July 22, 2014 | 1118 users online

Masks - Philosophy - The great mystery

no image

rated 3.7(79 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/12/2012 5:04:00 PM More reviews by jmimiru

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Skin type - normal + oily combo (T-Zone area specifically)

I had a weird experience with The Great Mystery and Purity Made Simple. It took me quite awhile (about a year) in how to use these two products effectively, and I'm glad they're not going to waste.

Personally, I did not enjoy The Great Mystery and Purity Made Simple by themselves. Sure, The Great Mystery left my face felt moisturized, but it wasn't anything "wow". Purity Made Simple didn't make my face feel "clean" either, so I wasn't sure how I should finish these products.

However, The Great Mystery says you can rinse it off with Purity Made Simple. I decided to combine both these products and see what sort of results I can get. I used both these products during shower, and I would massage the products onto my skin for a good minute. I actually ignore the 1 minute rule from The Great Mystery, haha.

After massaging the products, I soak my cloth with warm water, and I put the cloth onto my face. I'm pretty much just opening up my pores as much as possible, so the products can work their way in. I wait until the cloth is cool and then I rinse off everything. It's been a month since I've been doing this, and I noticed my face had cleared up quite a bit. I do break out due to stress, but I only get one or two pimples.

I highly recommend ladies (& gentlemen) to try The Great Mystery along with Purity Made Simple. I definitely love them together & they're now my daily night cleansers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/22/2011 10:58:00 PM More reviews by Beautyisbliss

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I regret ever purchasing this. It made my skin dry and itchy- which is hard because I tend to have oily skin. It made my eyes itch and burn something fierce! It made my fingers dry and my nails feel brittle after applying to my face. The only thing it works for is looking pretty on my tub. A waste of money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/5/2011 11:21:00 PM More reviews by orisha_girl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Other Eyes: Green

I'll start by saying that I have oily/combination, extremely sensitive and acne prone skin; almost everything upsets it. Not only does this not upset my skin, it actually makes it thrive.

Let's be honest ladies, it wins no prizes for looks - it's a thick, goopy, vaseline-y looking paste. But that's it's only downside - it works wonders for me. I use it in the morning. I massage it onto my (dry) face till the product turns white. I leave it sitting for a minute and then I wipe it off with a warm damp cloth. The result is glowing, supple, smooth skin that feels as peachy soft as can be. It also cleans out my pores really well, so my skin is less prone to break-outs now. I even love the smell. I find it really economical to use, you only need a tiny bit, so it works out good value for money too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/10/2010 5:29:00 PM More reviews by uktrouble

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This product works wonders for me I love it, after not using it for a while I have gone back to it and its mild exfoliating action works well for my skin to make the perfect base for my mineral powder foundation. I use it in the morning on dry skin just rub it all over before getting in the shower then thoroughly rinse before washing with purity made simple. Think its something to use daily rather than every so often to get the best results from it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/13/2010 10:16:00 AM More reviews by Annaxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

dried me out and broke me out, made me red and uncomfortable, I gave this away.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2010 8:48:00 PM More reviews by alakanaxo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I know a lot of people say this feels like vaseline but I didnt get that. It just feels like its cleansing your skin and getting all the bad stuff out. My skin looks so good when I take it off and it also feels good. The smell very fresh too. The way I use is I massage into my skin untill the product turns white and take it off using purity.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/9/2009 5:25:00 PM More reviews by colettenoelle

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

An okay product, probably meant more for oily skin than my dry/sensitive skin. Sometimes this wouldn't bother my skin at all, but most times it just seemed to irritate it. I never felt that my skin benefited much from it in either case and I have stopped using it. Philosophy puts out several wonderful products that I happily use and get results from. This product just doesn't cut it for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/7/2009 8:18:00 PM More reviews by novelist

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have used this mask for about a year and a half; it was good, at best, not great. I think my skin liked the glycerin and the lavender in it, perhaps the algae. At first, I used it once a week on dampened skin (face, neck, upper chest, and hands) which I then wiped with a wet wash cloth. The results were nice. This product is clay-based and so as the dry hot summer would come around, I found that I couldn't use it because it was too drying or it would start to draw oils to the surface of my skin (not good). So I began to use the Aveeno brightening exfoliating pads along with the philosophy microdelivery wash, and these two products have supplanted the Great Mystery.

It is not a bad price or a bad product; it just has been replaced by other products which work better for me. I won't buy it again but it is more of a so-long than a good-bye. If things change for my skin and it would be more effective, I would, but the $25 is going elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/17/2009 5:05:00 AM More reviews by katrinalove

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really enjoyed this product. I'm extremely acne prone and always using BP treatments, it's the only thing that works for me, but putting a layer on morning and night leaves my skin really dull, and I get oily. So my skin looks like an oil spill on a desert, sort of. Not pretty.
This product doesn't do anything dramatic. It just normalized my skin and made it nice and soft. I imagine a good night cream would do the same, but I'm scared of moisturizers considered anything other than lightweight because they break me out. BP acne treatment + lightweight moisture + this in the morning made my skin nice and normal looking :)
Unfortunately I'm all out and as I can live without it (I prefer not to) I won't rebuy because it is a little pricey :(
Ahh...I'll probably break down and get it soon enough, its just a really nice way to start the day :P

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2009 8:43:00 PM More reviews by mommy2ingrid

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

How I love this product. I have acne-prone skin, and the Philosophy.com website recommended using this to "de-congest" it. Well, I was skeptical, but it seems to be working! The active breakouts have shrank (I've been using once or even twice a day for a week now) and nothing new has popped up.

Here's another method, because it seems like everyone has their favorite way: I apply the paste onto my skin, let it sit for a while (I've gone as long as 10 minutes) then use my Neutrogena Wave to wash it off (using the Wave exfoliation pad). Sometimes I pre-wash the Wave pad to get the Neutrogena soap out and use Philosophy's Purity Made Simple, my favorite facial wash. Other times I just wash off with Purity.

My skin is definitely softer, clearer and smoother.

Is this review helpful? Yes No