August 1, 2014 | 969 users online

Fragrances - La Maison de la Vanille - Vanille Givrée des Antilles



image 0

rated 3.7(54 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/25/2012 1:03:00 AM More reviews by grldollies

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

La Maison de la Vanille - Vanille givree des Antilles - very nice, At first I liked the Madagascar one the best but now I'm on a Antillies Kick, I think my chemistry changed, I believe it smells better on me now. A wile ago I had my doc check my iron (hair falling out & I was doing coldapause) and they did a multi-check and found out my Bs were excessively high. I quit taking a B & multi vitamin's - and voila my hair stopped falling out! Woohoo! But still doing coldapause - nope no hot flashes geeez! I never have normal symptoms! Well any way my DH likes this one the best : )!
On-Line/web found description - Vanille givree des Antilles -"Oriental, spicy accent, fresh top notes of citrus and slightly spicy lavender are blended with rich blossoms of rose and tuberose to finish by a hint of mysterious patchouli and sensuous vanilla."
The Purfumer's french web site description, google translates - "Orientalist and flowers, subtly spiced,Vanilla Frosted Caribbean is refined like a pearl nacre, a note of mystery. A large attachment from the very top note, Women ... For a sensual, seductive " -
smell I guess.
On me this scent, has a sexy medium/deep spicy vanilla base - encompassing a slightly floral scent w/a bit of oriental woodsy overtones slightly citrus. Antilles has a nice body/aroma/nose - but not too overpowering a smell. I can wear this one any where day or night. It stays with for most of the day. I think the Madagascar lasts a bit longer, it has a deeper scent. I also like the discontinued Coty Dark Vanilla. I am very picky and many perfumes bother me. So I have a rather small collection (unlike my shoes!) I bought another bottle so if I forgot to put it on in the morning upstairs, I have one close to the door before I sprint out!
I love vanilla, but I am not into the sickly sweet kind more on the warm rich sexy type. I don't want to smell like a cookie, this one is no cookie! I have had some that are, Vanilla after bath sprays, Vanilla Sugar, Vanilla Bourbon. I find I do not use them as much.
I used to wear Di Borghese Women's Perfume by Princess Marcella Borghese, it is a rich heavy scent, I still like it but I have moved away from that heavy of a smell. Way long ago in my young carefree days I wore Shalimar but today it gives me really bad headache (most Avon perfumes do too). However my mother still loves to wear it at 74 and no headache!
I will buy both Vanille Givree des Antilles and Vanille Sauvage de Madagascar again and I recommend them as a quality product that's worth the money.
French Designer La Maison de la Vanille has 7 perfumes all launched in 2006, one (Moai) for men and six fragrances for women. French Co web site (You will have to convert to English) [www.maison-de-la-vanille.com ]
La Maison de la Vanille makes a nice 5 pack sampler set (about $50) which is probably what I should have bought first off. I bought the neat aluminum bottled Vanilla EDT sprays on Amazon. I have looked for them in several department stores but I have never found them to see what the other ones smell like. The set includes: five 15ml glass atomizer bottles of each scent in the La Maison vanilla line, including Vanille Fleurie de Tahiti, Vanille Noire du Mexique, Vanille Givree des Antilles, Vanille Sauvage de Madagascar and Vanille Divine des Tropiques. If you google these names you can find some reviews on the scents but as you know how they smell in the bottle may be very different on the skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/22/2010 9:46:00 AM More reviews by victorialynne

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This does smell like a much better, softer, warmer version of Angel. I do not like Angel at all......way too heavy and smells like dirt to me. Antilles is a wonderful mix of vanilla, slight florals and patchouli. I personally just smell vanilla and cocoa : ) When first applied, it is a bit masculine, just give it a couple of minutes and it morphs into a beautiful well done vanilla that has great lasting power on the skin. Great prices and in a cool metal/tin bottle. I ordered mine from luckyscent.com.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2010 12:10:00 AM More reviews by sparklesprinkler

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Other

Fantastic scent. Deep and sophisticiated. Smells similar to Angel but softer and smoother. Lasts forever, great staying power. Love the metal bottle as it keeps all light out of the product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/25/2010 4:28:00 PM More reviews by CaytiKyle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

HG HG HG!!! I have been wearing this fragrance for several years now, and I just love it. This works so well on my skin and lasts all day, and longer. From first spray to dry down, I love every bit. Out of my two signature scents, I get complimented for this one all the time by men and women alike. It is very sexy, exotic, interesting, and intelligent. I know it's weird to call a fragrance intelligent, but what I mean is that there is complexity to it's beauty. It's not an in-your-face-cupcake type of vanilla at all. It's Cupcake's mature, worldly, and mysteriously seductive big sister. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2009 9:14:00 AM More reviews by JenniStarBrite

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Many people have compared this to Angel so I was concerned. I had recieved Angel last Christmas and it was A HORRIFIC mess!!! Smelled like dog vomit and it took washing my hands in antibacterial soap 5x before the stench wore off. My husband was horrified. So I was a wee bit concerned about this.

