Origins Ginger Burst Savory body wash

3.4

34 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 4:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Some years ago, I wrote a review of this shower gel saying I would not buy it again, and that it smelt of parsnips and eucalytpus. Well, sometimes one changes one's mind, huh, because I have bought this three times, and it's become one of my top three shower gels.

Whilst I understand where I was coming from with that comparison, I now adore this rich, expensive and aromatic shower treat. I like the fact it has the savory aspect going on but it is still sweet. The ginger is so uplifting, balanced with citrus and spice.

I'm also a big fan of the consistency of this. It's thick, and you don't need a lot on a puff to get a lot of soft, lovely lather, which makes the price more reasonable. I have the souffle and the perfume too, and they're a wonderful trio, guaranteed to lift the spirits.



on 7/30/2013 10:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this, even though I agree with previous reviewers on all the objectively bad points about this product.

It would be expensive to buy on its own, but I bought it in the gift set, and I bought the gift set for the perfume. Therefore, the body wash was just a nice bonus to me!

I don't actually use very much of it on my bath puff, but then again I have dry skin and have gotten into the habit of using less soap on my body generally. I think if you really wanted nice lather you would have to use a lot more - and therefore the tube wouldn't last very long.

I don't think the scent really lasts once I'm outside the shower, but it's hard to tell because I use the Ginger perfume. It's a pretty enjoyable experience while I'm IN the shower, anyway. I will repurchase if I can find the gift set again, because I'll need a new bottle of perfume soon (and it's better to get more products for the same price!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2013 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Although I really enjoy the smell of this shower gel, I do not think I would repurchase this product. The scent is really spicy and fresh and lasts even after you step out of the shower. However, you need to use a lot of this product if you want to feel clean because it does not really lather well. This would not be such a problem if it came in bigger packaging, but the quantity of product itself is pretty small (100 ml) so that you feel like you are wasting it. I bought it in a set with the body cream and the perfume, which made it a better deal, but I feel that for so little product (considering how much you need to use each time), the shower gel is just too expensive.


on 10/8/2012 5:36:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i got this as part of a gift set. the gel actually stung a bit when i used it below. maybe i should have known better. after that i didn't use it there and it was fine. to me it does smell like ginger and it's a nice clean scent. i can't speak to the cost but i doubt i'd buy it as people are saying it's expensive and there are a lot of nice reasonably priced cleansers with good ingredients on the market.


on 1/2/2012 12:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm giving it a 5 based on it's greener ingredient list and wonderful scent. The ginger and citrus is not overpowering, but light and alluring. Such a warm, cozy yet uplifting fragrance.

I have purchased items from Origin's ginger line as a treat to myself here and there for well over 13 years. This body wash isn't the most moisturizing, however whenever I take a shower with this on a cold winter day, it changes my mood immediately. That to me is priceless. I love ginger scents, but nothing comes close to the Origins version.


on 1/21/2009 3:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Bought this against my better judgetrment. It does not really lather much - I put it on a washcloth as the instructions stated on the bottle - but there was little lather or much of anything though the ginger scent was strong. ( I have a water softener so hard water is not a problem here ) The tablet soap is much better and better value for money too .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2008 6:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As mentioned, this product does not lather at all! You literally have to use a ton for a lather. I found that for my skin, this product is also very drying. I was very disappointed. The only thing good about this product is the scent. It drives me crazy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/6/2007 3:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very expensive and given to me by my dear girlfriend at Christmas. I love the aroma which, as someone else mentioned, is more lime/bergamot than ginger. I use one of those scrunchy things to apply it and it foams like crazy. I wouldn't buy it myself as it is so expensive.


on 5/30/2007 10:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I feel very clean and really relaxed and fresh when I use this. My skin really loves it, so soft and lovely! Plus, when I open the bathroom door the scent travels down the hallway and my husband always loves it. Ginger is very pampering, healing, calming and is an aphrodisiac hooray! ha! ha! Just love this, and have been a huge huge Origins fan for many years! Never met an Origins product I didnt like and especially the bath products! YUM!


on 1/2/2007 7:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very disappointed in this. I like the smell fine, but as previous reviewers have mentioned there is hardly any lather! You seriously go through a ton of this just for one shower. There are much better shower gels out there- I'll just stick with the other Origins ginger scented products to get my ginger fill rather than buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Gels/Soaps


Beauty Bar
884 Reviews
Ivory Soap
119 Reviews
Back to Top