April 24, 2014 | 1918 users online

Pressed Powders - Chanel - Poudre Universelle Compacte



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(172 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 1/21/2014 8:10:00 PM More reviews by lingre

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I want to start by letting you know that I love Chanel makeup. This powder has a gorgeous finish but does NOTHING for oil control if you have oily skin/combination skin.

I bought this a while ago and forgot about it because I stopped using it. I recently got a new primer and have been searching reviews for a great compact finishing powder... well, unfortunately this is not it. I think I went 4 hours without my T-zone being a disaster! I usually go a good 8 hrs before it's somewhat oily. I havent been as oily as I was the day I used this powder in, I cant even remember when. If you dont have oily skin you will LOVE this. I'm still annoyed that this doesnt work for me...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/8/2014 8:51:00 PM More reviews by husnaz

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Black

This is my first ever review at Makeupalley, though I have been reading reviews of others for many many years. So i thought, I should first review a Chanel product coz I'm a Chanel girl ! :D `

Chanel poudre universalle compacte pressed powder is very smooth, almost invisible, mattifying and non-irritating. It doesn't give any coverage except provide a very sheer veil of a powder. It stays put on skin for many hours. I have bought it 3-4 times and its my first Chanel product :) My handbag is never complete without this beloved xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/25/2013 7:13:00 PM More reviews by volshorn08

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm pretty sure this is the first powder I've ever used up. I love it. I use it over Chanel VA and it works really well to keep me from getting shiny through the day. I have used the puff to press the powder on and that works well too, even though the puff seems like it'd be useless. This powder even held up in the summer, which is a huge feat for any product in the south! I can reapply and it doesn't look cakey. I swapped for the one I'm using up now. If I had the money, I'd buy this over and over again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/24/2013 6:49:00 PM More reviews by Sarsar1sar

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love a dewy finish and this is the only powder I have ever used that doesnt kill your dewy finish. I use it over bb cream.
The packaging is pretty, but not that good. I dropped it one time and it broke, but it only took a minute to put it back together.
I use this with my sephora #43 synthetic powder brush which is great because it doesnt waste too much powder.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/29/2013 10:38:00 AM More reviews by Kentauride

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I think my hunt for the perfect pressed powder has finally come to an end. I love this compact. The powder is lovely, finely milled. When I first opened it and saw the puff (maybe we should call it "the flat" because it is not puffy) I laughed and almost threw it away without even trying it based on other reviews. But this compact is very slim and small, and typical replacement puffs are too thick and too big to fit inside, so I gave it a try. And I actually like it. It picks up quite a bit of product if you use pressure or it can pick up just a small amount if you gently waft it over the powder. Press it to your face, don't slide it across the skin. I use a small brush (I like the brush that is for the Hourglass Ambient finishing powders) to blend it a little afterwards but it is not really necessary. I use this for touchups, not for initial powdering which I do with the Chanel loose powder. There is a faint fragrance, roses I think, but it is very light and sophisticated, unlike some other Chanel products.

The compact itself is that iconic shiny black square design with the Chanel logo on top and a velvet pouch to keep it in. The mechanism to open and close is easy to use. The mirror is a little small since the compact itself is quite small, and I only wish I could open it a little past the perfect 90 degrees, but that's really a nitpick. I also read on here that the puff falls apart if you wash it, so I was kind of scared to wash mine but I went ahead and did it anyway. I found that it washes out just fine, I just used some facewash and rinsed it well. I gently folded it in half and squeezed out as much water as I could, then I used my blow dryer on medium until it felt pretty dry. Then I switched to cool for a minute or so. It still felt a little damp but I let it air dry from that point and it was fine the next morning. Washing it did flatten out the embossed Chanel logo on the puff but clean is more important to me than branding!

Overall, I love it. I will repurchase it.

Edit: I have hit pan and washed my puff multiple times. Still loving it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/16/2013 4:53:00 PM More reviews by vishkhoda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

hello i am loving this powder since i tried it out Chanel counter in Debenhams and i wanted a powder to touch up on but that would not cause cakey finish or give me reaction as my skins is sensitive but combination type skin. i love the look of it and that it compact with mirror. i got disocunt with my Debenhams beauty card cause i bought the Chanel rouge coco shine hydrating lip shine in chic. when i had it applied on my skin you couldent tell that i am wearing powder and it matches with my skin perfectly i got this in natural translucent 2. But am loving it already . i have had maybelline fitme compact powder and rimmel stay matte powder .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/13/2013 2:22:00 PM More reviews by funky_bee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I didn't like this product when I first got it. I used it with the puff that came with the powder and the result was a chalky matte mess. I have been using it with a different puff these days and the result is amazing. The new puff I have picks up just the right amount of powder. My pores are minimized and while matte, it does not make my skin look 'flat'. Oil control is clearly better than Chanel Mat Lumiere and offers a very natural finish. This powder is perfect for humid climates like the South-East Asia, but might be too drying for ladies living in colder climates.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2013 1:33:00 PM More reviews by jessierose27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love using this after my foundation. Silky matte, kills the oil, and never cakey touch ups.

Edit:
I LOVE THIS ON MY SECOND!!!!!! Never cakey touch ups!!!! And makes your face look flawless. I wear this legit alone to school sometimes and just wear some concealer/corrector. And I look polished.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/3/2013 8:19:00 AM More reviews by MonJes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

i just got this at duty free. i bought this on a whim because i loved the packaging. well it chanel. at first i expected nothing extraordinary just another pressed powder i bought. after using it several times i think i DO like this pressed powder though i still think my sheer finish bobbi brown is slightly better milled. i swatched it on half of my face with a drugstore brand powder and i can say this matches me perfectly. it looks really natural and elegant on me, i personally love this powder. this and my bobbi brown sheer finish are my hg. i even stocked up the bobbi brown one and i'll definitely do the same with this thing. i know its quite pricey but its a high end brand and its worth the money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/16/2013 10:43:00 PM More reviews by totallyfantabulous

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Does not cover well at all, doesn't even seem like applied when it is applied.

Is this review helpful? Yes No