April 18, 2014 | 926 users online

Treatments - Avene - Ystheal+ emulsion



image 0

rated 3.8(47 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 59% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 1/6/2014 6:21:00 PM More reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

My skin: combination (dehydrated and sometimes has dry patches due to the cold and windy English winter), sensitive to bad quality products and harsh ingredients. Get breakouts when using the wrong cosmetics.

Good points:
- Doesn't break me out
- Sometimes makes my skin more luminous
- Hygienic packaging

Bad points:
- Doesn't moisturise enough- sometimes my skin looks really dehydrated the day after using this, even though I was using Avene's moisturiser Hydrance Optimale every morning, which is supposed to be really hydrating...
- Need a lot of product to cover my face and neck
- Sometimes it stings quite bad
- Sometimes causes redness


I cannot comment on its ability to decrease wrinkles because I used it as a preventive measure. I used only one tub and will not repurchase because even when using every night religiously it failed to provide enough moisture and at times made my skin sting and become red. The search continues.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/8/2013 5:40:00 AM More reviews by lala1983

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Needs to be applied daily for AT LEAST 3 months, before any improvement can be seen, this is the same with all retinoids. I have used retin A for two years a long time ago for my acne prone skin, it helped but left my skin very red and fragile. I no longer suffer from acne but my skin is quite flushed and oily, this cream is much more gentle, my acne scarring has gone, my skin tone is more even and it also reduce the one lines around my eyes. I only use at night and wear 30 SPF in the winter, 50 spf in the summer as retinoids make your skin more sensitive to the suns rays. I use at night after toning and it is moisturising enough for my combination skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/23/2012 2:49:00 PM More reviews by AnG87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

So I gave this a go and though it did not irritate my skin (hence the second start) it did absolutely NOTHING for me. So to spend 22 GBPounds on something that doesn't work seems very expensive to me. Needless to say I won't be buying it ever again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/7/2012 9:38:00 PM More reviews by Matillyrose

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have used this product for 3 weeks and have not noticed any improvement in my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/22/2012 6:13:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried this product for about a year. I only applied to my forehead (I was afraid that it would break me out). I tried to use this 2x a week (max). I tried really hard to incorporate it into my skincare routine...but I just can't use this product. This stuff is EXTREMELY IRRITATING! I used a very small amount, applied 30 min after cleansing, tried to use it as a mask, applied even less than 1x per week...and it does not matter...After almost 1 year of trying...I gave up...this is just super irritating.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/23/2012 10:03:00 PM More reviews by shadowphoenix

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a great starter product for anyone looking to get into this type of skin care. I've been using it for a month now. At first my skin dried out a lot on my cheek bones, so I dropped to using it once every two days. The dryness went away after about a week or two. I now use it every night. I have definitely noticed that my skin feels nicer. It feels .. smoother. My skin seems to look a little bit nicer, but I'm not noticing a notable impact on my skin tone, and the few blemishes I get on my chin area are not showing any signs of packing up and moving out.

This product is pretty great, I haven't found many products that have actually given me noticeable results for anything at all. So while this definitely is a good product, once I'm finished it I think I'll try something else, maybe something a little stronger.

The packaging is alright, I like the pump for its convenience, but it makes me a little meh that once I'm finished there will still be some product left that I can't get to. Since you don't need a lot of it, that could be a whole week or more's worth.

I purchased it at Shoppers Drug Mart and it cost me about $45-$50 (I can't remember the exact number)

Summary: the issues I have with my skin haven't gone away, but the rest of the skin on my face feels and looks nicer.
:)

***UPDATE***
I've been using this religiously for two months now, and still am not impressed. It didn't do anything negative, and it was definitely having SOME sort of effect on my skin judging by the periodic dryness it cause, but my chin area still looks the same, and as per my before and after pics, not much has changed. On to trying Neostrata now. Best of luck to anyone else using this! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/17/2012 1:28:00 PM More reviews by waddlecakes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product is absolutely genius, almost a miracle product for me.

I've got the worst skin in the world, coming from the UK and having that deathly pale, really thin skin you only seem to get in the British Isles, where instead of being milky pale and smooth, it's blotchy and dead looking. Aside from being whiter than white, it is also really sensitive and reacts to everything, be it heat, cold, certain products...a red blotch just seems to appear, my face gets itchy, for no apparant reason. It's also quite oily and I can get some under the skin cyst like spots, but any attempts at blitzing it leaves my skin dehydrated. Having stupidly spent some summers trying (and failing) to tan, I also have a faint line across my forehead.
So hears what I wanted to do:
- Get rid of that line and prevent ageing (I'm 25)
- Even out my skin tone
- Get rid of redness

I wash my face twice a day with Avene Clearance. Before I put on my make-up and leave the house, I use a hardcore moisturizer from Dove, and I do this again, after having washed my face at night. In the evening, once the moisturizer has sunk in, I use 2 pumps of the Ystheal all over my face.

