October 1, 2014 | 1762 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Rimmel - Stay Matte Primer



image 0

rated 3.8(61 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/28/2014 4:10:00 PM More reviews by AimeeMarieMUA

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

Let me start off by saying that I am really not THAT oily, my bigger issue is the fact that my sweat glads are 'overactive' for a lack of a better term, and I sweat very easily with little effort. This makes it hard for me to find products that have a good staying power on me. That being said, I am just not a fan of this product, or any of the other Rimmel primers.

I was hoping that this primer would have a similar effect as the powder, which I quite like. Sadly, it doesn't. Like the other primers Rimmel offers, this one has a very lotion like feel, which typically isn't that big of a deal-I'd rather have a primer sink into my skin than feel like its sitting on top of it, but this really just feels like too much of a lotion. My skin drinks it up completely, and I really can't tell much of a difference between the days when I do use it and the days when I forget and can't afford to take the time to stop, remove whatever face makeup I already had on, and put the primer on.

The packaging says that it is a 'skin perfecting primer can be worn alone, under makeup, or on top to create a perfect matte completion. Controls shine for up to 8 hours. Ultra lightweight formula minimizes the appearance of pores.' I found that it didn't make my skin or my makeup look all that matte. I also found that it was too light weigh feeling for my liking as I said previously, and it really didn't minimize the appearance of my pores-my problem area is around my nose, where my pores are practically swimming pools, and I didn't notice a difference at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/26/2014 8:23:00 PM More reviews by Cortneywpatterson

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This stuff made my foundation mess up really bad. If I put it on, I'd put my makeup and not realize til later I had these splotches on my face that just looked like I had no makeup there. I knew it wasn't the foundation (revlon colorstay) because I've used it a lot before. Stopped using this primer and the problem stopped. Don't know why. Won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/18/2014 3:12:00 AM More reviews by hannahros3

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am incredibly oily and nothing rarely stops my shine for more than a few hours. This did not help with the shine at all. I enjoyed the way it felt on my skin but that was it. Also, after a week of using it, I got a break out of cyclic acne which is unusual for me. Back to the drawing board for a good mattifying primer..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/15/2014 12:53:00 PM More reviews by galactic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I have oily skin, and I live in Texas, so my face gets super shiny after a couple of hours. This was a pretty great primer, considering. It's thick, but it smoothed into my big cheek pores fairly easily. By the end of the day, I had minimal if any shine (more dewy than shine). I loved it more than I can express. I exfoliate, use silver powder, and moisturize with grapeseed or jojoba oil, then wipe off excess and apply this primer. I either use Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream or Revlon ColorStay as a foundation over top, and toss on a powder (usually Maybelline ... matte... something loose powder) and call it good. I'm content.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/10/2014 10:40:00 PM More reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Maybe just the slightest amount of oil control but not enough so that I really notice.
I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/6/2014 4:11:00 PM More reviews by kaedegordon

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

a tanka:

my face is shiny

rimmel stay matte does nothing

will not repurchase

might work for moderate oil

not much product in the tube

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/28/2014 5:10:00 AM More reviews by Rayellaxo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is okay. I feel as if it only works well with the fit me foundation though. Every other foundation I've used with it, it has done nothing

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2014 9:03:00 AM More reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Cystic acne. Oh well, I am not that oily to begin with but thought this would be nice for summer to decrease some of the oil I do get. It felt ok, not great. But I got a couple of really stubborn cystic zits from using it so I won't be continuing use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/3/2014 12:38:00 AM More reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have combo-oily skin and I had hopes to use this to prevent shine longer when wearing it underneath my usual BB creams and foundations, but found that this did nothing for me after giving it a few tries. It applies like a soft, water-based lotion and dries to a very comfortable, natural finish. However, I wouldn't say that the finish is matte. That said, I got the same amount of shine prevention out of BB creams and foundations I tried this with that did not have a true matte finish--Shiseido Senka Mineral Water UV BB, Hada Labo BB Moist Emulsion, Maybelline Dream Pure BB, wet 'n' wild Coverall Cream Foundation. That is to say, it made no difference. I would still see shine coming through in roughly 4-5 hours, depending on the face product.

This unfortunately did nothing for me but wear comfortably. If it was an effective mattifying primer, then it has a killer price range of $5 for 1oz. But I'll pay a little more for a product that actually is effective at controlling shine on their own, like $8 for Maybelline's SuperStay 24HR Makeup or $21 for Clinique's Stay Matte Oil-Free Liquid Makeup. Rimmel's own Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation, also $5 per 1oz tube, surprisingly stays matte on its own more effectively than with its complementary Stay Matte Primer. This product was too easy to move on from.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/25/2014 10:54:00 AM More reviews by baileykf

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I used this before putting my makeup on for a wedding, and it broke my face out. I've had 5 huge zits for a week now, and they're just starting to go away. It's a great product and works well, it's just that my skin is too sensitive to use it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No