Maybelline Great Lash mascara in brown/black

3.2

121 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

No matter how many mascaras I try I keep going back to this one. It darkens my lashes without looking too harsh, it can be built up slightly for a less natural look without clumping up, it's a little wetter than some so it takes a little longer to dry but once it dries it's semi-waterproof, amazing quality for the price



on 6/11/2015 4:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

GL is only mascara I constantly have in my collection of 7rl at once. I've black lashes so use this black / brown on days I'm putting onus on my lipstick color or when I just want a subtle lash look. Ive tried everything yet keep returning to GL in general. No idea why but I just love it. Something about the formula just attaches to my eye lashes in the most perfect manner. Easier to remove than most & tho I m sure it's chemically laden, my lashes fall out less upon removal & just in general w/ this mascara. I'm 38 & only been using it since 31 too. Wish I'd discovered it prior to wasting $100's upon $100's of $ in my 20's on HE phase mascaras! A little upset that it's $9.03 @Shoppers Drug Marts incl taxes (HST), but fortunately Walmart often has it around $6.65.


on 4/21/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

For the price - this is a good beauty bargain. Warning - if it gets old - TOSS IT it can be a stinky, clumpy mess - and for the price you can afford to use and TOSS. I have used this for years (about $4.99 per tube) and it's a great value. I prefer Black or Blackest Black to Brown/Black - but will use Brown/Black for a more subtle/natural look.


Not a HG by any means - but a decent formula. Darkens more than it lengthens. For length I like DiorShow.


on 3/15/2015 9:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

For all those who have a problem with this mascara clumping, I highly suggest you wipe the wand with a tissue first, and then apply it. Albeit wasting product with this technique, this mascara delivers more than what you pay for. Probably the only mascara along with Estee Lauder's Sumptuous Infinite that does not flake on my cheeks or smudge under and over my eyes (I have quite long, curly lashes and paired with my oily eyelids, it is prone to disaster).

It is rather wet compared to let's say, Benefit's 'They're Real!' Mascara which is absolute naff, so this helps in giving you time to separate your lashes before it sets dry. You can then layer it over easily as the wet formula won't pull on the previous dry layer, hence no clumps. The small brush is great for concentrating on a small area of lashes and packing more volume, but if you prefer a lighter application buy the version with the bigger wand.

The only issue with this mascara is it takes a considerable amount of effort to take it off. It's sort of semi-waterproof and even with my Dermalogica Precleanse I tend to scrub my eyes to remove it, which is ofcourse not healthy. It's not ridiculously bad like waterproofs, it just takes more effort than any normal mascara. However, its beautiful and adhering formula is enough for me to look past it and repurchase if ever need be.


on 9/14/2012 5:51:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I gave my review of this mascara under another post of the product. I won't restate that review but will say this: For me this mascara does what it advertises to do and I like both the shades and brush. I like getting close to the lash base which is easy to do with GL. I find it wet but I never like any mascara until about a week or so in when it thickens a bit, this is no different in that respect. Some complain of their dismay but how can this little engine that could of a mascaca ever be all they expect given this is an editors pick of most beauty and fashion magazines? Collectively that adds up and some expect this to wash their car, drive their kids to school and act like the queen herself has died when its just, gulp, a mascara?! Editors likely choose this old school product because it holds up literally and figureatively when many other products created in the same era, do not. You may not love the formulation for you, but if I asked you, to choose and actually wear a mascara formulated in the 1970's or a foundation, quick you must choose one, which would you choose? I'd choose a pink tube of mascara over a pink face any day. So what's it got going other than longevity? It provides a basic mascara and that's all some want and need. I can't keep up with what's the newest, latest of others, and if they're so great, why does it get reformulated within 6 mos and THAT'S the new BEST thing?! For a basic mascara that darkens and somewhat thickens lashes, this is a good product. Keep in mind your mascara expectations when buying this. In the past women didn't have a zillion mascara options, so if they wanted thicker lashes? They just let it dry between coats and simply applied until achieving the desired effect. Longer lashes? apply like above but concentrate on tips and lifting up and out, repeat as needed. Want a natural look? Want lower lashes defined too, wipe most of the product off the brush and apply. Technique was the difference. Don't get me wrong I love new technology and trying new things but I admired my mothers lashes when I was a kid and she used this too. I get the same effect and there are so few things that can be said of. I wish it still came in the rounded tube lol.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2012 5:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product, and my secret is making my own curved brush. It can be done even though the brush is small, and I find the product applies perfectly. It's easily washed off and is just a simple basic mascara. You can make it as natural or dramatic as you want depending on how many coats you use. I know you can buy one with a curved brush but it is a bigger brush and that's not what I want. I like the original smallish brush bent into a curve. It works beautifully and is much easier to apply. I like the original kind in either brownish black or black. I save the wands from previous GL tubes and wash them, so when I get a new tube of Great Lash I just put my own hand curved brush in that's ready to go and that's it. Then I wash the new brush and put it away for next time. Prepping the brush beforehand is easier than working with a mascara covered one. Easy, inexpensive and every drugstore carries this mascara.


on 7/7/2012 12:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I hated this product! I dont know how magazine love this but it didnt leave and volume in my lashes, and it is very clumpy! I had a bad experiance with this masscara and i will never buy it again


on 5/30/2012 4:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

While I haven't tried every mascara on the market, I have certainly wasted a lot of money on various brands. I always come back to this one, the good old Maybelline Great Lash. Nothing coats my lashes, and separates my lashes like this mascara. I prefer the curved applicator brush, but I don't have any problem with the original brush or even the "lots of lashes" brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2012 6:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great everyday mascara! I think I know why a lot of people are griping about it though. This has a tiny wand and applicator which is great for people with smaller features. I know it sounds strange but the big wands that I find in ALL the new mascara are WAY to big for my eyes. I end up with makeup all over my lids and forget about trying to use them on your lower lashes! All you have to do is layer this mascara. It wont flake or smudge throughout the day either. This is truly a great mascara for the price and availability. Be sure it isn't out of date and I'm certain the stinging and irritation that some women claim to have will not occur. Overall I think this is a wonderful mascara and it makes my lashes full and long without breaking the bank.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2011 9:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Maybe it's me. Maybe I don't know how to put on mascara properly. Whenever I wear this, there are always at least a few clumps. However, I am inclined to say it is the brush, which does not have enough bristles to define the lashes and avoid clumps. It is a fine mascara, and the clumps are easily corrected, but it is not special. I am ready to move on.




Back to Top