October 20, 2014 | 1913 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Mason Pearson - Handy Bristle & Nylon Brush

no image

rated 4.3(32 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/1/2013 9:30:00 AM More reviews by Princessngirl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have super coarse, super thick hair that has been terribly damaged from years of coloring it. I quit the all over processes about a year ago and stopped other dying entirely about six months ago. I decided to get the brush because I wanted a treat for my hair rehab.

It was pretty frustrating to track down this brush. I had been told to be careful as their are a lot of reputable places selling fakes.

I live in a big Midwestern city and can usually find anything w a little effort.

I called the 800# on the mason pearson website to find authorized brush distributors in my area. The woman from Mason pearson on the line identified three area shops that sold the brushes. However, when I contacted each of the shops, NONE of them had ever sold the brushes. One of the three had never even heard of the brush. I was pretty frustrated.

A mason pearson brush is guaranteed for life if you purchase it from an authorized dealer, which is why I was so careful from where I got mine. I ended up purchasing mine from beauty.com and was v satisfied with the sale.

Note I am a stickler about the brush's rules. No product on the brush. I don't use it for heat styling or on wet hair. And I don't immerse it in water for any reason

Pros:
Really smooths out my healing hair, quickly and nicely, like no other brush I have found
Easy to clean
Easy to hold
Mixed bristles make it easy to get through my hair
Unbelievable lustre in my hair

Cons
Price
Difficult to find- customer service was badly misinformed
Still must use other brush post-shower and blow drying

This brush has been on my wish list for years. I got it because my graying hair needed a lift. The brush more than satisfied me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/6/2012 4:24:00 AM More reviews by TheReviewLady

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

This is a super expensive hairbrush. That said, the quality is excellent. I bought the pocket pure boar bristle at first because I didn't want to spend a lot of money on the larger sizes -- silly me, the pocket brush is also very expensive. Then I discovered that it was really annoying to have to section my medium-thick hair in order to brush my entire scalp. So I bought the handy sized brush. Now I can brush my hair in a few strokes and it takes less time. The handy size has longer bristles. I highly recommend the handy size mixed bristle brush for hair of medium-thick density. My hair is chin-length. I am hoping to grow it much longer. I don't know what I will do with my pocket sized brush -- it is not really "pocket" sized. Perhaps I'll use it to brush a cat, a very lucky cat.

Edit 11/12/12: If you have a sensitive scalp, the nylon bristles can feel scratchy. I used to really scrub my head with my old bamboo bristle hair brush. The bristles on the bamboo brush were round tipped and gentle. With the Mason Pearson, I have to brush gently or else my scalp feels scratched and, oddly, this makes it itchy.

The Mason Pearson does a good job of spreading the natural oils of my scalp down to the tips of my hair. My hair has been in good shape since I bought this brush. It looks glossier and feels softer. I'm still happy with my purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/13/2012 3:12:00 PM More reviews by malu22

