September 18, 2014 | 1951 users online

Palettes - Smashbox - The Makeup Room

no image

rated 4.1(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 3/28/2005 3:12:00 PM More reviews by MkChic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is ok imo. It has three standard shimmery eyeshadows (a beige, a brown, and a purple). I like the beige one. I love the lipgloss's texture, but the colors are too dark for my taste, I like lighter lipcolors. It also has brushes, I don't recommend the blush brush, it is too small. The rest are fine.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2004 9:13:00 PM More reviews by redfemme

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

At SF CostCo for 25$. RUN to your CostCo to get this set.
Ok, so the brushes aren't the best--I'd take my MAC anyday--but you could toss them and the set would still be worth it. The Smashbox liquid liner I *love* (I've already used a fullsize caviar (black)) and the plummy shade looks great on me too! I never would have thought to try it. The blush is great quality--the e/s are top quality.
This beautiful box is sitting on a shelf in my boyfriend's apartment--it's so classy, looks like a black book, he doesn't even mind it--along with some mascara and foundation (which also fit in the box) its all you would need to pull together any look.
Update: I'm actually growing to love the brushes. Though spoiled by my MAC angled brush, the liner brush works fine. These brushes would be great for travelling. I've given away three of these boxes now, and everyone loves them. I am now using mine every day. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/22/2004 12:25:00 PM More reviews by catlike

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Grey

Picked this up at Costco this past weekend for $26! It's a great way to get a sampling of their products. The colors are mainly neutral plums and browns, so you'll find a way to make them work. The other reviews did a pretty thorough job of describing the packaging, so I'll leave that out. I had to knock a couple of points off, however, for the design of the brushes that come with it. The eyeshadow brush seems to pop off the handle every time. Still, a great deal for the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/29/2004 1:20:00 AM More reviews by lilycreator

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is a very good starters set but the convertible brush is where the points are off. The bristles are very coarse and almost hurt when I apply it. The makeup itself though is very good so I just apply them with my own brushes. The blush is nice but there's nothing really special about it. The eyeshadows are very good and are in very neural shades that look good on everyone. The cream eyeliner duo is great and will probably last a lifetime and the lip duo is okay. The darker shade was too dark for my liking but the lighter one was very nice. Another thing I didn't like was the packaging ( a flip-top box with a foamboard shelf with cutouts for the brush ) and although I did like the large mirror, it wouldn't stand up properly because the ribbon holding the top to the box came off. Makeup-wise, this is great and that would be the only reason I'd buy this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2004 12:21:00 PM More reviews by mich1073

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I won this palette thru Allures giveaway!! It is the first time I have used Smashbox, and I really like it. The colors are wonderful and very wearable. The E/S have staying power and remind me of my MAC, Nars and Stila E/Ss.

I have a "thing" for Nars, and this palette is ranking up there with my Nars stuff. Great work Smashbox!! And huge props to Allure as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2004 11:26:00 AM More reviews by sunshine34

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

You know when you buy a palette or set of products there are always a few you just never use and it bugs the hell out of ya?! Well NOT SO with this little lot! The colours don't exactly *grab* you on first look but they are all really wearable shades for me. You get a blush,(Snap, slightly browned dusky pink) 3 e/s(Prep, Strike and Wrap, plum, golden taupe and golden brown.) a lip brilliance duo (Smashing Exposure,YLBB and a dark caramel) a cream liner (Black /Dark Mauve) and a convertible brush which is a bit of a lu lu but not BAD or anything! All you need is base and mascara and you're all done!

Like I said Not Exciting but deffo worth the dosh!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2004 9:41:00 PM More reviews by Newme

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this set! The e/s colors are beautiful!!!! It comes with 3 full sized e/s colors, a blush, a cream e/l duo, a l/g duo, a lipliner, a mini brush set. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the brush set but I didn't buy it for that. I would definately get this again if I ever ran out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/17/2003 7:54:00 AM More reviews by JGardella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is really cute. It comes in a nice black Smasbox box, kind of like a jewlery box.


Inside there are interchangeable make-up brushes, a lipgloss pot that contains two shades, three eye shadows, a blush, and an eyeliner pot that contains two colors.


The blush is a mauve based nude great, with a slight touch of brown to it. The glosses are nice, one side is a berry color, and the other is a brown. The shadows are great for a 'natural' look. The liners are okay, I'm not so fond of the Caviar Liners overall because they tend to smear on me, but the colors are pretty.


I'm very pleased with this. Check it out if you can!! :o)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/22/2003 2:11:00 AM More reviews by Steph0891

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

really fun to have. all my cousins and friends want to take it away from me. but i want to keep it so i can swap it for something i'd like. i think it's a great kit. it's just the eyeshadow colors don't really work for me and i'm used to 'powder' eyeliners. brush quality is okay but there's so much better out there. but it's a really fun kit to have.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/14/2003 8:25:00 PM More reviews by kkasper

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Smashbox products are pretty good, I like the eyeshadow and blush that came in this set (light pink, mauve/plum and medium brown eyeshadows, all frosted but not horribly so and the blush is a rosy pink). I haven't tried the cream eyeliner or the lip pencil because on most days I barely wear lip gloss or eyeshadow! The brush set is good in concept (one handle with interchangeable tops), but my own brushes are better so I don't usually use these. The colors in this set are definitely on the pink / grey / mauvey side. Nothing orange, coral or spicy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No