Alba Botanica Sea Moss Moisturizer with SPF 15

3.6

73 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients Purified water, certified organic aloe barbadensis leaf juice, caprylic/capric triglyceride, dimethicone, stearic acid, carthamus tinctorius (safflower) seed oil, vegetable glycerin, glyceryl stearate, peg-100 stearate, cetyl alcohol, lecithin, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), extracts of spirulina maxima (algae), ulva lactuca (sea lettuce), laminaria digitata (kelp), chondrus crispus (irish moss) and macrocystis pyrifera (kelp), citrus grandis (grapefruit) fruit and camellia sinensis (green tea) leaf extracts, sodium carbomer, allantoin, L-ascorbic acid (vitamin C), glyceryl stearate SE, phenoxyethanol, ethylhexylglycerin, potassium sorbate and fragrance (parfum) 5/23/09


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This was one of my first real SPF day creams when I was 14. Before this, I was foolishly slathering my face in No-Ad for SPF and trying to keep the pimples at bay by washing with Noxzema. I found this product in a health food store on sale. It's healthy, organic and vegan, and it didn't aggravate my acne.

If I couldn't find any of the less expensive options like Trader Joe's, Burt's Bees and ELF, which weren't available when I was young, I would go back to this product. It prevented pigment darkening a little. At the time, the formulation contained zinc oxide, but they changed it. I would prefer for them to change back to zinc oxide and titanium dioxide. They could use the new invisible zinc to make it more available to folks who would be more negatively impacted by a white cast than I.



on 3/21/2014 4:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have mild eczema so am very cautious about what I put on my face. I thought this product would b safe, being that it is a "natural" skin product. I found this very moisturizing but always left my face looking too oily within an hour or so. The smell is light and doesn't really bother me. However, every time I put this on my face stings for about a min or less and I start to get some red patches around. the stinging goes away but I'm starting to believe that this moisturizer is aggravating my skin. I will not purchase this again.


on 6/8/2013 6:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this moisturizer, but I think it's too light for me (even in the summer). I wish more moisturizers were packaged in a squeeze tube like this instead of jars. I would definitely buy this again because it's nice to have on hand, but I find myself re-applying this a lot because I feel like it's not moisturizing enough. The price is great.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this moisturizer! It is really creamy yet light, and it's not overly greasy like other face moisturizers with SPF typically are. This blends really well and the scent is pretty light! It reminds me of the beach. I hope they don't discontinue this!


on 2/13/2012 9:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Gave me acne after having battled for and achieving clear skin for the longest stretch of my life.
I use Olay original beauty fluid with zero breakouts (it actually cleared the mess this caused up), so I'm not sure what the deal is with alba...maybe the SPF?
This product is thin, which is a nice change from typical SPF moisturizers...but it definitely smells like sunscreen. It also leaves that sunscreen shine/glaze on your face. :/ I HAD to wear powder over it if I was going out!
Not too moisturizing...definitely didn't help with any of my super fine lines...maybe even made the worse, now that I think of it.
The price is higher than I wanted to pay, especially now, but I thought more natural=less risk of zits, prettier skin, right?! Nope...
But the lotion is thin, so I'm sure it would last quite a while.
Eh. :( Sad. I hate throwing stuff away when I'm trying to save $.


on 9/14/2011 12:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: Goes on very light for an SPF. Is supposed to stimulate cell regeneration to help correct uneven tone and helps with that somewhat. Light and subtle fragrance that reminds me of the beach (but not in a yucky sunblock smell way.) It sort of smells like the ocean in a good way. (Sorry I'm not good at describing scents. ;-) No cones, yay (so no clogging of pores)! Most spf's and all lightening/evening products really bother my rosacea/sensitive skin quite a bit, and this one doesn't as much.


CONS: May be a con for some that it leaves just the slightest glow or feeling of moisture, but not actually oily. I like the moisture for my combo skin. ******EDIT: Ended up bothering my rosacea too much.*****


ALTERNATES: Trader Joe's Enrich SPF15 is moisturizing but not greasy at all. When I need 30 or above, I use Hawaiaan Tropic's Silk Hydration or some name like that (but it can clog me if I use it for more than a few days in a row, so I only use it when I'm going to be in the sun a lot that day).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I put this on my face/neck, and within a few minutes it gave me a rash all on my neck. I washed it off immediately. The texture of this product was a little greasy and did not asorb into my skin right away. I didn't leave it on long enough to see how it was through out the day, but I may try it again since I can't return it (I got it while on vacation).


on 8/2/2011 8:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Another miss. This is basically sunscreen with a little moisturizer in it. It smells like sunscreen and it's greasy like sunscreen. 15 minutes after applying, I can wipe a lot of it off the surface of my skin with a tissue.

I switched over from a highly-perfumed L'Oreal moisturizer with SPF because I liked the "natural" and "no animal testing" credentials. But unfortunately I'm going to have to stop using it.

The grease factor might be good for someone with really dry skin, but I have fair acne-prone skin (though not terribly oily) and it's just... bad.


on 7/18/2011 4:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am a big fan of Alba's sea plus renewal night cream. LOVE it. This smells very much the same as the night cream, but absorbs much quicker. It's a lotion, not a cream, so it's much lighter (expected). Immediately after applying it is still a bit oily, but not a bad oily in my opinion, just nourished. After about 10 minutes its fully absorbed and my face feels really moisturized and comfortable. This seems like a good moisturizer for dryer skin types, oily skin types might not like it. But for me, it's exactly what I wanted.


on 4/7/2011 2:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a good moisturizer but its too greasy for my liking, If i wear it during the day time my face is soooo oily within the next hour, However I have found it to be really great as a night time moisture, it really soaks into your skin while you sleep and my face looks flawless in the morning and not oily, it has a pleasant smell and is affordable but I probably wont buy it again Im just trying to finish this one up


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1276 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
440 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
199 Reviews
Back to Top