OPI Italian Love Affair

3.2

100 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/1/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Loved this color in the bottle. But, application was kind of streaky (and I'm pretty experienced working with polish, IMHO). The color was too frosty for my taste, but it then turned a garish Pepto Bismol pink in about a day. I really wanted to like it, but the finish and the very bright color was a deal breaker.



on 11/14/2013 11:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I loved the colour after getting my nails done at a salon but felt it was a little too pink and girly. Applying it was difficult as the polish ran so easily.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty but a little too bright/Barbie pink for my own taste. I ever prefer something more sheer like Kiss Me On the Chic to this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2013 2:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Despite its streakiness on the first 1-2 coats, this is a great color. Its perfect for work, an interview, or an important meeting - its just a classic pink color. I usually wear 3 coats of this, and it stays for at least 4-5 days (done professionally, it lasts for 2 weeks without chipping). Its one of my go-to classic color polishes.


on 11/7/2012 9:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i am a total nail polish addict ! but i must say that i did not give this nail polish the credit it deserves. i actually forgot about this polish until fairly recently and i always get compliments everytime i wear it !!! its definetly a very elegant polish that works well on fair skin. the consistency is good and i have never had any problems with streaking. highly recommended !


on 2/27/2012 11:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Absolutely love this colour! Along with others, don't know why all the negativity towards it. I was looking for a warmer toned pink, that wasn't extremely bright, just in-between. 2 coats max does the trick, even one almost covers it so I don't get how people say its streaky and a bad formula.. went on perfectly smooth for me! One of my favourite pink polishes, get the most compliments when I wear this colour on my nails as well. Looks amaaaaaazing on tanned skin tones :) I find it very wearable, not porno-ish whatsoever and not little girl pink either. Great buy, love love love it!


on 1/29/2012 11:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous color...love the name. BUT it is sooo streaky! i had to put on 3 coats which i hate doing b/c it chips so easy...super disappointing b/c the color is so pretty!


on 1/27/2012 4:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by the negative reviews but then again, it's all about personal taste. I do not find this colour to be "girly" or barbie pink. It is a tasteful pink with a slight frost finish. I get many compliments when I wear this polish. If I'm careful (and by careful I mean wearing rubber gloves when doing dishes), I can get four days wear without any chips. That's good for me. The first coat is a bit streaky, but nothing a second coat can't fix. 5 outta 5 for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2012 9:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Well, I have to say that I am split down the middle on this product. In the bottle, it looks like a milky, warm pink - kind of subtle and sweet. On, however, it's a very cool-toned, frosted, bright pink (yes, Barbie pink, as other reviewers have claimed). Like other polishes with frosty or pearl finishes, I find Italian Love Affair to be a bit streaky and difficult to achieve a perfect application. I do think that pastel and frosty polishes share the common dilemma of imperfect formulas (for instance, Gargantuan Green Grape and Chicago Champagne Toast, both from OPI, have similar application/finish problems, as do my other frosty/pastel polishes from various brands).


BUT, I still do like it! I'm not a girly-girl, at all, so this Barbie pink is fun and different for me. I wear it on my fingers when I'm feeling a bit zany and out-there, but it's always a solid colour for my toes. Yes, the application is a bit of a pain and it can be a process to get the right amount of polish on the brush to avoid streaking or gooping. However, two coats is enough for ideal opacity and a non-streaky finish.


I think that cool-toned girls are going to find this polish far more complimentary against their skin, especially if you have a bit of colour (a bangin' summer tan, for instance). I think that there are far better pinks out there, from OPI and other, but I would probably repurchase this if I ran out.


on 1/10/2012 7:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Its alright if you are a nail artist but to have this color alone in my opinion is horrible.

I made it look nice with some of my flower designs and a gradient look but this polish alone is just trashy. WAAAY too barbie doll pink for me. I think it would probably look best on someone with really fair skin.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
84 Reviews
Dream On
59 Reviews
Nail Polish
62 Reviews

Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

151 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top