I've been following this for about 2 weeks now, and have started seeing a real difference already. No more spots, the line is starting to fade, and my skin has gone from feeling and looking really fragile, blotchy and uneven, to looking luminous and an even white.

I cannot recommend this product enough. I've finally been starting to leave the house without any powder/foundation.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/22/2011 4:59:00 PM More reviews by avironneur

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

WHAT IS IT? Anti-aging moisturizer with retinaldehyde
INGREDIENTS: Water, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Spring Water, Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Propylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, Peg-100 Stearate, Squalane, Bht, Butylparaben, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Carbomer, Disodium Edta, Laureth-7, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Propylparaben, Ci 17200 (Red 33), Retinal, Tocopheryl Glucoside, Triethanolamine
HOW DOES IT PERFORM? This product's showcase ingredient is 0.05% retinaldehyde (also called "retinAL not to be confused with the more common "retinOL"), a precursor to retinoic acid which is stronger than more common retinol but not as strong as prescription-strength retinoids like Retin-A (tretinoin), Differin, or Tazorac. Retinoids in general can promote the development of skin collagen and by increasing collagen levels in the dermis can a) protect the skin from UV damage and b) eliminate fine lines. I found this product after 6 mos usage to be ineffective for my skin and I observed no changes while using it. This worked no better than a mediocre moisturizer (it is not very moisturizing but that is not the purpose of the product) and was somewhat irritating when applied in the eye area. The product is sold in airtight pump packaging which is both sturdy and appropriate for preserving the integrity of the active ingredient.
WOULD YOU BUY AGAIN? No - this did not provide any change in fine lines and did cause mild acne in some areas. Given the cost, if I wanted to continue with retinoids I can obtain Differin or Retin-A cheaply on my Rx plan here in Canada. For Americans with more expensive drug coverage or no drug coverage, this might be worth the expense.
PRICE: $45.00 CAD for 30 ml

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/14/2011 10:31:00 AM More reviews by kate_rose

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

In theory, this should be one of the better anti-aging treatments out there - it uses a close analogue of retinol (retinaldehyde, which is slightly less stable) in conjunction with the gentleness Avene products normally have. It has a funny colour (partly from colouring which will most likely be included to mask the tint from the active ingredient), but doesn't smell too strongly and has a nice, light, creamy texture which makes it easy to apply and lightly moisturising.
It is strong on my very sensitive skin though. Normally I love Avene products, and I did actually go through two bottles of this, just to be sure I'd given it enough time to work and for my skin to settle. I took to only putting it on at night, and only using it once every other day or so, to avoid skin irritation. I honestly couldn't say whether it *works* though. Irritation is a sign it's probably doing what it's intended to do (vitamin A-derived products are presumed to work through irritating the dermis, thus hiding wrinkles and encouraging skin repair), but the tight, slight burning sensation isn't pleasant, and I'm not convinced. I think the other issue is that since using it, I've lost some weight, which I think is causing wrinkles to appear on my face where before they were hidden by the extra fat; I've also been living in Spain for the last eight months, so I think there's an added factor there. I might try it again when my weight is more stable and I'm back in the less-than-sunny UK. Another thing I've noticed is I'm only using a plain, rich RoC moisturiser at the moment (the only other thing I'm using is a RoC eye cream) and my skin, while dull, is less aggravated, and the fine lines around my eyes are less noticeable than when using the emulsion. Disappointed, but there might be circumstances affecting its effectiveness in my case.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/25/2011 11:19:00 AM More reviews by bini85

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a good night lotion. My face is pretty sensitive and breaks out easily to just about every night cream I have ever tried. I love this lotion, because it's a lotion, not a heavy cream. It's light-weight, absorbs quickly and leaves a dewy/pink tone to my skin as soon as I put it on. I don't have any wrinkles that I really need to treat at the moment, I'm using this product basically to prevent. In the morning my skin is super soft and not oily at all. I'm on my second bottle now. The price is not bad AT ALL. $49 (at Shoppers Drug Mart) is a good deal for something that I'm happy with compared to the hundreds of dollars I've spent on crap. One pump is all you need to cover your entire face (maybe a little more if you're also applying to your neck, which I don't).. also the 30mL bottle goes a long way. It lasted me about 3 months, after using it every single evening. Def a recommended product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No