October 22, 2014 | 1950 users online

Eye Shadow - Hard Candy - Daydream Eyeshadow Duo



image 0image 1

rated 3.7(16 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2012 11:19:00 AM More reviews by ellapuggle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I got this in ab fab which half is a bright pink and the other is a bright purple. It's one of the best things I have from HC. I put a dab of water on my finger then rub the eyeshadow on my finger and put it on. SO pretty I got compliment on both all the time. They are Defenitley bright. Hours after it does kinda start fading. I can deal with it though great shadow!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/26/2011 11:52:00 PM More reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I really, really wanna like hard candy but their products can be such low quality.
The colors are really vibrant and I was really hoping for something good with this shadow.
It's chalky and hard to pick up the color to apply it.
When applied it's not awful but not great either. It doesn't smudge or have any fallout but it's kind of dull. The blending could be a bit better as well.
It's good "throw away" makeup but should never be used seriously.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/10/2011 1:36:00 PM More reviews by tarapickholtz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is such a cute and pretty eyeshadow! I see that the pictures posted look like two different shades. The "daydream" eyeshadow I have is half dark silver and half shimmer lilac. The colors are beautiful! I wear a lot of silvery colors and find that they are very wearable with my fair skin... it can be applied lightly for a natural look or more heavily or foiled with a wet brush for a more intense look. The lilac color looks great with my brown eyes and is still very soft looking on me. I'm not sure if the eyeshadow I got was different from most, but mine was not super, super soft and I can press on it quite hard with my eyeshadow brush without it breaking. Thus, it seems to have good color, but it isn't super, super pigmented. If I apply as much silver or lilac as possible on a dry brush or even a wet brush, it isn't extremely intense and looks more like a very light smoky eye. I don't get the same intense silver look that I can with my Loreal HIP eyeshadow duo in Platinum (I have to apply that silver very lightly or it comes out very intense and nearly opaque). I still get the right amount of color payoff, but for me it makes for a better "daytime" smoky eye in pretty spring colors with the lilac. I can tell that my eyeshadow will last me quite a while too since it practically looks brand new after using it plenty of times. All of the Hard Candy packaging is really fun and cute. I bought mine at Walmart. Overall I am really enjoying this eyeshadow and don't have any negative things about it for my own use. I would definitely consider repurchasing if I need these colors again or would try out a different color if needed. I don't remember the price I paid, but it was pretty low for the amount of product, quality, and good packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/18/2011 1:55:00 PM More reviews by ncw

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought the same eyeshadow duo displayed in the first picture. I was originally going to buy a physicians formula baked eyeshadow with similar colour called baked oatmeal because their eyeshadow is amazing! anyways so this was half the price and I was excpecting it to work great, but it was awful! I will never ever buy this product again. The colour is so shimmery that my eyelids look wet and greasy. i'm so disappointed, this is my first hard candy buy so i'm not sure how their other products are. Im surprised with the other reviews loving this eyeshadow... I do not recommend unless you enjoy looking as though you smeared crisco on your lids.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/27/2010 1:16:00 PM More reviews by TheGirlBehindTheLies

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I love the color options that come in the kal-eye-discope baked shadow duo line. The Daydream shadow comes with a lilac-ey/lavander shade and a greyish silver.

The greyish silver color is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE so far. It goes on very smoothly and blends out well, but wet...Wet, the silver shade is like a girls makeup-porn dream. It slides on easily and is incredibly pigmented(it is very pigmented dry as well) and has an almost...glossy?...appearance even after being set with some of the shadow added dry.

The lilac, while beautiful seems to go on a little to sheer for me. When i swatched it it seemed to translate perfectly from tin to hand. But when applied with anything other than an very stiff brush and can take a little while to build up.

Definitely worth the six dollars I paid for it, and I will definitely be going back to get more colors!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/18/2010 10:55:00 AM More reviews by chenks

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to eyeshadow for everyday use. The colors are flattering and pigmented compared to a lot of other drug store eyeshadows. It's cheap and definitely worth the purchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/9/2010 12:11:00 PM More reviews by pinkolive2010

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

this is great for starter's kit, it is inexpensive, fun and great color payoff, I think it is amazing for someone on a budget. I was very suprise, but you must use a primer with this shadows, some of the shadows actually come with the base/ eye primer. If not, anything will work as well, UDPP, or anything, otherwise the color will not stay, most of the shades are shimmer, glitters and frost, so it is important to pack on the color and remember not to swipe.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2010 1:26:00 AM More reviews by AutumnAngelx3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Love this. The lilac shade is beautiful, and the silverish side is one of my favorites I have of that tone. Call me a broken record, but as I've said on other reviews, I find HC's shadows and blushes very fragile despite taking excellent care of my make up, so I have to be extra careful with them.. as I've broken three or four..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/24/2010 9:33:00 AM More reviews by rach82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have several of these baked eyeshadow duos from HC & love them. The Daydream duo is the first I purchased and by far my fave- the lilac shade is a close dupe for UD Grifter with more shimmer/no glitter, and brings out the color in my dark brown eyes beautifully. The light silver shade is the perfect grey shade for me- not too harsh, but not completely sheer- very wearable for the office without feeling self conscious. They're also pretty mixed and swirled together to create a purply silver effect. Absolutely no fallout with these, they last all day when used with a primer first (haven't tried them without), can be used wet or dry- I find the color payoff is so good I've never even tried them wet. Of coarse the packaging is adorably punk rock- love it. These are very good quality shadows in my opinion, comparable with high end brands I own. I didn't have very much luck with the HC In The Shadows line (chalky,not pigmented enough), but these are wonderful- great starter purchase if you are new to the line. I will definitely repurchase Daydream when I run out, but the pan is generous & it will def last me awhile. Awesome product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/1/2010 11:24:00 PM More reviews by WarmSocks

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I bought the duo "Make Believe" which is blue and silver. It is very shimmery. I did have to scrape to get the eyeshadow on, which isn't a problem but then it comes out in a big clump on the sponge so I had to work harder for it to glide on evenly. These colors are very, very light. I am really pale and it didn't even show up. You'd have to wet it for it to really "pop". I usually wear my eye shadows wet anyway. With a primer it lasted allll day, and I mean around 14 hours with no creases or anything. I really like the pretty blue color ^__^ it was cheap, only $6 at walmart.

Is this review helpful? Yes No