versus auburn/burgundies) looking for something new and brightening. Has better staying power when paired with the Quickliner in Cocoa Peach.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2006 10:04:00 AM More reviews by Journey03

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

When I went to my local Clinique counter, I asked the SA for a spring-ish color that will flatter my olive complexion. She reached for this and I was quite skeptical at first. I thought it was way too "wrong" for me. In the tube it looked like a real bright orange-pink w/ lots of frost. She assured me it wasn't too garish looking on. I took her word on it and decided to try it before I shelled out the cash for it. I chose Allspice l/liner and tried it on w/ my fingers crossed. Surprisingly, though, it looked very nice. On me it was a pinkish coral w/ shimmer (in a good way shimmer) and wasn't too 60s austin powers era. I noticed the trick to applying this color so you don't get too much color and possibly too bright is to apply w/ a lipbrush. I was happy w/ the results and decided to purchase it. Looks great for the spring/summer months, but will be put back in the drawer come fall....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/7/2005 10:52:00 PM More reviews by dreamer81

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pretty coral-pink (but more pink) that is frosty. I have a problem with the clinique lipstick colors i choose being too sheer. Anyhow, i would only really wear this color in the summer and on warmer spring days. This looks good, but not *great* agaisn't my MMM yellow/olive skin, probably wouldn't repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/26/2005 9:40:00 PM More reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

In the tube this looks like a shimmery medium peachy pink, but on my lips it is much more pink than peach and a tad bright. It looks alright and I may find myself using it more in the summer, but for now I find myself toning it down with a gloss. For some reason I really like the name of this one--maybe one reason why I bought it! I don't think I'd get this one again, but I'll enjoy using the one I have.

Is this review helpful? Yes No