However...this on me, is NOTHING like Angel. This is my second of this line-previously I'd recieved a sample of Nore deMexique (DIVINE!!!) and its made me want the others in the line.

It starts off strong, with a very masculine note to it. Normally I hate that, but this was tempered by the Vanilal from the very beginning so it was masculine yet soft. Very surpisingly alluring. As it dried down and settled into the passing hours, it changed to a very warm vanilla with a hint of cocoa and other notes that ddint smell floral to me but reminded me of the lush, opulent notes in the Guerlain perfumes my mother loved (and of which I have fond memories of as a child smelling her before she went out) but much more wearable. Those are too heavy for me but this...delicious. Very smooth and creamy.

Its a strange fragrance because its at the same time rich and yet soft. It wears close to my skin and I can smell it for hours but others can't seem to detect it to heavily unless they are close-which is how good perfume should be worn anyway!

I think its the perfect "date night" fragrance; sexy, mysterious and enticing enough to be worn for special nights out to dinner, but it also works with its warmth for snuggling down on the couch in a warm cableknit sweater for a film fest with the hubby.

The price isn't terrible for the quality-it lasts most of the day on me-much longer than some higher priced fragrances.

And I adore the metal, flask-type bottle. It really has personality to it.

I am getting MAdagascar in a swap soon and REALLY want to get a bottle of the Noir de Mexique and Fleur de Tahiti.

UPDATE: I still like this but I have discovered Des Filles à la Vanille Vanille which is very similar in its entirety to the drydown of Antilles, so I am using that one more often than this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/22/2009 3:53:00 PM More reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Doesn't smell like "Angel Lite" to me (I found Angel revolting, albeit interesting), though if Angel is the Mother Of All Spicy Patchouli-Gourmand Perfumes, yeah, these two are related. The patchouli isn't as spicy as either Angel or Prada, and it's neither dirty, musky, nor dark. I like this year-round, even in the summer heat when most patchouli is too spicy or skanky for me. I smell lots of soft cocoa (an unlisted note). It's more floral than I expected, but the rose (winey and red, yet sheer) and tuberose (delicate) are very soft. Like Mexique, I find it easy to wear, subtle, and not too sweet (for a predominantly vanilla scent).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2009 12:13:00 PM More reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great staying power, great blend of notes, but it just doesn't work on me. What puzzles me most is that it claims to have flowers in its composition (roses and Tuberose), but to my nose this smells exactly like Angel (and I don't like Angel much), only lighter. And, as far as I remember, Angel claimed NOT to have flowers in its composition. This is rather quirky. I smell lots of patchouly here, and there's not that typical vanilla sweetness you get from other La Maison de la Vanilles.
You may love it because it's a good perfume, but I'm sorry I can't take this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/30/2009 3:21:00 PM More reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

Starts as a nice vanilla and dries down in a smoky sweet vanilla just like Vaniglia del Madagascar, which I love and already own. I get no other notes, though my sister gets a nasty, pasty combination of vanilla and something like sandalwood that sent her scrubbing pretty quickly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/29/2008 1:42:00 AM More reviews by threemermaids

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

After reading the reviews about this fragrance, I took a chance and purchased it online without ever smelling it. I was quite surprised at how much I like it! The first scent is undoubtedly an Angel Peony and somewhat masculine which later dries down to a warm vanilla. While I could still smell it on my wrist at the end of the day, it was not as strong and was very feminine. The packaging is interesting and fits nicely in your hand with a cap that actually stay on. It looks really nice on a minimalist bathroom vanity. This is a fragrance that you buy for yourself because you like this particular combination, and to hell with anyone else that doesn't!

Theirry Mugler's Angel Pivoine meets Perlier's Les Fles Vanille

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/15/2008 11:12:00 PM More reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I find that I can enjoy this quite a bit for the five dollars I paid for it. It's a simplistic vanilla/patchouli blend that thankfully doesn't have the buttery, gourmand quality that can result from marrying these two notes together in a fragrance.

It also smells lightly herbal and slightly sharp to me upon application, but this quickly fades out and mellows. I don't like a very medicinal and green patchouli (i. e. straight up) and this one cuts that aspect down considerably. The vanilla is not gourmand or cakey in the CSP way. I find this a very wearable patchouli in Florida's summer heat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No