December 21, 2014 | 1591 users online

Lip Gloss - Cover Girl - lipslicks in princess



image 0

rated 3.4(53 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/13/2014 12:38:00 PM More reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

What the hell even is this product? It honestly looks like a Lipsmacker marketed for adults, and it feels just as cheap as one.
I didn't really know whether to expect much from this thing or not, but I was hoping for the best. Apparently, Lipslicks are meant to be an attempt at a bold mix of gloss and balm. Based on what I see, they ended up half-assing both components of this product. Firstly, this has almost no color payoff. I know it's meant to be a balm, but it's got a specific color, geez. What I got was the /slightest/ pink tint and some light frosty shine. It actually didn't look bad, and my lips looked fuller. So, there's one good thing, I guess.
Does it look shiny? Haha no. Like I said, you get a bit of a frosty finish, but it's not gloss-level shiny by a long shot.
Also, is it moisturizing? No. It seems like it is moisturizing, but at the end of the day, it dries out on the lips and you need an actual balm.
What bothers me the most about this product is the smell and taste. It smells like a regular lipstick, but it tastes like industrial plastic. It's that acrid taste that you just cannot get out of the back of your mouth. It is what I fear with most lip products, and, unfortunately, because of that, this Lipslick fell flat on its face.
Also, did I mention how frikkin cheap it looks? Lightweight plastic toned in a fully opaque, euphemistic color with a clear cap. That's akin to what I would see in the Bonne Bell shelves right next to a Covergirl stand. I understand that they were probably trying to go for a lip balm-like look, but they faaaailed.
I think one of these is like $6, which isn't bad. Honestly, I don't hate this product and will continue to use it occasionally, I just won't recommend it to people. Maybe the other Lipslicks in the line are better, who knows.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/13/2013 5:35:00 PM More reviews by sheila12344321

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pros:
--price...you can afford to try different shades without regret


Cons:
--ODOR...I don't know if it's a fragrance that is added or if it's just the smell of the chemicals, but it's really strong. It gives me a headache, so I can't wear it. Yuck.
--color wears very, very clear...I didn't expect a lipSTICK level of color, but this wore clear on me. If you already have pigmented lips, try a darker shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/10/2012 5:28:00 PM More reviews by Shannap

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I don't like this color and the way it feels on my lips. And the taste is kind of gross. However, my fiance loved the color and complimented me. So, I will only be wearing it on the weekends with him but I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/22/2011 3:42:00 PM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

Lipslicks are HG for me, I love the level of tint and silky feeling. This shade took awhile for me to like. I am NW15 by the way, but with very pigmented lips.

This one will probably look "porn starish" as another reviewer noted if your skin tone is above NW/NC20. Also, it does highlight chapped lips, so put chapstick on beforehand, or just layer it up (but then it's really frosty!).

I find that when my lips are not chapped and I am wearing minimal makeup, this is a lovely accent and because my lips are so naturally pigmented, the frost is not as obvious with just one layer. It actually gives me a peachy pinky MLBB glossy look. I think if you are very fair and have time to scrub your lips here and there, you will be pleased with this shade.

My profile, for FYI:
NW10/15, cool toned, blue eyes, normal/oily skin, 3a fine but coarse curly hair but I wear straight thanks to keratin treatments!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2011 7:21:00 PM More reviews by erinjmt

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is a lip stick with the feeling of a balm (not a gloss). The pigmentation is not strong, which I am okay with, and it is a little too shimmery for me (I really prefer a matte lip or a glossy lip - no shimmer or glitter). Overall it's lovely, especially nice if you only want to keep one lip product in your bag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/20/2011 10:09:00 PM More reviews by browneyessmiles

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've had these on and off since high school. And I still like them! They're light in color, but a cute and glossy. I find it a bit drying on its own, but fine over balm. I suspect that I like this more than I should - its the been wearing since high school connection that I like. Ocassionally I find the color of this to be a bit too cool / frosty for my warm coloring.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/20/2011 1:26:00 AM More reviews by aredore

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Heinous color.

I hated it so much, I had tor return it - I exchanged the LS for a neutrogena tinted balm without shine since they are not selling the Burts Bees' new release in my area. The kind of pale lavender overtones of this balm look nice MATTE - the shimmer is just way way too much - I have an issue when my balms start to look paler than my skin, and then reflect light on top of that.

Additionally, the texture was more of an old-fashioned lipstick - waxy, thick for balm and not very moisturizing...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/26/2010 12:58:00 PM More reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

My review is basically the same as the person directly under me. I was hoping for something sheer and rosy, but it did come out more lilac-pink than I wanted. It's a cute color on a little girl, perhaps, but I felt like I was a little too old for this color. Also, since I have extremely beige skin, this lilac-pink color looked a little too cool on me.


As for the smell, yes, it's pretty awful. It's like the standard lipstick smell. Also, don't panic if it seems really pigmented at first. When you first open it, it's pretty dry so it looks like your lips are peeling. After it warmed up to being used, though, it became a lot more sheer and easy to put on.


The moisturizing aspect is pretty good, about the same as any other chapstick. I guess in theory, this product was a good idea, but I don't like this color very much. I may attempt to use another color before I decide if I love or hate this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/7/2010 10:43:00 PM More reviews by JillyDoll

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I love lipslicks (the darker berry shades)... but this one isnt so cute. I have really pigmented lips so I didnt think it would show up. I bascially fell in love with the baby pink packaging and I love the size actually. (Makes it easier to grab at the bottom of my purse..) I was hoping for a slight baby pink tint or worst case scenario- no color... just sheer. This did show up...purpley frost. The cool lavender undertone doesnt look so good on me. You cant tell at all that it would be this cool when you look at it in the packaging. This would be great for people that like a light lavender-pink frost. I would repurchase lipslicks but not this shade. I'll keep it in my purse for a chapped lip emergency if I dont lose it first. ;-) Who knows? Maybe I'll grow to love the color. Right now? Not so much.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/1/2009 5:18:00 AM More reviews by Shonnette4eva

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very nice product! I don't like lipsticks because they add too much color but I don't like leaving my lips totally bare, so this was perfect for me. Offers a tinge of color for a more natural look and not so dramatic. Also I like the shine, it's not over powering like some lip glosses out there, but still noticeable. Only complaint is that I have to reapply often. After an hour or so, the color is still there, but my lips feel really dry. But I don't mind reapplying too much :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No