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I had been losing a lot of hair everyday the past years that my hair now is less than half the volume I had 10 years ago. I read some review about boar bristle brushes that it was supposed to be gentle on the hair and scalp. I initially bought the Denman mixed bristle but it doesn't quite reach my scalp so I ended up ordering this. MP reaches and massages my scalp really well. I have highlighted wavy hair that goes 2 inches below my shoulder blade, medium thickness and volume. I wasn't expecting much from this brush though I was still hoping it would do something better on my hair.
The day I received my handy MP I used it at night and the morning before I go to work. As soon as I get off the parking lot I saw my friend and the first thing that she told me was "my hair looks beautiful". I wash my hair every other day and that morning is the non wash day. I had been working in our department for 12 years now and not once I remember somebody told me that my hair is beautiful even when I changed my shampoo to Kerastase ( the best I tried ) or put all these shinning oil on my hair. I stopped using oils on my hair since I got my MP because I don't want to ruin my brush. But this brush make my hair so shiny, soft and tangle free than ever before. I had my MP for two weeks now and every single day I go to work somebody would compliment me about my hair. They even noticed my fading highlights. They think it's beautiful :) My friends would asked me what I had been using on my hair that it looks so " shiny and beautiful ". I told them it's just the MP hair brush. Some of them thinks I'm crazy for paying that much for a hair brush but I love my MP so much that I ordered also the junior size for home ( popular is too big for me, handy is a perfect size but I want to keep it for my purse because I find the pocket size too small ) and I also got the pocket 100% boar for my 4 yr old son.
MP handy is 8 1/2 by 2 1/2. Denman medium mixed bristle is 8 3/8 x 2 3/8. Denman has more boar bristles than MP. Denman barely touches my scalp but MP does perfectly. The pneumatic cushion on MP works very well but not on Denman. Even if you push hard the bristles in to push the cushion inward it would not budge at all. It is the same thing with the Sonia Kashuk hair brush. The cushion is hard. SK shape and amt of bristle is very much identical to MP except for the handle. However SK has a very strong burnt rubber smell that is absent on MP and Denman. Spornette luxury ( large ) the cushion pushes in slightly but not as much as the MP and it has a mild burnt rubber smell. The amount of bristle is the same like MP but the nylon bristle are colored black as opposed to the other 3 mentioned brushes that are white. MP is the most gentle to the scalp, followed by Denman then Spornette ( scratchy but would reach very thick hair ) then SK which has the stiffest nylon bristle hence scratchiest.
Since I started using MP I stopped losing so much hair. Sometimes I would only see 2-4 hair strands on the brush and sometimes not at all. Even in the shower I hardy lose hair now. It was hard to believe this brush actually made a difference but now I believe all the rave reviews. It maybe expensive but it is worth the investment. Very highly recommended.
BEWARE: of fake MP brushes. You can email MP to find out their authorized distributor. Drugstore.com and Folica.com are one of their authorized etailer. And you can get a good deal when they offer 20-25% off.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/20/2012 11:56:00 AM More reviews by jahyunkim

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I want to cry right now because this product was a huge disappointment for me! I People say brushing is the key to obtain healthy hair, and apparently it seems Mason Pearson brushes are considered as one of the best hair brushes in the world. I cannot express how much I HATE this brush.

My first impression on this brush was actually nice. Although my hair is naturally glossy, I could feel my hair turning smooth and a bit shinier. Well the next day, I realized that my hair was greasier than it normally is. I do have an oily scalp that makes my hair greasy and oily 24 hours after shampooing. But before it passed the 24 hours, the roots on my scalp were already greasy!!

It was only the beginning. Next day, I skipped my skinny serum (thinking that this brush will also lead me to the same effect the skinny serum does), air dried and after my hair was dry, I started brushing with the MP brush. Soon I realized that the more I brush, the frizzier the hair was! I normally don't have frizzy hair at all, and this brush just makes my hair look more damaged, frizzy, and unhealthy. Oh and I hate how my hair feels so heavy after using this brush. I changed back to my cheap plastic comb and my hair looked and felt a lot better.

Today was my third day using this brush and it's simply horrendous. My scalp is itchy everywhere! I don't know what's wrong with this brush because my scalp has never been itchy before. Now I'm officially afraid to use this brush.

I originally purchased this brush because I was hoping to achieve some desirable effects.
1. Did the hair brush make your hair soft and silky? Yes. But my cheap plastic comb can also do it when brushed multiple times.

2. Did it massage your scalp? I think so. The Nylon penetrates into my scalp. However, because I have so much hair I have to put some effort in order to make the brush pins reach into my scalp. Most importantly, it makes my scalp very itchy!!

3. Did it detangle your hair? Nope! I normally don't have detangling hair, but this brush, rather than making my hair light and smooth it tangles my hair! Hair feels very heavy after using this brush :(

4. Did it help with your static hairs? What about the little baby hairs? Yes and No. The only negative thing about my cheap plastic comb is that it makes my hair static if I brush a lot with it. The Mason Pearson brush did help avoiding the static hair. However, it frizzes my hair, and the ends of my hair look much damaged. It did not do anything to my baby hair.

