Neostrata Self Tan

4.4

124 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Dihydroxyacetone, Carpylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, cetyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Stearate, Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tetrasodium EDTa, BHT, Sodium Metabisulfite, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Popylparaben, Fragrance, Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue 1


on 6/30/2015 11:36:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Neostrata - did you change the formulation? I've been buying this for years (based on MUA reviews) and have always loved it - perfect tan in just one application and very little smell. However, I just bought a brand new one at Shoppers (new box, but tube inside is same look) and it doesn't work. No tan. Not even the "insta" bronzer shows like it used to. I tried to use again the next day and I just looked a little orange. I still had an old tube on hand from a year or two ago and used that the next time and voila - beautiful tan again. Either something changed in your formula or I got a dud product. Now I won't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/16/2015 1:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

*** if you are gonna use this self tanner for the first time, please, EXFOLIATE your body before using it! Have the evening off, exfoliate, scrub the heck out of your body, then apply. If you dont do that, you will think the product is rubbish. ***
I am new to self tanning and i bought this product after reading verygood reviews about it. My skin is fair to medium in the winter, but I get quite tanned in the summer. Althought lately, I have been working a lot and I can't spend much time outside in the sun. I still want to have a nice tan and this product is giving it to me! Now I am speaking for my skin tone; if you are pasty white you might want to opt for a gradual self-tanner, or mix the product with bodylotion. If you have darker skin or already have a good tan, you probably wont get such visible results... Anyway this product is great on so many points:
The color is natural, there is some greenish-brown colorant in the gel-like lotion so the skin is immediatly tinted and you can see where the product is applied. The tint goes away at first wash, so if you think your skin looks "dirty" or have some areas where the product doesnt seem to be absorbing properly, dont worry it all evens out after a shower.
Texture is light, not sticky, absorbs fast, a little goes a long way.
Smells like sweet almonds, and the nice smell stays for a while. If you are doing this in the evening, most likely you are gonna be asleep before the weird burnt-skin smell of the active ingredient shows up. Its not even bad! I actually applied it in the morning once, then went to work, and it wasnt even smelling!
I have done this about 4 times and never experiences streaks or patches. The color is even, not orange at all. Looks natural, I have had a lot of compliments. Dont you love having someone say "wow guurl you look tanned!".
Now I think this retails for about $26 but I got it on sale for $21 at SDM. I mean... Not the cheapest, but so so worth it for the quality and muuuuch cheaper than other high-end brands. I am now quite addicted and will definetly repurchase when it comes back on sale!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2015 12:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this about a year ago and it didn't work very well at all. I basically got no color (after 3 straight applications) and it smelled awful (like DHA). I also didn't like that it had parabens in it. It might have worked for some people but for me it just wasn't worth the money.


on 4/17/2015 6:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The most natural looking result and no nasty scent. No DHA smell at all. There is a reviewer here who claims it has but there is no way you can call this smelly compared to other self tans, unbelievable. (I know marketing campaigns are big on MUA and you havw to check the person's other reviews to see whether they are just promoting another prod and downgrading competitors.) It has a mild and faint sweet fragrance which fades in about 10 min. It has the highest DHA percentage available in a self tanner. Looks exactly like a real tan and not hard to use (no streaking, easy to layer). Wears off nicely not in patches and lasts just over a week with 2 applications. No yellowish tinge which makes one look jaundiced. Little example-Was sick--got told I look it--put this on and everyone commented on how 'healthy' I looked and how great that I recovered quickly!
-
edit- my skin tans extremely quickly as it is, and i am medium warm skintone. still, i realized i like the results best with just one application, any more and i feel i've gone overboard as though i am trying to change my race. that should give an idea of how good it is! (usually i apply self tanners again and again,).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2014 6:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It really is the best fake tanner I have ever tried (and I have tried a lot). Not only is the colour natural and instant, it doesn't smell as harsh and gross as most fake tanners. It dries quickly and washes out of clothes/linens easily. It does however stain your hands very badly, so I recommend using a latex glove to apply. It is a bit pricier than most fake tanners, but worth the extra couple dollars!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2014 10:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this self tanner for about 2-3 years now on and off and it is still in the top two rankings for me along with St. Tropez. I am extremely fair so I need to be cautious of what self tanners to buy so I don't look orange,blotchy, and overall unnatural. Like many self tanners this product needs to be handled with care as its strongly pigmented and will stain your palms very quickly. I usually start with my legs and work up my body, leaving my arms last so that I can continuously wash and scrub my hands throughout my application. If you aren't a self tanning pro then you should procede with caution because this stuff is not fool proof. It will catch on the areas around your akles, any cuts or scrapes, and dry skin so be very careful. The smell is strong so when its developing its best to chose a day you aren't going to be close by people. Its nice for pale girls who want a subtle tan as this is buildable and looks great after only one application. The price is high but I usually wait for it to go on sale and if you work on applying it in quadrants on your body it should last you long enough. Being a cheap-o I cut the top of the container when Im running low and get every last bit. Overall its a great product once you know how to use it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2014 7:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is hg material. I never review but hell this is worth it. I have finally found a self tanner that gives me a golden glow. This hasn't streaked and doesn't turn orange. Received endless compliments as I'm naturally pale. My search is now over. Phew!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2014 11:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the best self-tanner I've ever used. I have very fair skin, and this gives me a natural looking tan after only one application - no orange!

The only 2 cons I can think of are the price, and the smell. I paid $27 in Canada but because you don't need a lot, I'd say it's worth it, especially if you can get it while on sale! And unfortunately it still has that usual self-tanner smell, but again, worth it.


on 12/13/2013 12:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is top shelf. If you live in the U.S. it's really hard to get though. If you know of a way to get this besides the terrible eskinstore, please let me know.

The color is comparable to St Tropez self tan, which is easier to apply and not as sticky after it dries. I use this mostly on my face: 1. I use less, so it the tube lasts longer, 2. my face needs more moisture so it works out well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2013 8:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

OMG!!!The BEST self tanner EVER!!! Thank goodness that I live in Canada and get get this at Shoppers Drug Mart. I have used many self tanners and this one is by far the best, very real color, no harsh odor and looks so fab after 2 0r 3 applications. You have to apply it with a tan mitt though so that it spreads evenly as it is a very dark gel and will streak if not blended and you have to make sure you let it dry for at least 10-15 min before getting dressed. This blows fake bake flawless out of the water! you can get it on sale for 25% off sometimes at shoppers but otherwise it is a little pricey @ $35.00. This is a must have for the winter and a once a week for the summer. LOVE IT!!!

Edit: St.Tropez Dark mousse much better, last longer, deeper colour and better smell, you can get St.Tropez @ most Shoppers drug marts now, you just have to ask in cosmetics for it.

Update: Dec 24/14. I am no longer using this because it was starting to block my pores and cause what looked like blackheads, it was actually the tanner sitting in my pores and I use a clarisonic so thiats not good at all, I am now using Dior self tan for face purchased at Sephora and have my flawless skin back again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Beautisol's Guide to Self Tanning: Legs and Feet by AntidoteSkinCare

Beautisol's Guide to Self Tanning: Stomach and Lower Back by AntidoteSkinCare

Beautisol's Guide to Self Tanning: Upper Body by AntidoteSkinCare

Beautisol's Guide to Self Tanning: Hands by AntidoteSkinCare

Beautisol's Guide to Self Tanning: Face by AntidoteSkinCare



Top Rated Neostrata Products

image

Self Tan

124 reviews
Back to Top