November 26, 2014 | 1726 users online

Cleansers - Mario Badescu - Botanical Facial Gel



image 0

rated 3.9(79 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/2/2014 12:47:00 PM More reviews by adamj2004

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Horrifically bad cleanser. Does not clean your skin at all and it is left feeling dirty. I am used to sulfate-free cleansers and shampoos but I have never had this issue before. Also, the active ingredient is dead last in the list so you aren't really getting any skin benefit from this cleanser either. And, on top of this, it also broke me out consistently when I used it and when I discontinued use, my skin started to recover.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/27/2013 4:40:00 PM More reviews by breanna94

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Best cleanser I've ever used! So good for my oily skin. Also makes your skin feel super soft and clean without feeling really dry. Is also very affordable along with mostly all mario badescu products. Shipping is also super quick! Definitely worth the money! The cleanser is a non-lather which seemed weird at first but I got used to it and LOVE IT! Smells like flowers and is not overbearing at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/1/2013 10:57:00 AM More reviews by Nicolebby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

First Impression:
I paid $12 USD for an 8 ounce bottle, which isn't bad. I use this cleanser every night, and I have had the same bottle for a little over three months now, and I have about a third of the bottle left still. I love the bottle (the little spout thing works well for cleansers and toners just NOT moisturizers), it makes it so easy to get out the perfect amount. I think this cleanser smells nice, slightly flowery, and does not bother me at all. Weirdly enough, I get this in my mouth sometimes and it doesn't have a horrible taste (not that I would go around licking it or eating it, I am just saying, for the occasional nights when this ends up in my mouth, it does not leave me choking or gagging).

My Review:
Before trying this cleanser, I was using the Clinique Liquid Facial Soap (part of the three step system) with my Clarisonic Mia 2. I decided it was time to make the switch because I did not feel like the cleanser was doing enough for me, and I HATED how the soap burned my eyes and left my skin feeling soooo tight. After talking to a Sale's Associate at Ulta, I decided to give this one a go.

At first, like everyone else, I found the non-foaming cleanser to be a bit strange, but I really love it now! It is perfect for use with a Clarisonic, because it does not matter if I start on my forehead, there isn't a large amount of soap running down my face and into my eyes! Which is a definite improvement. I can't say whether or not it removes makeup well since before I use it, I use a Pond's towel makeup remover. I do know that when I take my brush off to clean it once I am done, however, there is a significant amount of makeup on the brush, leading me to believe that it actually does work. My skin does not feel tight once i have dried it off, in fact it just feels clean... I don't know a better way to describe it.

Final Thoughts:
I would definitely repurchase, but I think that I am going to try the Enzyme Cleansing Gel next. After taking the skin care survey on the Mario Badescu website and seeing that product recommended for me, I would like to give it a try. I love the sample that was sent by the company, but it was not enough to tell whether or not it did anything for my skin. And to be honest, I threw about a quarter of the product away because it was a nightmare trying to get it all out of the bottle. I do see myself returning to this in the future though if the Enzyme Cleansing Gel does not impress me as much as this one has.

Ingredients:
Deionized Water, Glycerin, Carbomer, Trithanolamine, Methylparaben, Botanical Extract, Germall

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/2/2013 7:59:00 PM More reviews by CynicalCind

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got this as a free sample and hated it! I used this to remove my makeup at night and it didnt clean anything off of my face at all. (My face towel would be smeared with my foundation) I also noticed after almost a month of using this face wash, that my face would occasionally break out in a small rash. The sample bottle btw, also sucks and is difficult to remove the product once you start running out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/24/2012 11:16:00 PM More reviews by ambuchanan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

after being disappointed with the clinique 3 step system, I chose to try out MB products. I spoke with the retailer and they suggested this cleanser along with the grape fruit toner. it does not lather or foam like other cleansers but that doesn't bother me and my skin feels clean after using only a small amount of product. my makeup also is removed when using this cleanser unlike the clinique liquid soap.

after about two weeks my skin is so much clearer, blackheads are gone and my oily skin seems to be under control.

I have let other people try it and they like it too. at around $12 a bottle it's definitely worth a try!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/4/2012 10:04:00 AM More reviews by msheroine

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

EDIT: I now use this product in conjunction with the Special Cleansing lotion "C", instead of the Seaweed Cleansing Lotion. I think the seaweed cleansing lotion was responsible for the tiny bumps around my temples because after the switch, the bumps are gone.

I have been using this product for 4 weeks now, and I am quite impressed. I have combination (oily T-zone and dry cheeks) but sensitive skin that is pretty acne-prone. I blame the 4-5 cystic pimples I usually have on hormones, so I wanted to try a product that was less harsh than most acne treatments, something that would relax my stressed skin and make it healthier. I also used this cleanser along with the Seaweed cleansing lotion (I tried to find something really gentle) and my skin hasn't looked this good in years. I'm not sure if it's the vitamins in the "botanical extract" that are responsible for making my skin healthier and stronger, but that's my guess...

I only use a small pea-sized amount, and I wet my hands JUST A LITTLE. I don't even wet my face (found the products sticks to your skin better this way) and I just rub it in, like i'm putting on lotion. I use circular motions for about a good minute or so and then rinse it off. During the first week of use, I immediately noticed a brightening of my skin. During the second week there was a bit of purging. A few big pimples (that healed quickly) and lots of little tiny bumps around my temples. But I kept using the product because my skin usually acts this way when I try something new. It's the 4th week now, and 90% of the purging has subsided. I have a few small blemishes that are still healing, ZERO painful cysts, AND my period starts today... pretty impressive. In addition, my pores have reduced dramatically and even some scarring has diminished.