5. Did it help with hair regrowth? I'm not sure. Honestly, I think it causes more hair fallouts because I see more hair coming out onto the Mason Pearson brush than I see on my cheap plastic comb.

I think Neiman Marcus carries MP brushes. Please go to Neiman Marcus and try it yourself before purchasing this online. In my opinion, just a normal brush, comb, and Paul Mitchell skinny serum gives far better desirable results than this expensive MP brush. Thanks for reading.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/17/2012 9:21:00 PM More reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect brush for me. I do tend to get oil roots (i exercise alot)and dry ends and my hair is so long. This has helped so much with distributing the oil throughout my hair. I love this brush. Hope it lasts a lifetime :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/4/2012 2:06:00 PM More reviews by greenmascara

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

There is no comparison between this and other brushes. I lost my Mason Pearson Mixed Bristle a few years ago. Since then, I used "substitute" brushes -- ones that cost around $20-$40 -- never wanting to break my budget for another Mason Pearson. Well, they were all really lousy compared to this one. I've finally bought another Mason Pearson, and I'm really happy. It just makes my hair look a LOT better, just like it always did. I'll never go without it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2010 5:17:00 AM More reviews by missmei

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

I have always had exceptionally thick, coarse, Asian hair (and hope to for many years to come!) and found that my hair was never 'brushed' until I got to this brush. I came across this when an old boss told me that it what she coveted when she was growing up. I have the full size and travel size version of the natural and nylon bristles.
I love how it gets to my scalp and gives it a good rub. I have to brush it from different angles to get different parts of the scalp like i have to approach from underneath my hair to get the bottom half of my scalp.
The result is soft, manageable hair. I feel that the bristles help to spread the natural oil from the scalp down the shaft of the hair.
The only issue I have with this brush is how quickly hair gets tangled but it just goes to show you how thoroughly it actually brushes your hair!
It comes with a brush for the hair brush - cute! It helps to remove all the stuff that gets caught up in the bristles.
I hear that looked after properly, this brush will live a lifetime! That is what I intend to do.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2010 4:10:00 AM More reviews by kitten14

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have read a lot of feedback regarding Mason Pearson brushes and many people have compared them to the Sonya Kushak brush at Target. Well I have owned the SK brush for about three years and up until I got my MP it was my favorite. However, it is not even in the same realm as the MP brush. This brush stimulates my scalp and feels amazing to brush my hair with. The result is smooth, tangle free hair that is more shiny and manageable. I am hoping over time that it will help my hair to grow more quickly due to the stimulation and to keep my ends healthy. Overallt I think the brushes are both good and if you absolutely cannot fathom spending that much money on a brush then stick to the SK. Otherwise, this brush is worth every penny and it will transform your hair for the better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/9/2010 5:43:00 PM More reviews by kensingtonabida

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I had been dithering for ages deciding upon whether to spend this much money on a hairbrush. However, after investing sometime reading reviews of this brush, and seeing Mason Pearson brushes recommended in numerous magazines and top stylists describing it as the 'Bentley of hairbrushes', I decided to purchase. When it arrived it came packaged in a box, the pastel pink coloured hairbrush looked rather retro and pretty. The brush is lightweight, an ample enough size to handle my long waist-length hair, and a portable size to fit into my handbag. I love brushing, it feels soo gentle, words can't describe it. I purchased mine off the HQhair website for 39 - yes, I know, I would never normally spend that much, but now I'm lusting after a larger version to keep on my dressing table...

I want a bigger version now :-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2010 4:48:00 AM More reviews by elmatic

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Although I had reservations about the seemingly cult reputation of Mason Pearson brushes and the prices charged, I am now a firm convert.

For reference, I have very long thick hair that's been protein (keratin) straightened. I find that a few quick brushes makes my hair more neat and "tidy". I did find that there was some static which goes away quite quickly when I hold the hair back in a loose low ponytail and release it again.

I am now contemplating buying a much smaller version to keep in the car and office. For Aussie girls, I managed to get this brush from Peter's of Kensington for $99 (RRP $145 I think).

Is this review helpful? Yes No