November 28, 2014 | 1885 users online

Styling Products - Sexy Hair Concepts - Curly Sexy Hair Power Curl Enhancing Foam

no image

rated 3.4(23 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 56% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/4/2014 1:46:00 PM More reviews by curlylocks

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I think this is one of those times the MUA worked against me. With curly hair, always looking for something better than what I have, I saw this in store, and read some reviews. Thought it was worth a try. First day, I was willing to overlook the bizarre dispensing methodology if it worked well. Well, after my normal diffuse for a couple, then air dry....I ended up with tighter than norm, frizzy 'puff-curls'. Yuck. It's rare that I can't salvage a bad hair day, but I couldn't....had to re-wet and start over. Was really bad. Not sure if I didn't use enough (?!?). I'll try it again, as long as I don't have to be in public! Lol. If anyone else had a similar experience, you should try Garnier's Curl Construct Mousse. That stuff is awesome, and way cheaper. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2013 2:05:00 PM More reviews by hhsrunner2005

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this on a great sale price when stores were starting to clear it out while it was being discontinued:( I have used this several times since buying it about two months ago, I have always used it on wet hair after showering. I have thick longer, curly hair that is very prone to frizz. I'm always on the lookout for products like leave in conditioners to reduce my frizz problem. This product seems to work pretty well, however I don't think it works any better than Herbal Essences leave in conditioners that I have, but was much more expensive. So, I would not purchase again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/28/2013 3:40:00 PM More reviews by hellokitty1993

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have very long thick, wavy hair that turns into somewhat of a lions mane if I try to dry it naturally or with a hair dryer. Combined with frizz, it's absolutely awful to control during any time of the year and I hate it. I have never used a mousse that kept it under control without making it look and feel crunchy or like I had something in my hair.

I've just started using this product and could not be happier. I spray it in my damp hair as it instructs and my hair is soft, not frizzy, but I still have my waves that are not limp as other users have reported. It is a bit expensive - I bought it on amazon for about $12 - and the spray style is a tad bit messy but the result is worth it. I usually have to spend 20+ minutes straightening my hair or use a wide variety of products to get my hair under control otherwise.

Smelled good, didn't feel sticky, and I've sprayed both on my hands to apply or directly onto my hair and both worked fine. It's less messy if you spray on your hands and then disperse in hair.

I also would add that I feel like I continually am trying new products and nothing ever seems to do ANYTHING to my hair - it's nice to finally find a product that works.

TL;DR: Love this product, gave results it promised, would buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/10/2010 8:23:00 PM More reviews by reneelet

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an ok mousse. I'm not sure how much it really does much to enhance the natural quality of my loose wavy curls. After I dry my hair, though, I like to go over some of the top pieces with a curling iron. I think applying the mousse to my damp hair helps hold the curl from the curling iron better.

As far as the packaging goes, it looks so much like a bottle of hairspray that sometimes I reach for it instead by accident just as I've finished my style. Disaster ensues.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/7/2010 10:56:00 PM More reviews by xxxanity

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I bought this product on a whim at my salon after getting a haircut, and I wasn't expecting much from it. However, this single product has replaced a whole cocktail of others that I was using- smoothing creams, root boosters, scrunching sprays. I've tried many many others and I've never found another product that by itself gives me results this good.

I'm much happier with the look of my curls. I'm not completely frizz free (never have been) and I would like a bit more volume at the roots (probably because I like insane volume) but I'm sold on this product otherwise.

It doesn't leave my hair stiff/sticky/crunchy/greasy at all, and I use a very liberal amount in a combination of spraying it and then spraying my hands and working it through my hair, let it air dry for a while, and then follow up with a diffuser. I'm not good at styling my own hair, but this has been pretty foolproof, and although it's not drugstore cheap, for me, considering I'm only using 1 product instead of several cheaper ones, the (approximate) thirteen dollar price is worth it.

The container I've had has lasted quite a while, and I was surprised at how much foam was in the can. I have medium-ish color treated hair that is typically uncooperative, and I think it's somewhere between 3a/3b depending on how it's styled and dried. I can see how this product may be drying for some, but I abuse my hair in so many ways it's hard to nail down what's the culprit for me. Regardless, I plan on repurchasing this product and will continue to use it.

*EDITED TO ADD* I've been letting my hair grow out from my short layered a-line bob thing, and I have noticed that the longer my hair gets the less this product is working for me, so this may work better on shorter cuts. I'd still encourage you to check it out if you have shortish hair, or even longer hair as it may also depend how thick your hair is too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/6/2010 2:47:00 PM More reviews by lpreble

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am looking for something to replace my favorite product: Ecoly's Slippery Elm Gloss. That company became this company, so I figured I'd try it. Yuck. Sprays out of a can like shaving cream, feels drying, makes my hair look like limp wheat. It smells decent, but that's about all I can say in its favor. If anyone knows of a good substitute for my beloved Slippery Elm, please let me know!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/11/2010 7:37:00 PM More reviews by TrippyPixie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Does absolutely nothing for my hair at all. I have very thick, naturally wavy and curly hair with a lot of body and volume that frizzes easily, so I need something powerful that holds the curl in and gives it a little bit of body. This, however, did nothing.


This made my hair extremely limp. This product had no hold at all whatsoever, and made my curls so loose to the point that my hair looked more straight than wavy/curly. My older sister, who has the same kind of hair as me, experienced the same results. (I applied this product to wet hair, she applied it to dry hair.)


CURLY Sexy Hair? I think not. More like Limp, Straight Hair.


This product probably won't work on girls with the same kind of hair as me. They'll probably get similar results. However, I think that this might work on girls with straight hair with barely any body/volume.


Instead of using this, I now use either Nexxus Headdres Weightless Leave-In Conditioner or HerCut The Shag Catalyst. (I have to note that the latter product is based on haircut instead of hair type, but it makes my hair look its best. It does everything that I wish this product did. Now all I need is a product that can get rid of my frizz, and I'll be good to go!)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/5/2009 9:41:00 AM More reviews by baybeelee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this for a deal $7, and it works great on my slightly wavy hair to give me those beach waves i love! However, i apply it to my dry hair after i have styled it in order to loosen my waves and give them hold. Smells great too! I haven't tried it on damp hair like in the instructions so I'll write back once I've done that

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/24/2009 9:15:00 AM More reviews by deenzdeen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love love love this! I religiously use this before curling my hair with a curling iron. I blow dry my hair straight, then lightly wet the mid to ends with this and let it dry up before curling. It leaves the softest waviest hair you can imagine. Think kim and courtney Kardashian waves. No product build up, dryness, stiffness. JUST PERFECT WAVES. I have tried everything out there to get my stubborn hair to hold in curls with an iron and they are either stiff, dry, sticky or they just fall out! Not this product! Would by stock in this if I could.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2009 12:16:00 PM More reviews by Princesa7

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff made my naturally curly hair feel dried out big time and I used this last summer and it didn't work too well cuz my hair turned frizzy=( I would never buy this or anything from the curly line..it was seriously dissappointing.....I was better off using Pantene's line for curly hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No