July 22, 2014 | 1375 users online

Eye Shadow - Stila - Kitten

rated 4.1(878 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/22/2014 4:03:00 AM More reviews by MysteriousMagicalMUAer

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

My favorite e/s ever. I use it every time I wear m/u. It's perfect to add a glow to my eyes. It's a true champagne color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2014 2:04:00 PM More reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

A very pretty champagne sparkly color , tones of cotton candy pink... Beautiful great as a highlighter or apply more for deeper color. Love it. DEFINATELY a beauty staple.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/12/2014 5:26:00 PM More reviews by mdbanks2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Kitten is the perfect mix between silver and gold. It is my go-to eyeshadow whenever I want to look wide awake and well rested. Gives your face a glowing effect that isn't fake looking and also doubles as a cheekbone highlighter! 4 lippies only because it's a bit expensive but it lasts a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/5/2014 1:33:00 AM More reviews by gilliannc

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I had a sample of this eye shadow and it was everything that I was looking for as far as color and staying power. The only major problem is it ends up EVERYWHERE and I ended up looking like a teenager who intended to have shimmery face. Putting on with a brush is out of the question....I have to use my finger and even then it ends up all over my lashes. I did buy the Kitten eye crayon which I like much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/1/2014 5:40:00 AM More reviews by beautyrock511

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this eyeshadow because of the insane amount of good reviews from people who have purchased the product, and also because of the beautiful colour. It reminds me, for some reason, of Nylon by MAC, as it has a yellow sheen to it.
When applying the eyeshadow though, it was ultra shimmery, and extremely prone to fallout that just wouldn't go away. I recommend using a Shadow Shield or something of that sort when applying the shadow. If you don't mind this, it is a lovely starter colour to a beginner's kit, as you can just sweep the champagne colour all over the lid.
I hope this review helped... xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/24/2014 6:07:00 PM More reviews by bubblybee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pretty eyeshadow, but Im not 100% sold on all of its hype. Its quite shimmery, and falls all over the place when being applied. Quite expensive for an eyeshadow. Nice, but Ive had others similar that Ive liked better, like Urban Decay Sin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/7/2014 11:24:00 PM More reviews by acatcalledbellatrix

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous colour and very pigmented. I love using it as a highlight more than an eyeshadow though, just because I prefer a bronzey eye to a champagne colour. The staying power is good although the consistency reminds me more of a pressed pigment. Still a very pretty colour but I don't understand all the hype.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/7/2014 3:28:00 PM More reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

PROS:
-the color is AMAZING. beautiful champagne color with gold and creamy undertones. Not too on the cool side and not too warm either. Can work for a variety of different skintones and goes with many blush and lip shades.
-the texture is very smooth and very soft. I don't find it to be chunky. Sometimes it gives fallout but the best way I have found to use this shadow is to spray my brush with some MAC Fix Plus, it helps it stick better to the brush and too my lid.
-The glitter isn't too chunky for my taste, it's not as chunky as the Urban Decay moondust shadows which I'm not a fan of. It's very similar to a sort of pressed pigment shadow.
-VERY pigmented and blends very nicely.
-the packaging is very small and compact, great for traveling or having in your purse.
-the only downside for me is the price. 18 dollars is more than any MAC shadow or high end single eyeshadow I have ever bought but on the plus side it has lasted me forever, you dont need to use a lot to get a good results.
-can also be doubled up as a cheek highlight, might be a little too strong for some people but if you like an intense highlight it could work very well.

