August 20, 2014 | 1906 users online

Hair - Joico - K Pak Smoothing Balm

no image

rated 3.7(28 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/10/2014 2:03:00 AM More reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Didn't quite work out for me. It did make my hair extremely smooth and I also liked that it provided a nice amount of hold. But it left my hair too sticky and dry, and I just hated the way it felt.
For reference I have hair that is thick, dry, color-treated, and I heat-style it regularly. I always use some kind of leave-in product before blow drying. I had high hopes for this one because I really like Joico's products.
But this wasn't for me- wouldn't repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/29/2013 5:51:00 PM More reviews by JessicaRabbitVB

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I found this smoothing balm at Winners for about $12 and because I was using the K-Pak treatment as well as shampoo and conditioner I thought I would give it a try. I use it on my wet wavy hair before I blow dry and I love it! Def helps with a smoother blow dry process and it really does keep my hair soft. If you can find it at a Winners I would say do that because at Drug Stores I found it to be rather expensive

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2013 4:14:00 AM More reviews by loveisreal

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I'm that girl at the salon with hair so big so frizzy and so dry that everyone stairs at after a blow dry. I naturally have horrible hair always have but this product does wonders to it. I use this before i blow dry my hair and it looks like i used a flat iron to straighten my it. I love it, the only thing i hate about it is that I didn't find it any sooner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/16/2012 11:05:00 AM More reviews by baby_grazi_x05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm picked this up at TJ Maxx for about $10. I'm rather impressed by it! It doesn't make my hair 100% silky, but I'm able to have more control over the cowlicks and little annoying nuances my hair has when it needs to be cut. It definitely makes things more manageable!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/2/2012 2:20:00 AM More reviews by MAC96

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I began using this and I absoloutely love it! It makes my hair feel and look like Kim Kardashians. My hair is naturally thin and straight/wavy, this products keeps it dtraight and smooth. AMAZING! I will be repurchasing!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/21/2011 8:03:00 PM More reviews by lulubongo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My hair are thin and not terribly frizzy or anything, so I thought that this product would banish the frizz completly. Well... it does nothing. Or close. I use it before brushing and my hair detangles slightly better,but not as good as after gliss kur. Frizz is maybe slighty smaller and if I use too much product I loose all the volume. Really, nothing special and for this money it should be at least ok.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/8/2011 8:16:00 PM More reviews by tinnag

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Other

I'm not so sure about this product.. I hate the fact that it leaves my palms shimmery, almost "twilight" esque.. And no matter how little I use I always feel like it greases up my hair.. On that note, I still think it works.. in some way! Will not repurchase though

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/28/2010 6:50:00 AM More reviews by nelle4362

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really like this product. I apply it when my hair is almost dry to probably the bottom 12-14 inches of hair. Be warned, a little goes a long way and too much will weigh down the hair and make it feel greasy. However, I do love how this smoothes my hair and leaves it looking much less unruly as I don't like to straighten it, but do like it smooth out any kinks. One down-side to this product is the packaging- the upside down bottle does not combine well with the runny liquid inside and can get quite messy. Nonetheless i would definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/19/2009 7:47:00 AM More reviews by DistortedDaytime

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I use this product everytime I blow dry my hair and yes, using too much of the product could weigh your hair down.
It leaves my hair silky soft without any frizz at all~ The smell is incredible and I'd love to buy this product again :]

I'm only giving this 4 lippies because I haven't tried this will a flat iron. I'll review this again once I done that~

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2009 10:56:00 PM More reviews by blondie7110

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is a great product that leaves your hair very silky. It is heat activated and is a heat protectant, hair smoother, and hair straightener. Great when you flat iron! Has a Keratin Silicone Complex which is great in the humidity keeping your hair straight and frizz free. I live in Florida so this is put to the test on a daily basis! I would recommend this product to anyone who uses heat to style their hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No