Rimmel Stay Matte Primer

3.5

93 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, VINYL DIMETHICONE/ METHICONE SILSESQUIOXANE CROSSPOLYMER, ISONONYL ISONONANOATE, POLYPROPYLENE, SILICA, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, BIS-PEG/PPG-14/14 DIMETHICONE, GLYCERIN, LAURETH-7, TRIBEHENIN, XANTHAN GUM, PHENOXYETHANOL, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, SORBITAN SESQUIOLEATE, CHLORPHENESIN, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, DISODIUM EDTA, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRA-DI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE. [May Contain/Peut Contenir/+/-: TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891)].


on 4/10/2015 2:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't like this primer at all. I bought this since I have pretty oily skin and was hoping this would help control that. It has a consistency of Elmer's glue and can be really tricky to apply. At the end of the day I still had the same amount of oil on my face. This also caused me to breakout which has never happened with any product before.



on 3/30/2015 10:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've fine ally found my hg primer. Whenever i wore foundation r powder it would never last and my oil would come out it just a few hours. but i got this primer and it works great. i can have my foundation on for a full day and still not be too oily. it also makes my lasting power1000x better. for sure buying it again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2015 6:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really enjoy texture of this product. It is like a cream and really mattyfies skin. I use it even as a eye primer and it works great!


on 3/24/2015 2:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Love! I like to wear my facial sunscreen pretty thick, problem is this usually leads to you looking oily. I dab and rub some of this stuff on after applying sunscreen and it completely takes away any gross shine! I apply my concealer and powder then and everything looks and lasts nicely, hasn't made me break out either, def repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This works for me. I've tried all kinds of primers from high end to low and this one does the best job. Is it a miracle product? Nope, not by any means. But it keeps me matte most of the day and my makeup stays put. And that is pretty much all I can ask for from a product. Just wish the tube was a little bigger or maybe in a pump. But I can forgo it for the price.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am not a big fan of this primer. I just recently started consistently using foundation after years of just using concealer, pressed powder, and bronzer, but being 31, I really needed to start using more. I figured I could improve upon the look of my foundation by using a primer. I was at Ulta and picked up the anti-redness Smashbox primer, but once I read reviews decided against it and to pick up either the Neutrogena or the Rimmel primer. I ended up with this one because the Neutrogena one was sold out. As soon as I squirted a litte onto my hand, I was so excited because it reminds me alot of MAC Strobe Cream in color and consistency. I figured it would impart the dewy, glowly look most of us ladies long for. I exfoliated, moisturized, primed, used foundation, and then concealed and honestly think I like the way my foundation looks without the primer. I can't really tell much of a difference except I think my foundation has better coverage without the primer. Won't repurchase, but will probably try another brand of primer.


on 3/22/2015 9:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this primer! I found the stay matte foundation quite pore clogging if used everyday but this isnt the case with the primer. It feels and smells exactly like a thick moisturizer and when applied to a bare face before makeup provided a fresh matte canvas. I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone and this sucked up oils throught the whole day for me. I applied this matte primer with a dewy foundation (healthy mix) and it ended up giving me a natural/ satiny finish that lasted the whole day! the thickness of the primer also blurred pores around the nose for me as well.. i think this is worth a shot if ur looking for a primer to mainly control oily areas! it would work 100% if also paired with a matte foundation IMO! worked well for me and will repurchase.


on 3/4/2015 8:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I didnt really like it. It didnt help with the longevity of my makeup. I become crazy oily around my nose and generally an oil slick all over after about 3 hours. (I have tried this with 3 other foundations) I didnt really think it made anything matte.

Would I buy it again?
No. It just didnt work for me.

COLOUR: white, goes on clear once rubbed in.
TEXTURE/CONSISTENCY: it's a thick cream.
SMELL: moisteriser type smell. not overly strong.
PRICE: $12.95 - Target Australia

Quick about me:
Skin: I have oily t-zone, very oily around my nose, large pores, breakouts only on my jawline and occasionally on my chin. My skin is sensitive and hates pretty much everything!
Diet: I have just recently stop consuming dairy products and reducing my meat intake to see if that effects my skin. I also have increased my fruit and vegetables and water intake. Water has made a huge huge huge difference!!!
Lifestyle: gym goer, big lover of sports and outdoor activities.


on 3/1/2015 7:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely loved this primer. I never used to use primer so this was the first primer I had ever tried so I don't have anything to compare it to but I loved it so much I don't think I'd bother trying out other primers for the time being! This applied beautifully on my skin, gave it a velvety, matte finish. It smells nice and isn't very pigmented which suits me fine as I don't have a very uneven skin tone and don't require a base colour. My regular foundation applied a lot nicer, looked even better and stayed put all day. Am definitely re purchasing this product.


on 2/5/2015 9:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first used this primer I loved it so much but since the day after and on it hasn't worked the same at all! I have very oily skin and it actually makes my nose looks dry and patchy I'm not sure how I feel about this primer.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top