If you have never tried the "gentle/stress-relief" approach for combating acne, I suggest you start with Mario Badescu products like this one. I have always been unsuccessful with products that contain Salicylic Acid or Benzoyl Peroxide, possibly because they make my skin UNhealthier/weaker in the long run.

I have added the Foaming Glycolic Cleanser to my routine twice a week in hopes to rejuvenate my skin, so far so good. I'm really excited about all the MB products.... If I get brave enough I might try some of their night creams...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/17/2012 2:29:00 PM More reviews by Sarajaade

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I recieved this product in a sample pack from their online questionnaire. I've only used this once, so I will update if I see some results, but I feel the need to state that this non-soap, non-foaming cleanser will make you feel as if it's not working, but a pea sized amount was enough to give my skin that tight feeling (which I get from any cleanser, so I don't think this is a huge downfall for this product) so although it's not foaming, it truly does work! One lippie taken off for the extreeeeeeme smell. It was enough to choke me up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2012 12:47:00 PM More reviews by emily61

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Ok, so a lot of the negative reviews on this product seem to be centred around the fact that it is a non-foaming cleanser. I had never used one before either, and it is a bit weird at first but you get used to it very quickly. And the whole point of this product is that it is non-foaming; the chemicals that are used to make washes foam and lather - sodium laureth sulphate is the most common - cause skin dryness and acne. So i guess it's your shout on whether you think you're skin can cope with that, but if you want something super-gentle then this is a good'un.

I recently switched my whole regime after reading the ingredients lists and cross-checking them with lists of comodogenic ingredients. To my horror most of my products contained loads of these ingredients. After abandoning that regime and about a week of obsessive cross-referencing the ingredient list of every cleanser I could think of (from super-expensive ones, to hypoallergenic ones, to dermatologist-prescribed ones - literally about 30-40 of the "best' cleansers around) this was the only one that remained standing. The ingredients list consists of seven things. Super-simple and super-effective.

I love this cleanser. My skin had gone crazy recently, partially to do with living in London, partially hormones I think and evidently a large part to do with my old regime. I had spots everywhere, it was oily, and inflamed, and dry all at the same time, basically it was awful. Within two weeks of using this cleanser my skin was transformed, to the point where everyone commented on it.

There is a strong smell, which i found initially off-putting, being used to fragrance-free cleansers with very minimal scent. The smell is all natural, so it is a fragrance-free cleanser, and now I know it's not doing anything bad to my skin I actually quite like it.

You must be prepared to wait a couple of weeks to see results, and you must have some additional eye-make-up remover to hand - do not put this stuff near your eyes! The grapefruit extract is an AHA and will burn! I don't find there is a film left, which is something I would loathe, but what I do find is that it does not strip my skin at all, unlike other cleansers, it leaves it soft, which if you are used to harsher products could be confused with film I think.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/22/2012 3:03:00 AM More reviews by anthecouturier

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Other

Not understanding all of the glowing reviews on this thing. Maybe it's because I've never used a non-foaming cleanser before (sue me), but when I use this in the mornings, I literally cannot seem to wash it completely off my face. I have oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin, and ever since I had great results using the Special Cucumber toner with my regular Neutrogena Anti-Stress cleanser, I figured I would give this wash a try, since I figured it could only go uphill from here. Wrong. When you apply, it disappears on your face and makes you feel like you aren't cleansing ANYTHING. It leaves a film on my face and hands even when I spend five minutes just rinsing my face in front of the sink, and it makes my skin feel the way it does when I'm forced to use bar soap. I'd rather my skin feel dry then have it feel dirtier than before I washed my face. Prior to using this cleanser, I had no pimples, and today I discovered three emerging whiteheads on my cheek, and redness and inflammation around the entire area. I've used this face wash for a week, and I had to force myself to keep putting it on my face every morning. Still maintain my faith in MB, but will not buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/18/2012 3:00:00 PM More reviews by Gidella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Other Eyes: Blue

I really, really like this cleanser and I'll definitely keep using it from now on. I haven't used it for long but enough to really notice a difference in my skin. I've used several of MB's cleansers and I think this cleanser by far beats both the enzyme cleansing gel and the acne facial cleanser. It cleans your skin a lot more throroughly than those two anyway, and as many have said it's great at removing make up too. But it isn't as drying as the glycolic foaming cleanser meaning you're able to use it every day. What I've noticed however is you do use more of this cleanser than foaming cleansers but as it's a lot of product in the packaging that isn't necessarily a bad thing.

It's a cleanser for oily skin though. I think it's probably too drying for normal, combination or sensitive skin. For those the enzyme cleansing gel would probably be better.

I use this cleanser along with a toner afterwards - either MB's special cucumber lotion or their glycolic grapefruit lotion and it really keeps my skin clean and removes dead skin from healing pimples and cysts so that I have a smooth and even surface to put make up on. I haven't been forced to scrub as much as I usually have to which is a big plus! One important thing to mention is that you have to moisturize well after using the cleanser and toner if you use that. If you don't your skin will get really dry after a while, even if you have oily skin.

I've even noticed that my skin isn't getting as oily as it used to get, especially during the night. I used to think my oilyness was a lost cause but after using this cleanser along with other MB products my skin's really balanced out and while I still get oily it's not as bad as it used to be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No