Estee Lauder More Than Mascara

3.7

259 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/13/2015 6:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This product is alright except for the fact that it made my eyes burn and itch! I had to stop wearing it because of how irritated it made my eyes - it got to the point where it was too painful to wear it. Definitely would never repurchase this or recommend this to anyone. What the heck is in there anyways to make it that way? Mascara shouldn't made your eyes feel like they're in the fiery pits of hell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/12/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This mascara made my eyes burn and itch. It also smudged and smeared. I had to throw it away. What a waste of $25.00. I loved the brush so much that I saved it. The brush is almost worth the cost of the mascara.
The mascara comes in a beautiful cobalt blue tube and looks beautiful on the vanity. Too bad the performance did not match the packaging.
I'll stick to the drugstore mascara. The ophthalmologist says toss it after 2 months so why pay more than $10.00?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2015 12:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very weird mascara. It goes on nicely due to the great formula and brush. Absolutely no clumps, it's very black and gives a fairly dramatic effect. It looks so clean and professional on my lashes. But as the day goes on, my eyes begin to water and the mascara runs and then my eyes burn like fire, and then water more, and before I know it, my eyes are a mess of liquid black mascara running everywhere, and burning eyes. Clearly something in this formula does NOT work for me. I've used hundreds of mascaras from the cheapest $3 E.L.F. up to Givenchy and Lancôme. I've never had a mascara burn my eyes, and this burns horribly, as in severe painful burning. But it's weird that the first 4 hours or so is absolutely perfect with no burning or watering and then it suddenly starts and I can't stop it. So it's like the formula breaks down and something is released part way through the day that sets my eyes on bloody fire. I actually got 2 tubes of this at two different times, thinking the first tube was bad, but both tubes have done this to me. But I agree with other reviewers - this stuff absolutely NEVER dries out! I've had these tubes sitting there for probably 3 years now and they are still just as wet as day 1. No I never use them but I can't bear to through them out either because they are beautiful and expensive, even though I don't use them.....I know, it's dumb.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2013 2:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A good mascara if you have long lashes that tend to clump together with the other mascaras. Tried this after the hypnose drama made mine a clumpy mess. Classic head to the brush which defines and lengths. Similar to LancĂ´me Definicils but does add a bit more body to the lashes rather than the natural look of Definicils. Probably second on my list after long and pretty lashes (Clinique bring it back). Only draw back, if I get this in my eye whilst applying or removing, I end up with streaming eyes for hours.


on 4/19/2013 5:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is just ok. It's a very average mascara for a very high price...staying power is decent, but it doesn't really seem "moisture-binding" or provide any unusual benefit. The brush shape is on the old-school side, for those who are a fan.

Also, my eyes aren't particularly sensitive, but when a little of this gets onto my waterline when applying, my eyes sting and tear up uncontrollably. No other mascara does this. Kind of bogus.


on 4/18/2013 6:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was given this mascara as a gift, I would never ever pay $22 for a mascara. I liked it, more than I expected to, but I've used drug-store mascaras that I liked just as much or more for a 1/3 of the price.


on 3/17/2013 12:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

One of the best mascaras I've used. Not clumpy...makes my lashes long and thick. More money than id typically like to spend, but a good product.


on 12/11/2012 6:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice mascara, but it's not for me. I've received this as a GWP many times and I always use this up, but it just doesn't give me what I want from a mascara.
This is a super natural mascara. No matter how much you try to build this, you're not going to get extreme length or volume. Estee Lauder claims that this is a defining and conditioning mascara, and it definitely is just that and nothing more. If you wear minimal makeup and just want your lashes to look a little nicer, I'd recommend this. If you're like me and like dramatic lashes, I'd look elsewhere for a mascara.
Even though this doesn't give me what I like, it's still a really great product. The brush is really nice and the formula is very clean, if that makes sense. It never clumps up on the bristles or gets goopy. It feels light and soft when applying, and when I wear this my lashes feel really soft all day long. It's also very easy to remove, since your lashes aren't dry and crunchy at the end of the day. The only problem with the formula is that it does tend to smudge a lot, especially in warmer weather. Another plus is that this mascara never seems to dry out, so even though it's a little expensive, a tube should last a long time.
I'd give this a 3.5 if I could, because it's really not bad at all, it's just not my favorite. Like I said, if you like soft, natural lashes, give this a shot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2012 6:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a fantastic mascara - a classic case of you get what you pay for. If you are willing to fork out a huge chunk of cash this is fantastic - a classic style brush (unlike all the silicone/plastic brushes of late) which lifts, volumises and lengthens. My only complaint is it's not very black (more of a dark grey) and it is prone to flaking if you build layers. But as a daily duty mascara it is very good.


on 9/16/2012 11:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS MASCARA. Its so hard to find a mascara cause of my uneven lashes but this is great! It looks like im wearing fake lashes! It doesnt clump my lashes amd gives them volume and length! It gives a beautiful look to my lashes i highly recommend.(:




Back to Top