Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid 3% Facial Wash

4.0

43 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Lauryl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl, Betaine, Glycolic Acid/Arginine, Propylene Glycol, Allantoin, Panthenol (Pro Vitamin B5), Quaternium-15, Methylparaben 6/11/09


on 2/18/2015 11:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my very favorite cleanser ever. I use this every night, switching between the PTR beta hydroxy and anti aging cleansers each morning. I highly recommend this. I have extremely oily skin, bad breakouts longer then I can remember and now wrinkles too. This is one of the things that I contribute to helping with all of the above. Love this so much.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in a desperate attempt to sort out my skin. I definitely don't have acne but I had enough spots to make me feel conscious.
I used to have lovely skin until I got to 17 when my skin suddenly got very oily, lots of small spots on my forehead, larger spots on the side of my face and, the worst ones, on my chin and around my mouth.
I don't like spending money on things like makeup and skincare and had tried a number of cheap face washes; Simple, Nivea, Lush, Teatree but nothing was working..

Read the rest of my review on my blog.. http://speaklistenbreathe.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/peter-thomas-roth-face-care-acne-wash.html


on 12/20/2014 9:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is the BEST product I ever reviewed on MUA. I have acne prone oily/combo skin with stubborn cystic breakouts concentrated on my cheeks. After dealing with a huge personal loss, my face was a disaster. Nothing absolutely nothing worked. My beloved Clinique, philosophy, neutrogenia, clean and clear, proactive. Nothing worked. My last resort was the derm but didn't want to pay the ridiculous cost of seeing a specialist. So my local sephora and the sales associate recommended this soap and only this soap to clear my face. She gave me a sample but I figured a tiny tub of gel will not do anything so I bought it. 3 days later using it 2x a day... My rough cystic cover cheeks were smoother. I was in tears!!! Even my co workers noticed!!! This product worked so well it dried out my mouth area and forehead to the point it was peeling. After only 3 days!!!! So now Its 3 weeks later and my face has been pimple free for a week now. I reduced using this to once a day approx every other day and only on my cheeks and I used Simple 24/7 moisturizer to balance the dryness and hydrate my skin. I still use purity made simple as a daily face wash. My face has never been better. I recommend this amazing face wash to anyone who will listen. It is $30 a bottle but that is a small amount to pay to get my confidence back. And since it's so strong a dime sized amount goes a long way. It doesn't really suds up but still a dime sized amount is just enough to cleanse your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is an expensive facial cleanser but worth it. One bottle can last you four months at least. You only need to use a small amount which lathers a lot. However, when I use it to wash off my make up, it does not lather on my first wash. The second time around, it lathers. This clear cleansing gel is pretty much unscented. My face feels dry after washing but very fresh and clean. My face has been much clearer since I switched to this cleansing gel. However, I also switched moisturizers (thumbs up for Neutrogema Anti Wrinkle Anti Blemish Cream). I hope this goes on sale. Since this product worked for me, I want to try other Peter Thomas Roth products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2014 5:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't know what to say about this product. I didn't mind it, but it also didn't do much for my skin either. I have really horrible, acne prone skin and maybe I need more to keep my skin in check. I didn't finish the bottle before I went back to my HG Jan Marini Bioglycolic Facial cleanser.


on 10/4/2013 12:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first bought this product, it worked wonders on my skin then after two or three weeks it started not to have as big of an effect as it did. The product did dry out my face so moisturizer was a must when using this. Now, I mainly use it for taking off heavy make-up and I love it for that because it takes it all off with ease. With that being said, I would re-purchase it for that use only.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2013 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

WARNING!!! This product may work very well at clearing your skin, but watch out! I used this product every evening with my clarisonic brush for a few months. I knew it was too harsh to use twice a day. My skin did start to get very dry and peel, but after a few weeks I noticed a huge difference. I was not breaking out and my skin was almost completely clear. I do not have horrible acne to begin with, just a few around my nose and chin. I was in love! Until I went to my dermatologist. I walked in and the guy at the front desk said "Wow! What are you doing to your face? It is so red!" I was shocked. When my dermatologist came is she said the same thing, she put the light right on me and my face was glowing RED! You could see underneath my skin, my whole face had this strange red-ish hue. I told her what I had been using and she said this was definitely it. She said this is much too harsh for anyones face. I was so happy with my clear skin I did not notice the redness. After a week or two of not using this my skin was not red anymore, I did relapse and used this one evening and noticed the redness was back right away for two whole days! Two stars because this can be amazing if your skin can handle it. My skin is pretty resilient though and this damaged mine quickly so I took a few off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2013 11:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had the worst experience with this cleanser, it almost ripped my face off - literally. Even though I have acne-prone skin, I haven't had any major breakouts for a few years. This cleanser made my skin breakout terribly for weeks to come, I had red patches all over my face, especially around my mouth, chin and the side of my cheeks. I started to get cystic acne which I hadn't had for years. I first thought that I would be going through a purging period but even using it every other day or only twice per week it just wasn't for me and the damage was done. It almost took 3-4 months to get my skin back to normal. Luckily I bought it at Sephora and was able to return it for a credit. Definitely will not be buying this again.


on 10/8/2012 1:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this product with my clarisonic mia at night after pre-cleansing my face to remove makeup. It does contain SLS so it foams well. My face feels clean after use and I find the concentration of Glycolic Acid gentle enough for daily use. I did try using this soap twice a day and found the product drying my skin.


The packaging does not travel well; the cap leaks the product.


250ml lasted about 8 months or so for me. Although I paid ~$50 plus tax for this bottle at Sephora, it did last a long time so it's worth buying if you love the product.


I generally find glycolic acid containing product good for controlling blackheads. Overall, this is a good product but I wouldn't mind trying other products to see if there is something better.



on 4/7/2012 1:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I gave this product a fair shot. I bought it after using a sulfur-based prescription face wash (Plexion) for years. My previous face wash had been discontinued and I thought trying a glycolic acid would be beneficial to my skin. I have pretty normal skin that gets random dry patches during weather changes and is prone to breakouts (mostly one/two large cystic pimples a month and whiteheads).
I used this for four months until the bottle ran out. I don't think it's a terrible product, but for me it really didn't agree with my skin. The first week I used this my skin was massively dry, like scaly almost. But, as a poor student I thought I'd push through it and see if my skin improved. Eventually, my skin "adjusted" to this and no longer felt dry after the first week. I only used it once a day (at night) with my Clarisonic after using an oil cleanser to remove my makeup. This gave me massive amounts of whiteheads and did NOT prevent further breakouts. I think it was a result of over exfoliation since the acid in this is an exfoliant. Wouldn't buy it again.


Back to Top