This will be my holy grail shadow for the summer! My go-to makeup look is this all over the lid with soft brown in the crease, some winged liner and a bright pink or coral lip. So effortless and pretty. This shadow is definitely worth checking out! I don't regret spending the money at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/5/2014 3:43:00 PM More reviews by laylamartin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

my friend bought me the 'in the light' palette after doing nothing but raving about it for months, and i've got to say as is per usual of stila, the eyeshadow quality does not disappoint. (i'll do a review on the entire palette soon.) stila kitten wasn't immediately my favourite shade but it's the one i've found myself reaching for regardless of the occasion or my skin tone - i have very pale olive skin which tans dramatically dark in the spring and summer, so it's unusual for me to find an eyeshadow suitable for all year round. thus, i think that for one, stila kitten's pale gold colour flatters all, and i mean ALL skintones. the eyeshadow itself is beautiful - it's dense and buttery with incredible colour payoff (especially if applied wet - the colour is stunningly bold and iridescent with its shimmer), but it's not easily worn down in the pan; a little goes a long way. the lasting ability is also impressive for a powder eyeshadow - around 7hr+ wear with significant colour still remaining! honestly, this eyeshadow is a godsend for the most part, but having gone back to purchase the single pot of kitten, i was really really disappointed with the packaging - its a wide pan with a fairly steady looking black plastic shell that the minute its dropped is a recipe for disaster; my stila kitten is now a crumbling mess from the tiniest 10cm drop into my sink...

overall, for just under 20, (i think mine was 13-15??) this eyeshadow is indisputably a must buy - but id advise going for the palette purely because the packaging on the singlets is poor and honestly, stila eyeshadow competes with urban decay in quality so you can never have too many shades. it's very good value for the quality you're receiving!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/4/2014 10:38:00 PM More reviews by genarod

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown



EDIT!! 2 weeks after purchase::
I finally found a way to get this to work-- and it looks fabulous!!

Step 1: I applied CT in bad to the bronze allover lid, and mac painterly into crease up to brow bone (you can prime first but I don't)

Step 2: I wet a mac 239 brush w fix it+ (you can use water). Starting in the center of my lids I patted on stila (wet) then swiped out (I feel like patting makes the glitter much chunkier).

Step 3: with a dry mac 217 brush I dipped my brush into foxy(n2 palette) and applied it allover the brow bone. I then continued to blend down. I blended out some of the harsh glitter on my lids.

Step 4: I took tease (n2 palette) and with the same mac 217 brush I worked it into my crease and blended outward into the outer v

Step 5: I applied some brown liquid liner, tightlined and applied heavy mascara.

This looks really beautiful. My eyes are very much opened up and I'm so glad I finally achieved the glamorous look I was hoping this product could give me!

Happy I didn't give up on it!

:::original review::

Ho hum.

So I was determined to own something from the brand stila, because being completely mu obsessed, I found it odd that I never owned anything from them before.

I got fixated on stila kitten because I am *always* on the search for a HG one shade lid color that will instantly brighten up my eyes and give me a Marilyn Monroe style glamour.

This is sooooo not that.

First impression was "holy crap-- this glitter is chunky". It's weird bc when I swatch it on my arm it seems like a nice, very pigmented pink/champagney shimmer.

Yet on my eyelid it's so obvious that it is just so chunky and poorly milled.

Day one of wearing it I patted on over mac painterly using a 239 brush. I had to pack it on quite a bit to get any actual pigmentation as opposed to a look that just looked like I swiped glitter on my eyes. Once packed on it was an apparent light pinky cream with obvious and overpowering glitter.

My eyes didn't look open or brightened.. It just looked clashy and OTT. For lack of a better word, it looks cheap. Just cheap chunky glitter allover my lids :(

Day two I tried layering it over a taupe (UD tease)- and instead of adding richness , it just cheapened the whole look. I just can't get the chunky glitter to do anything beneficial for my eyes. It's not even garish, it just deadens them somehow.

This color does work as an OK highlight. It can be a little OTT for inner corner, but if meticulously placed it can work pretty darn well for brow bone.

I also think it's too cool for my skintone, but I can't deduct points for that.

I can say I'm thoroughly disappointed. This e/s is $18- on par with UD, close to nars and more expensive than MAC. I feel like this performed more like a d/s es.

I'm going to continue to experiment. Maybe if I apply it wet, it will be some sort of magical. But for $18- I expected more than a poorly milled glitter bomb that is something sort of ok as a brow bone highlight.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No