Estee Lauder Double Wear- Stay In Place HIGH COVER Concealer SPF 35 (Cream Compact, NOT Liquid)

3.0

14 reviews

35% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/10/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Not impressed. It sounds incredible: long-wearing, high SPF, creamy...

Sadly, it performs poorly! It's one of those concealers that fades quickly, but looks much worse afterwards than without. It turns whiteish and patchy, making the "sleep" in your eyes white also. Not a good look! I've tried it with primer and different application methods with no luck in appearance and lasting power.

Fail!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/25/2015 10:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The color choices are great the concealer nice and thick the packaging really good nice solid easy to slip into your make up bag

PROS

Thick

Full coverage

Easy to use

Slips easy into make up bag

Great packaging

Great color selection


CONS OUTWEIGH THE PROS:

SPF 35 right next to my eyes, the SPF always gets into my eyes and burns burns burns so this is just not going to be repurchased, period

Sort of need to use some cream with this, it can be too dry

Only one color; may as well buy the LM dual concealer colors or other brand and mix / match

Over priced


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is another thing I got last Christmas and I've got to say I'm just not a huge fan of it

A little background for this - I had been on the hunt for a concealer for a while and I noticed that this was on sale with a slightly marked down price in Boots, I was thrilled understandably, double wear makeup is meant to have amazing coverage so this stuff will be good right?

I got this first in the shade Extra Light and then in Light Medium (the guy who colour matched me the first time gave me a shade that was three shades lighter than my skin lol) this stuff comes in a little pot, kind of like the Bobby Brown correctors and is pretty dry honestly, I had to really work with this at first to get any product up from it

While we're on this subject I just want to say that I HATE the packaging, it's so unhygenic and there's nothign you can do to stop dirt from getting into the product T_T

As for coverage I'm dealing with some quite nasty dark circles, I look like I've been punched each morning (not even joking on that one) so I need something pretty full on to cover it, I've yet to find anything that is actually up to the job

This stuff has pretty decent coverage, if you only had light to medium dark circles to cover then this would probably work but for me it just lessens the problem rather than actually hiding it

Another thing is that since it is so dry unless you moisturize like crazy or you're 12 this will crease and cake unlike anything else, I looked 70 in about two hours

In short I would NOT recommend this, I would instead try the Bobby Brown counter since their correctors actually feel nice and like they wouldn't make me look ancient


on 1/24/2015 1:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product goes on smooth!!! It blends perfectly for under eye and blemishes!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Paula's Choice rated this as a "best" concealer but sorry Paula, I disagree. I am giving this product 2 stars because it is highly pigmented, but the texture is very thick and difficult to blend into my skin. The finish is also cakey and doesn't really 'melt' into my skin. I purchased this concealer mainly because of the high SPF 35 rating, but the fact that it comes in a flip top compact doesn't give me confidence about it's stability as a sun protector, although the packaging is really cute and I like that it has a mirror in it. The lady at the counter recommended using a concealer brush to pick up and apply the product, but I find the texture too dry using that method. Instead I have to swirl my finger into the pan to warm it up and even then it's difficult to work with. I'm disappointed because I was hoping the texture would be similar to my Bobbi Brown stick foundation which I love and wish contained SPF. The sales lady chose the color 1C light (cool) which is a light/medium beige shade and just an okay match for my NC25/30 neutral skintone. I am on the fence about returning this product but I don't plan on repurchasing. Hence the search for a creamy concealer with a high SPF rating continues.


on 7/10/2014 2:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Holy grail concealer!! I use this more for blemishes/spots/freckles or redness rather than under eye but you can definitely use this for both. Only thing is, if you're using it for under eye definitely use an eye cream prior. I bought this after owning the very similar Sephora 8 hr perfect cover concealer. I tried this because the 1st shade in the Sephora line was too dark/yellow. I use this in very light and have zero complaints. It's very creamy and blends wonderfully into the skin. I use a tiny bit and I get the coverage I need and I'm set.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2014 11:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the only make-up I have ever returned to the store. Thick, impossible to blend and just looked orange on my pale skin (I bought the palest shade). It reminded me of the cheap concealer I bought as a teenager which resulted in orange patches all over my face. Not a good look. Anyway I exchanged this for the creamier version in a tube which is much better and great customer service from EL!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 1:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is an ok, meh kind of product for me.
I have it in the shade 4N to match my NC44 South Asian skin.
I agree with the previous reviewer, this is not the best for the under eye as I find it does an less than average job of concealing my very dark under eye circles. I therefore use this in conjunction with other concealers to even out skin tone or to cover blemishes.
It has a nice creamy consistency and looks nice and smooth when used to cover blemishes on the skin, however I don't find to to particularly last.
Overall, a pretty average product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2014 4:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am always searching for concealer because I have BAD undereye circles(genetic). I tried MAC concealer in a pot and it covers but creases like crazy. With EL I had almost identical experience. Color I had was 1N I believe which is the lightest one but its not really ivory more yellowish beige-it does cover but once again, creases. I dont' even have major lines around my eyes but if you smile, it will be enough. I set it lightly with powder, btw. Without it, it smears and creases even worse. if you want that kind of concealer, I suggest MAC because they have better color choices. If you are super pale like I am, most colors at EL will be too dark and yellowish.
This concealer is best used on blemishes and the like, not for under eyes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2014 2:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This concealer is just AMAZING. I got it as a gift from my dad but wow, I love it! I used the 3C Medium (cool) shade and it fit my skin perfect, although i am always ivory/ light shade. It covers everything - it is definately best coverage concealer I used. It lasts all day. The only minus of the concealer is the price, but it's definately worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top