August 27, 2014 | 1612 users online

Polishes - OPI - Italian Love Affair



image 0image 1

rated 3.2(99 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 43% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 11/14/2013 11:20:00 PM More reviews by NicoleTMY

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I loved the colour after getting my nails done at a salon but felt it was a little too pink and girly. Applying it was difficult as the polish ran so easily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/2/2013 2:26:00 PM More reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pretty but a little too bright/Barbie pink for my own taste. I ever prefer something more sheer like Kiss Me On the Chic to this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/13/2013 2:18:00 PM More reviews by SavageGirl87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Despite its streakiness on the first 1-2 coats, this is a great color. Its perfect for work, an interview, or an important meeting - its just a classic pink color. I usually wear 3 coats of this, and it stays for at least 4-5 days (done professionally, it lasts for 2 weeks without chipping). Its one of my go-to classic color polishes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/7/2012 9:51:00 PM More reviews by jella22

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

i am a total nail polish addict ! but i must say that i did not give this nail polish the credit it deserves. i actually forgot about this polish until fairly recently and i always get compliments everytime i wear it !!! its definetly a very elegant polish that works well on fair skin. the consistency is good and i have never had any problems with streaking. highly recommended !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2012 11:19:00 PM More reviews by arianadesiree

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Absolutely love this colour! Along with others, don't know why all the negativity towards it. I was looking for a warmer toned pink, that wasn't extremely bright, just in-between. 2 coats max does the trick, even one almost covers it so I don't get how people say its streaky and a bad formula.. went on perfectly smooth for me! One of my favourite pink polishes, get the most compliments when I wear this colour on my nails as well. Looks amaaaaaazing on tanned skin tones :) I find it very wearable, not porno-ish whatsoever and not little girl pink either. Great buy, love love love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/29/2012 11:25:00 PM More reviews by nolamama10

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous color...love the name. BUT it is sooo streaky! i had to put on 3 coats which i hate doing b/c it chips so easy...super disappointing b/c the color is so pretty!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/27/2012 4:56:00 PM More reviews by ragazza

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by the negative reviews but then again, it's all about personal taste. I do not find this colour to be "girly" or barbie pink. It is a tasteful pink with a slight frost finish. I get many compliments when I wear this polish. If I'm careful (and by careful I mean wearing rubber gloves when doing dishes), I can get four days wear without any chips. That's good for me. The first coat is a bit streaky, but nothing a second coat can't fix. 5 outta 5 for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/20/2012 9:48:00 PM More reviews by tinytapa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Well, I have to say that I am split down the middle on this product. In the bottle, it looks like a milky, warm pink - kind of subtle and sweet. On, however, it's a very cool-toned, frosted, bright pink (yes, Barbie pink, as other reviewers have claimed). Like other polishes with frosty or pearl finishes, I find Italian Love Affair to be a bit streaky and difficult to achieve a perfect application. I do think that pastel and frosty polishes share the common dilemma of imperfect formulas (for instance, Gargantuan Green Grape and Chicago Champagne Toast, both from OPI, have similar application/finish problems, as do my other frosty/pastel polishes from various brands).


BUT, I still do like it! I'm not a girly-girl, at all, so this Barbie pink is fun and different for me. I wear it on my fingers when I'm feeling a bit zany and out-there, but it's always a solid colour for my toes. Yes, the application is a bit of a pain and it can be a process to get the right amount of polish on the brush to avoid streaking or gooping. However, two coats is enough for ideal opacity and a non-streaky finish.


I think that cool-toned girls are going to find this polish far more complimentary against their skin, especially if you have a bit of colour (a bangin' summer tan, for instance). I think that there are far better pinks out there, from OPI and other, but I would probably repurchase this if I ran out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/10/2012 7:01:00 AM More reviews by Snax1992

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Its alright if you are a nail artist but to have this color alone in my opinion is horrible.

I made it look nice with some of my flower designs and a gradient look but this polish alone is just trashy. WAAAY too barbie doll pink for me. I think it would probably look best on someone with really fair skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/26/2011 8:46:00 PM More reviews by OpiJunkie101

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is like a pearly pink . I'm only giving the overall rating a 4 because it's OPI . I wouldn't reccomend it to anyone unless you are a MAJOR girly girl . I just bought it randomly at Fred Meyers ; NEVER AGAIN!

Is this review helpful? Yes No