August 27, 2014 | 1792 users online

Gels/Soaps - LUSH - Snowcake



image 0

rated 3.9(217 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/16/2014 12:15:00 AM More reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

What I would give for Lush to make this a permanent item! I personally feel like Lush's cream based soaps clean and lather better than the transparent ones. As a Christmas scent, this smells seasonal without feeling like Santa Claus punched you in the sinuses with cinnamon and peppermint and egg nog. It's a creamy slightly spicy slightly floral scent that's pretty delicate. Snowcake is probably the best lathering Lush soap I've used (and I've used pretty much all of them...I have a problem) and it was super moisturizing! When Christmas comes again I'm buying bricks of this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/12/2014 2:26:00 AM More reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this soap during the after x-mas buy one get one sale. After reading such rave reviews I was pretty excited but when it finally arrived and I smelled it I felt a little let down. I just didn't feel that wowed by the smell. After using off and on for a week or so the smell has grown on me and I do like it more. It's a very rich, creamy soap that lathers very well and doesn't dry my skin. After washing it just kind of has that unscented dove smell and doesn't linger. I would recommend this soap to someone who may be sensitive to strong scents but still wants to enjoy something from lush.
It is a very pretty soap (all of the pretty gold topping washes away as soon as the water hits it though).
I can see why people like this soap but I like others more.

UPDATE: something about this soap continues to grow on me...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/18/2013 4:06:00 AM More reviews by GGnumber1fan

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

There is really nothing else to say about the Christmas limited-edition Snowcake Soap except that it is FLAWLESS!
The beautiful marzipan almond and vanilla smell to this soap is literally addicting, I cannot get enough of it. When I used this a couple Christmases ago, my grandmother literally asked me after my shower where she could find whatever product I was using, she couldn't believe how good I smelled. So yes, the smell lingers on your skin for the whole day, which I personally enjoy. This soap is pretty cool too as the top of it is gold with fine gold glitter, which just makes it even more festive looking.
I really wish LUSH made this soap a permanent product because I would actually buy it all the time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/9/2013 6:36:00 PM More reviews by kes1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Love the scent so, so much, but I'm not overly keen on the soap itself. I find it quite drying and the scent doesn't seem to linger on my skin after showering.
Like all lush soap a bar lasts ages and the packaging is nothing special.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/27/2013 4:29:00 PM More reviews by Paintedlily62

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: It turns out that this soap, when packaged in the plastic that LUSH ships/processes it in, absorbs the smell of the plastic package. That being said, after a few washes the scent is a (mostly) plastic free creamy cinnamon powdery scent. It's pretty, but it's not a fav. I do still really like how moisturizing it is.

Maybe I got a bad batch. This smells like plastic dolls and Playdough rolled in sugar. I know it's not just my nose because my husband noticed it too. I usually LOVE marzipan and this isn't it.
If it wasn't for the nauseating smell, this would be lovely. The formulations is incredibly creamy and is perfect for shaving.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/15/2013 11:49:00 PM More reviews by hellomaddiee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm just going to start this out with that I love LUSH. From the store, to the website, to the ingredients, to the packaging, and to my little stash I allow myself sometimes. (Considering I'm on a budget.. But aren't we all?)

OK. Anyways. When LUSH's Christmas products came out, I was more than excited. However, It's kind of a tradition for me to wait until Christmas to receive my LUSH Christmas items. But, I just couldn't wait on this one. So, before I knew it, a little box of LUSH goodies was on it's way to my doorstep-- including this product. AND THANK GOD I DISCOVERED IT WHEN I DID.

I'd never smelled it before, but when I did, I instantaneously fell in love. This smell filled the whole box. I didn't want to use it as soon as I got it, so I just waited until the next night where I'd pair it with a bubble bar for a nice soak.

I didn't take it out of it's packaging until I was ready to use it, so it would stay fresh. When I unwrapped it, I was very pleasantly surprised! It had little cute gold detailing on the top that truly made it a Christmas product. And, as if to add to the effect, it felt so moisturizing that it almost slipped out of my hands. So I checked just to make sure it was a soap, and not a giant bath melt. And indeed it was a soap. A thick, creamy soap.

So I cut a little slice off like I do with all of my LUSH soaps, and laid it on the side of my tub. I ran some water and crumbled my bubble bar, (Sunnyside, by the way. Maybe odd for winter, but a favorite none the less). While the water was running, I got out a book and just enjoyed everything for awhile, then, it was time (You'd think it'd be more the just a soap by my choice of words!). So I wet the soap and, well, for the lack of a better word, rubbed it on myself. Now, I am the only one in my house who uses my stash, so no judging here. And, I also don't think you get the true benefits of LUSH soaps from a loofah or rag.

Back to business. As soon as I started to massage this soap into my skin, I immediately noticed how moisturizing this soap was! It just didn't feel like I was rubbing soap into my body. More like a body conditioner, or lotion. That you wash off. However, it was a very noticeable difference compared to my other most-reached-for soaps (Rock Star, Honey I Washed the Kids, The Godmother, all the sweet scents.) They all did fine-- but Snowcake was different. I rinsed it off and dried off, and put on my clothes, and I noticed something smelled really good. LIke, really good. After struggling for at least two minutes, I realized it was me! I was actually smelling the scent on my skin! So then, of course I reached to feel my skin, which felt extremely moisturized, considering I'd just realized I had forgot to apply my night cream. I smelled my arm, and it smelled just like almonds and marzipan. So I knew it was this soap. I noticed the smell until I fell asleep that night. Which was nice, I fell asleep with a beautiful aroma around me. But when I woke up, it was gone. However I won't complain, because of how strong the scent was before. But, I did notice that my skin still felt nice and moisturized, and I still hadn't moisturized. Not good for the heart of winter. So now, It's a few days later, and I just got out of the tub, where I used this soap. And now I'm sitting here writing an incredibly detailed review while being wrapped in the beautiful aroma that I was cleansed with (I tried to make it sound fancy. No judging!).

So, in the end, this is still a rave review of a soap. But, I highly recommend this. I will no doubt be stocking up on this. However, it does get four lippies on price, because it's LUSH. But, I think it's extremely worth it.

So, go to LUSH and buy this RIGHT away!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/4/2013 3:09:00 AM More reviews by vw1983

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Love this so much, lovely scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/14/2013 10:52:00 PM More reviews by Lewellenkelli

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Smells of almonds and marzipan. Not really my thing. And the smell doesn't last long either. Hard to lather but seems to moisturize pretty good

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/8/2013 4:15:00 AM More reviews by devitini

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I love this yummy little soap! The scent is mouthwatering. A perfectly sweet, confection-y almond vanilla and ultra moisturizing. Snow white with a cute gold dusting. The day that they stop bringing this around at holiday time is the day my little heart sinks. I would be thrilled if this became a year-long seller!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/4/2013 9:55:00 AM More reviews by Sarah1325

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is my favorite soap. Too bad it only comes out at xmas. The scent is AMAZING. Since they discontinued smitten hand cream I found this has the same scent! Anyways the soap doesn't lather well but that's fine. It is very moisturizing and I will always repurchace.

Is this review helpful? Yes No