November 25, 2014 | 1607 users online

Highlighters - MAC - Cream Color Base in Pearl



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.3(162 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/3/2014 12:08:00 PM More reviews by InParadiseIsland

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

it's pretty nice, not my fav highlighter but it does get the job done. the best thing about this is that it adds a glow not glitter like most highlighters. the only problem I have with this highlighter is that it's cream and I'm personally not a big fan of cream highlighters and that's the only reason why I won't be purchasing this again but other than that it's fantastic :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/28/2014 3:46:00 PM More reviews by ryapapaya

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love highlighters and have been on the hunt for my holy grail product for a while. I believe that this comes quite close!
It is super easy to apply and blends into the skin really well. The colour is soft and not too sparkly which I like. It adds just a tiny shimmer and catches the light not a glitterbomb.

My only negative point with this is that it melts a little when its hot in the house and I have to keep it in the fridge :S

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/12/2014 10:32:00 AM More reviews by Phyrne

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

The idea of highlighting your face is so enticing wouldn`t there be so many trash products out there. Screamingly obvious in harsh, glittery colors, rendering old instead of dewy. So I stayed away from them - up to now! This product is soooo different, believe me! Texture like a dream - it simply melts into your skin, leaving nothing but an absolutely natural, vibrant and very youthful silky golden sheen. Even on my superpale skin it never looks streaky - nothing is visible apart from the seemingly inner glow. At first I used a brush but I find that my middle finger does a better job. The best result for me is without foundation, just together with concealer and the Brit Wit Blusher and a trace of powder for better staying power. I emphasize the bridge of my nose, the dent above my upper lip, the center of my chin, the upper part of cheekbones, above the outer part of eyebrows and between the eyebrows.
The absolutely perfect nude look!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/1/2013 4:06:00 PM More reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

While this product is a multi tasking product, I simply wanted a highlighter for my skin.

I´m very pale ( MAC NC15-20, C1) with somehow dull skin. My skin is dehydrated oily to combo and acne-prone. I never tan and rarely use self-tanner, so I rely on skincare and make up to make my skin look fresh and polished.

Before trying this product, I went for powder highlighters.

I tried MAC Soft and Gentle, which is raved about, and ELFs blush Gotta Glow which is a dupe for NARS Albatross.

These highlighters never stayed in place and spread all over my face, so I looked highlighted all over my face. On top of that, the powder formula made my already dull and dehydrated skin look flat and lifeless. It always stayed on my skin and never fully merged with my skin and foundation. I felt like it was obvious that I wore highlighter instead of just looking like my skin was naturally glowing if you know what I mean.

I went to my trustworthy MAC Muas and explained my problem. She recommended a cream colour base and we went searching for the right colour.

Pearl was absolutely perfect for my pale skin with light yellow undertones. It has no obvious glitter particles and that makes it perfect for highlighting every day without looking like a disco ball. It´s described as pale gold with icy shimmer and has a very creamy texture that just melts into he skin. The perfect colour for my skin.

I tried Luna too, but it was too cool, bright and frosty for my skin. This colour could work for cool pale skintones.

I apply it around my eye area over my cheek bone and occasionally on the bridge of my nose or above my upper lip. That may sound boring, but for me, this is the way to polished healthy and glowing skin. The light catches so pretty on the spot over my cheek bones and my skin looks gorgeous. You can also use this on the inner corner of your eyes or lightly under your eyes whenever you want to look fresh and rested.

I use this in conjunction with MAC Harmony blush as bronzer and I never want to be without this combo. As my skin is pale and I tend to look drawn, I make an extra effort to make my skin look good in the morning. And with this highlighter and bronzer, my skin looks good in less than 2 minutes.

The cream colour stays in place the whole day inspite of my sometimes oily skin.

For me, this was absolutely worth the money I paid for it. I use it every day and if it´s empty, I will buy it again.

I recommend the cream colour base, but also recommend to test which one of the cream colour bases work for your skin tone.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/11/2013 8:37:00 PM More reviews by bcvshygirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm a highlighter fanatic. This is a great cream highlighter if you want dewy glowy skin. I prefer using a powder highlighter for everyday but this is especially flattering for special occasions and packaging is much more convenient for carrying In my makeup bag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2013 10:57:00 PM More reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I'm not even sure why I bought this years ago. It really just sits in my stash. I purchased this to use as a sticky eyeshadow base, but with my oily lids, it doesn't function very well as such. My skin is way too oily to fuss with highlighters, and I prefer a matte brow highlight. I can see how this is a great product for someone who can use it, though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2013 7:54:00 PM More reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This highlighter is soft, subtle, and extremely long wearing. Just a little dab and you are good to go. I love how it gives me a natural glow and when worn underneath my foundation, it makes my skin look like I have just had a facial. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/6/2013 5:15:00 PM More reviews by almond_leaves

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Black

Pearl is a cream golden shimmery shade.

I use this mainly as a brow bone and cheekbone highlight as well as down the center of my nose.

Didn't really like it on my cupid's bow or at the center of my lips.

You do need to apply this in thin layers and using a patting motion AND set it with a similar shimmery product like Vanilla pigment.

I tried this on top of Artdeco's e/s base and Painterly, and topped it with Knight Divine, but I found that it makes my eyeshadow crease.

Not a bad product, but I don't think I'll repurchase this again. It mainly does a difference in photos if you're looking for that sheen. However, I'm more into highlighting with matte shades rather than shimmery ones as it gives more dimension and looks great in photos. This one will last me a long time though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/22/2013 3:29:00 AM More reviews by joeykeen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product! It gives a really subtle glow and wears for at least 6 hours (I haven't tried longer than that). The woman at the MAC counter tried this on me and finished with Fix + spray. My skin looked amazing and glowing for the rest of the day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/20/2013 12:24:00 AM More reviews by herngc

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really love this highlighter. I think I'm about a NC 40 but just for ref I wear MUFHD foundation and I'm a #155. I looks great on my skin tone and has a pretty good lasting power.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No