July 28, 2014 | 1951 users online

Pressed Powders - Chanel - Poudre Universelle Compacte

rated 4.2(176 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/22/2014 9:06:00 PM More reviews by BarbiieXoX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Blue

Wow
I bought it to apply on my t zone over foundation. This is really translucent and finely milled, this is not to give you coverage. It mattified my skin perfectly. Even close up you could not see the powder - and I used A LOT.
Not only that, now (in summer) it stays put all day and my makeup actually looked better when I woke up than when I put it on when I accidentally slept with it on! Perfect!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2014 2:42:00 PM More reviews by pollyina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This product has literally changed my life. I got it as a gift from my dad, in shade 507 Rose Blossom. Although it looks pinky/ salmony colour, it is actually very transfluent with shimmers. It makes my skin very matt, and lasts all day. Great packaging, in love with all chanel make up. The product lasts for ages - I use it every day, since January and i still have 1/3 of the product left. It is very expensive but it is definately worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/4/2014 1:15:00 AM More reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Iv'e been alternating this chanel powder with my powder stash for 18 months, so feel I have given it a good go. It does have a nice consistency in that it does not leave you looking chalky and powdery looking, however on my normal/combo skin I still need to touch up once during the day and again if I'm going out at night with the same make-up on.

I have found for me the best way to apply this and get the longest results from it are with a smaller or denser brush - current favs being RT Contour Brush and RT Expert Face Brush to really buff it in for the really smooth look this powder is capable of achieving.

On my NC15 skin 20 Clair is a perfect match - even though this powder is not translucent, more a slight creamy colour it does not add colour to your skin.

I won't repurchase because of the price, I think for less money or the same money there are nicer powders out there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/26/2014 8:11:00 AM More reviews by harajukuboy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have quite dry, pale skin, and I was a little put off at the very poor range of shades, but this powder isn't for coverage or colour, and 20 clair does the job for my NC10 skin. It gives a very nice finish, I'd say between pure matte and slightly dewy, depending how much you apply. However, I think it is necessary for you to throw away the little foam pad that comes with it, it seems to take off more makeup than it puts on; go to a chanel counter and ask for a proper powder puff, I did and they gave me a real puff for free. The scent is lovely and the packaging is gorgeous, its my HG finishing powder. 4 lipsticks because I think at some point I'd want to see what else is out there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/21/2014 8:10:00 PM More reviews by lingre

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I want to start by letting you know that I love Chanel makeup. This powder has a gorgeous finish but does NOTHING for oil control if you have oily skin/combination skin.

I bought this a while ago and forgot about it because I stopped using it. I recently got a new primer and have been searching reviews for a great compact finishing powder... well, unfortunately this is not it. I think I went 4 hours without my T-zone being a disaster! I usually go a good 8 hrs before it's somewhat oily. I havent been as oily as I was the day I used this powder in, I cant even remember when. If you dont have oily skin you will LOVE this. I'm still annoyed that this doesnt work for me...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/8/2014 8:51:00 PM More reviews by husnaz

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Black

This is my first ever review at Makeupalley, though I have been reading reviews of others for many many years. So i thought, I should first review a Chanel product coz I'm a Chanel girl ! :D `

Chanel poudre universalle compacte pressed powder is very smooth, almost invisible, mattifying and non-irritating. It doesn't give any coverage except provide a very sheer veil of a powder. It stays put on skin for many hours. I have bought it 3-4 times and its my first Chanel product :) My handbag is never complete without this beloved xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/25/2013 7:13:00 PM More reviews by volshorn08

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm pretty sure this is the first powder I've ever used up. I love it. I use it over Chanel VA and it works really well to keep me from getting shiny through the day. I have used the puff to press the powder on and that works well too, even though the puff seems like it'd be useless. This powder even held up in the summer, which is a huge feat for any product in the south! I can reapply and it doesn't look cakey. I swapped for the one I'm using up now. If I had the money, I'd buy this over and over again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/24/2013 6:49:00 PM More reviews by Sarsar1sar

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love a dewy finish and this is the only powder I have ever used that doesnt kill your dewy finish. I use it over bb cream.
The packaging is pretty, but not that good. I dropped it one time and it broke, but it only took a minute to put it back together.
I use this with my sephora #43 synthetic powder brush which is great because it doesnt waste too much powder.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/29/2013 10:38:00 AM More reviews by Kentauride

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I think my hunt for the perfect pressed powder has finally come to an end. I love this compact. The powder is lovely, finely milled. When I first opened it and saw the puff (maybe we should call it "the flat" because it is not puffy) I laughed and almost threw it away without even trying it based on other reviews. But this compact is very slim and small, and typical replacement puffs are too thick and too big to fit inside, so I gave it a try. And I actually like it. It picks up quite a bit of product if you use pressure or it can pick up just a small amount if you gently waft it over the powder. Press it to your face, don't slide it across the skin. I use a small brush (I like the brush that is for the Hourglass Ambient finishing powders) to blend it a little afterwards but it is not really necessary. I use this for touchups, not for initial powdering which I do with the Chanel loose powder. There is a faint fragrance, roses I think, but it is very light and sophisticated, unlike some other Chanel products.

The compact itself is that iconic shiny black square design with the Chanel logo on top and a velvet pouch to keep it in. The mechanism to open and close is easy to use. The mirror is a little small since the compact itself is quite small, and I only wish I could open it a little past the perfect 90 degrees, but that's really a nitpick. I also read on here that the puff falls apart if you wash it, so I was kind of scared to wash mine but I went ahead and did it anyway. I found that it washes out just fine, I just used some facewash and rinsed it well. I gently folded it in half and squeezed out as much water as I could, then I used my blow dryer on medium until it felt pretty dry. Then I switched to cool for a minute or so. It still felt a little damp but I let it air dry from that point and it was fine the next morning. Washing it did flatten out the embossed Chanel logo on the puff but clean is more important to me than branding!

Overall, I love it. I will repurchase it.

Edit: I have hit pan and washed my puff multiple times. Still loving it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/16/2013 4:53:00 PM More reviews by vishkhoda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

hello i am loving this powder since i tried it out Chanel counter in Debenhams and i wanted a powder to touch up on but that would not cause cakey finish or give me reaction as my skins is sensitive but combination type skin. i love the look of it and that it compact with mirror. i got disocunt with my Debenhams beauty card cause i bought the Chanel rouge coco shine hydrating lip shine in chic. when i had it applied on my skin you couldent tell that i am wearing powder and it matches with my skin perfectly i got this in natural translucent 2. But am loving it already . i have had maybelline fitme compact powder and rimmel stay matte powder .

Is this review helpful? Yes No