February 1, 2015 | 2011 users online

Mascara - L'Oreal - Voluminous Original

rated 3.6(3129 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 1/27/2015 11:33:00 AM More reviews by amandab2b

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This mascara is best for volume and some length, but this is not a mascara for a natural look. It clumps a bit, and sticks lashes together for a very dramatic look. I personally like my lashes long, very black and defined and this mascara does not separate the lashes enough for my tastes.

If you like the look of very dramatic, "spider" lashes...this is good for you, though!
If you like more separation to your eyelashes, I would say try something else.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/22/2015 1:51:00 PM More reviews by queennattyx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have tried every drugstroe mascara and this is by far my fave i don't normal go for small wands. but this was amazing i use it with my fiber lashes and am in love i have gotten my whole family hooked on it too my mom loves it in brown

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2015 12:26:00 AM More reviews by yenvyme80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

Hands-down this is one of the best drugstore mascaras out there! Almost gives you the look of falsies when applied properly!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/21/2015 12:20:00 AM More reviews by treradical

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

I really wasn't wowed by this mascara. I know it's a pretty popular mascara in the makeup world so I decided to try it out one day.

It applied easily but I didn't see any really outstanding results that would make me want to stray away from my current HG Maybelline's Full n Soft mascara. Within a few hours some of it had smeared/flaked which doesn't happen to me with Full n Soft. It just really, really, REALLY didn't look good on my eyelashes and I would not purchase again.

I'm only giving this an extra lippie because I used the color black-brown which my HG full n soft doesn't have. That color is just usually softer on my very light blue eyes. So I can use this mascara on some days when I want a more "natural" look but otherwise this makeup wasn't anything extraordinary.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/18/2015 9:34:00 PM More reviews by emelyb93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This mascara weighed my lashes down and made them .fan out. It did make them look great and no clumps. The product is just too heavy

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2015 3:33:00 PM More reviews by Magapurna

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

This is a surprisingly good mascara considering its price and how "unsophisticated" the brush looks! I bought it not expecting much but because it looked as if it would fit my favourite mascara brush (the discontinued Lash Maxxx). The formula is good though I find it difficult to wash off in the shower - need to use eye-make-up remover - but I think I will be buying it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/16/2015 3:56:00 PM More reviews by charmed83

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I found the formula to be too wet and clumped up easily on my lashes if I wasn't careful with my application. There were a couple of days where I found the sweet spot of just the right amount of mascara and it made my lashes look amazing but I could never achieve it consistently.

The wand was your generic brush wand and for my thick lashes, it's the design I prefer because I get better separation. I really wanted to like this mascara because it is readily available just about anywhere and I've seen so many good reviews, but the formula didn't work for my lashes.

I will hold on to this tube and let it dry up a little more to see if the application improves for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2015 5:31:00 PM More reviews by drugstorequeeen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This mascara is amazing and so worth every penny! I keep coming back to this one because the pigmentation is so rich, the consistency is perfect and it doesn't smudge, clump, or have much fall out. By far my favorite in the drugstore world!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/12/2015 10:24:00 AM More reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I think this is an excellent mascara that isn't too expensive. I always buy waterproof because I have ten-hour work days. Even after work, the mascara hasn't smudged and it looks the same as when I applied it in the morning. I don't notice an odor to this mascara and it's very basic. I think it would be great for beginners. It gets the job done, and it lengthens a great deal. I love the brush because it's very average and makes it easy to apply the mascara. I feel as if the black color could be darker, but I enjoy the formula. I don't think it's too wet or too dry at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/11/2015 5:08:00 PM More reviews by scm240

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is, to date, the only beauty product that I had a bad experience with, retried and then ended up loving.

Usually if I don't like a product, as I did with this initially due to its wet formula that I felt clumped my lashes together, I think 'WE'RE DONE'. But after I got tired of rubber bristle brushes and Maybelline Falsies waterproof that was extremely difficult to remove, I wanted something dependable and easy.

The difference this time was removing excess product from the brush. I just swipe the entire brush on the opening of the product and then I know there won't be too much to goop up my lashes. Sometimes I get a good look in one coat. Easy to apply and easy to remove.

A (big) fault of this mascara is that it doesn't hold a curl well at all because of the wet formula. Maybe I'll try layering it someday or trying the waterproof.

Is this review helpful? Yes No