Bumble & Bumble Curl Conscious Defining Creme

3.7

56 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/20/2015 8:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm giving this product 5 stars. Despite the price. (which is extortionate!)
This is the only product that makes my curls beautiful, defined and shiny. And believe me I have tried everything!
I have wavy hair, rather than curly most of the time, although occasionally i get some spirals in there. After showering I use kinky curly knot today, followed by a tiny amount of this scrunched into my ends, and without fail I get defined, soft curls/waves with NO CRUNCH.

You really do only need a tiny amount of this stuff.

The only negative is the price, so I always ask for this at Christmas or on Birthdays!

I'm not sure what I would do without this product!



on 2/2/2015 1:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my third place styling product for defining curls (first place goes to Oribe, second place to Arrojo.) It eliminates frizz on my short, fine curls and leaves my hair bouncy unless I use too much work in which case it can get a bit helmet-y. As usual, it’s about portion control…


on 1/5/2015 10:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I actually believe it makes my hair more frizzy. Waste of money.


on 11/4/2014 12:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This actually was not heavy enough for my very thick curly, shoulder length hair. I mixed a very generous amount of the cream with Deva gel, and my hair dried into an afro. My hair wasn't too frizzy but there was a lot of shrinkage and my curls looked awful and tight.


on 10/1/2014 12:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have fine hair that is curly, but mostly the underneath part. I bought this in my attempt to be kinder to my hair and wear it curly (versus blowing it dry straight and flat ironing it). This doesn't keep my curls "shapely and resilient" like the bottle says. It makes my hair look greasy and weighed down.


on 1/30/2014 3:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

my hair is neither thin nor fine, but no matter how little i use of this stuff it makes my wavy/curly hair stringy, greasy and flat. it also leaves a film-y residue on my hair that begs to be washed out. the smell is sickly sweet and lingers.


on 11/17/2013 4:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been hearing about this for years but hadn't tried it - there are always so many products to try, and it is pretty pricey. But I finally got around to it, and hoped that it would be my HG. Unfortunately, it's not.

I had high hopes. My 3b curls looked great initially, either using a blow dryer w/diffuser or letting my hair air dry. But halfway through the day, I started to look like an unkempt poodle. My curls were fluffy and voluminous, but in a dry and out-of-control way.

I wash my hair every other day, and Day 2 with this was hard to handle. Typically, I will add a little product to revive my curls; adding this was out of the question, and adding other products was ok, but still not ideal. Basically, my hair was big and fluffy. Very curly, and pretty unruly.

My biggest complaint, though, is that it left my hair gross to the touch. It left a gritty film that I just didn't like. It's also pretty expensive and rather drying. I had even less shine than normal when I used this. I tried it for about two weeks before giving up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/27/2013 7:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

this is my holy grail product. i have very thin hair (few hairs per square inch), very fine hair (thin hair shaft), and wavy-to-curly hair. usually very frizzy.

this stuff defines my curls, controls my frizz, and leaves my hair soft and bouncy. but the key is all in the application: i.e. use VERY little.

my hair is very long, down to my bra strap. i take only a dime-sized amount of this product AT MOST, rub my hands together, and then bend over and work it in from root to tip, starting at the back of my head and moving forward. the front/top of my scalp gets the least amount of product. if you have shorter hair, you'll want to use even less product.

i think the price on this is super reasonable because one bottle has lasted me two years and there's still 1/4 left. very little goes a long way.

this is miles better than ANY mousse i've used and was much better than the fekkai curl creme. i'm not totally thrilled that this is a silicone-based product, which is notoriously bad for curly hair and fine hair, but honestly, if i use it the right way (super sparingly) i get really great results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2013 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My sister's salon carries Bumble and Bumble and she gave me some of this. While I notice a good shine without the help of serums and a soft texture, it takes longer for my hair to dry (even with a blow dry balm) and is easier to overuse. If your hair is dry or thicker and more course this might be worth looking into. Otherwise use sparingly. Another problem, Bumble and Bumble is owned by Estee Lauder.


on 1/5/2013 12:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I first started using this because my stylist recommended it. I have been using it for two years now. It did take me a few tries to get it to do what I wanted. Unlike previous reviews I do not feel like this weighs down my hair but I have learned that you only need to use a small amount of product. I keep my hair length between a bob and my shoulder and at most I need a small dime size drop to work. Since you need to use so little a bottle lasts me close to a year which justifies the cost to me. I have even used this on my sister who only has wavy hair and have seen great results. Overall this is a product that takes practice using but once you get it you have natural soft defined curls.




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Brilliantine

155 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Sunday Shampoo

80 reviews
image

Prep

107 reviews
Back to Top