April 21, 2014 | 970 users online

Scrubs - Dr. Brandt - Microdermabrasion in a Jar



image 0

rated 4.0(245 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/3/2014 2:21:00 PM More reviews by laurentaylor88

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a great exfoliator. I find that if I use this every other day after using my normal cleanser, acne marks fade much quicker than they would without using this. It's not a miracle worker, if you want a smooth complexion quickly, you're better off going with a series of in-office microdermabrasion treatments or chemical peels. This clearly states that using it six times is equal to one in-office treatment. I use this before chemical peels to insure I exfoliate well for the peel to get in my pores well. It's worth the money in that it does what it says, and lasts a WHILE. You don't need much per use. It leaves my skin immediately slightly pink and irritated looking, but in the morning my skin looks smoother.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/4/2014 4:07:00 PM More reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got a sample of this, which I enjoyed, and then I ultimately purchased a full size jar during a Sephora sale. I actually don't know how long I've had the jar, but I am disappointed every time I use it. First, I find it abrasive but it somehow doesn't do much of anything. I have used it mostly for targeted exfoliation of a small area--on a dry patch where I have a healed blemish, for example, and am without fail disappointed because my skin looks exactly the way it did before using it, just a little redder or more irritated. I also find that it doesn't spread--it just stays in the same lump that comes out of the jar, which makes it clumsy and messy to work with. It is also difficult to wash off, which is awkward if I try to use it just prior to applying face serum and moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/2/2014 1:27:00 AM More reviews by whatisaspacebar

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

For those considering buying this product, here is the Paula's Choice review (which rated microdermabrasion in a jar as "poor")"

Microdermabrasion for Face doesn't deserve consideration over the multitude of other topical scrubs claiming to mimic the effects of microdermabrasion because they use the same crystals. Brandt's version is quite abrasive, and even without this issue, Neutrogena's version is very effective and one-third the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2013 6:32:00 PM More reviews by lushyluxe

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This fabulous exfoliator cleared my skin of daily whiteheads, greasy skin and dullness. I'm now brimming with fresh faced confidence thanks to it. I must mention, though, that my skin is currently oily due to our hot & humid summers. I was nervous before using this exfoliator, thinking it will worsen my break-outs since it has microbeads. However, the opposite happened, and now my skin is smoother. The fresh minty smell is invigorating. Note: I found this product to be drying in the winter time, even when used once a week. I wouldnt buy it again because of the high price.
#Edit 2014: I'm having to up my rating to 5 stars because of its miraculous ability to immediately clear breakouts, cystic acne and nasty bumps. I'm on my second jar :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/18/2013 9:18:00 PM More reviews by CocoMademoiseIIe

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This exfoliator is super-powerful and I can feel it blasting away surface level cells; but don't worry, this "procedure" is pretty close to pain-free. The texture is very fine... imagine a night cream, with a healthy dose of sand. The exfoliating agents are small, round, and I actually find them to be quite soothing on my dry, sensitive skin. The very light lemon scent does slightly remind me of Pledge. However, I am very sensitive to smells and it does not linger once it's been washed off.

For those of you that have used ExfoliKate, this is a totally different experience. The exfoliating particles in this are much, much smaller than ExfoliKate. I also found the enzymes in ExfoliKate to be quite strong; making it almost as much of a chemical peel as it is scrub. Microdermabrasion is a true scrub and probably not the right fit for you if you like the peel/scrub combination of ExfoliKate.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/4/2012 9:41:00 AM More reviews by greta23

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product did not do a whole lot for me. I was looking for a product that would even my skin tone, as microdermabrasion does, but my skin looked exactly the same after using the entire jar. There are lots of natural face scrubs that hardly cost a thing and make my skin feel AND look great. I would suggest trying out a DIY face scrub instead of a harsh product like this one. Not worth it at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2012 3:10:00 PM More reviews by signemarie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is really polishing. Scrubbing particles feel sharp against your skin, so does the fresh scent (feels a bit like eucalyptus oil?). It definitely works, my skin is really clean and smooth afterwards, but I cannot help but wonder if what this is doing, really benefits my skin or not. I'm not used to products this rough, but if you like scrubs as effective and refreshening as possible, you will love this.

Me, I am a little afraid of it. But I use it to get rid of dead skin cells before self tanners and it works like a charm. I would be a little scared to use this more than once a week.

Also, I need a really, really hydrating mask after using it. Origins Drink Up is my favorite for replenishing the moisture that this pulls out of my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2012 7:18:00 PM More reviews by haidehh

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got sucked into the hype about this product. i have no major skin issues. just started with Retin A and so my skin is dry. I used this but didn't do anything. nothing at all. really not worth it for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/29/2012 9:41:00 PM More reviews by szcz29

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is exactly what you want a scrub to be -- and you actually feel it sloughing off the top layer of cells. The lemon-lime scents is refreshing, not perfume-y. I do wish the product came in a flip-top food as you end up having to try and close the cap with product on your fingers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2012 8:42:00 PM More reviews by sarahalthea

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Best scrub! I LOVE the fresh clean tingle it leaves!

Is this review helpful? Yes No