Smashbox photo op eye brighting mascara

3.8

12 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/16/2015 8:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Oh my God I love this mascara. I bought the Eye Brightening palette set and I'm already in love with that but I am so impressed with this mascara, it's unreal. I have tiny, fine, short, fair lashes and this makes them so long and separated. I couldn't tell you how it does it because the brush is rather small and basic looking but it really makes a difference. I think this is the best mascara I've tried haha. Definitely worth a try and the navy tint is very flattering as blue tones make the whites of the eyes appear brighter. Very happy



on 8/7/2015 2:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I received this in a sample size so I did not pay the full price of $21 but I don't really believe that it is worth it. Don't get my wrong, this mascara is okay, but I think you could find a better one from the drugstore for less than half the price. The brush is nice because it has lots of small bristles that grab and separate your lashes without any clumps. But it does not brighten your eyes like the tube said it did. It adds very minimal volume but pretty good length with the usual 1-2 coats. It also made my lashes bolder. I feel like you could build it up since the consistency is more on the wet side. It lasted for about 5 hours but had a small amount of smearing under my eyes, which really isn't that ideal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2015 11:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a really good mascara i got it as sample and love it but i woudnt specifically go out and buy full size cuz you can find cheaper alternatives


on 6/4/2015 4:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really like that the brush isn't huge. I don't really see the blue tone in the mascara. Does it make my eyes brighter? No, I don't think so. It does apply easily. I have very sensitive eyes and I feel as though ever so slightly it might be a tad irritating to my eyes. Didn't really give me a dramatic look and didn't really curl that much either. I don't know. There are better mascaras out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2015 11:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So I got this as part of a free gift thing when I bought a lipstick (Smashbox employees were at Ulta and were giving away free samples if you bought a full-size item! Fun!). Anyway, I think it's pretty great. It claims it's 3-in-1 in the online Ulta description and mentions curling capabilities but I'm not sure what the other 2 things are because for me it really just lengthens. I'm looking in the mirror and I don't really notice my lashes being any more curled than normal (and I normally don't use my eyelash curler ever cause I'm a REBEL). It also claims to be eye-opening; the Smashbox employee girl said it has teeny teeny sparkles that suggest a brighter eye and Ulta says PATENTED BLUE PRISM TECHNOLOGY (FANCY WORDS)! Honestly, I don't notice any magical happenings with this mascara that make my eyes appear brighter but I will say that it comes with a good brush with natural bristles and has a decent formula. I can get two coats on cleanly. It dries decently quickly and I don't get any flaking or smudging throughout the day. Full size is $21 which is on the pricier side but if you're gonna splurge then I would consider this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2014 12:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So I know this mascara doesn't get mentioned a lot to begin with but I saw it at sephora and really liked the type of brush and what it mentioned it would help do.

It says the mascara itself is black but has blue specs to help show off the whites of your eyes making them appear brighter. I would say that it actually did do that somewhat. Not trying to toot my own horn, but my eyes are one of my better features on my face already kind of bright on their own, so I'm not sure if that means this will do what it says with all different eye types. I thought the formula was pretty good as well, not too dry/flaky and wasn't to runny. And it did have a medium regular size applicator brush that I prefer over all the fancies ones out there now. (packaging also sleek just a nice black tube then blue lining when you open it) It does do a decent job also at thickening and some length, no spider effect, phew. Not too hard to get off at night either.

Now to the bad..and why I had to actual return it :( sadly although I thought the formula was not very runny, I noticed I was having black under my eyes half way through the day. One night I was out with some friends I came back and had thick black line under my eyes! (I usually apply only a normal amount of mascara so I know its not applying thats the issue.) I was hoping maybe it was some eye liner that I had used or something else; but sadly one day I knew since I had no eyeliner or anything else with it, that it was the mascara. So for that fact alone and it being $20 I knew I couldn't keep it if I couldnt wear it throughout the day!

Guess if it doesn't for you it'll be good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2014 10:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got this in my mascara sampler kit. All the other smashbox mascaras I've tried before seem to bother my eyes and this one was no exception (I don't even wear contacts). I found it would just flake and irritate my eyes about 6 or 7 hours into the day. The brush was also mediocre - nothing special. Not sure what's supposed to be "eye brightening" about it, but I will not be redeeming my sampler coupon for this one!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2014 3:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my HG mascara. I first tried it as a sample in the SDM Sample Box, and fell in love with it. Sorry Hubby ;) Seriously though, it really is fantastic. It gives great length, very impressive volume, it doesn't smudge clump or smear. It really brightens the eyes as well. I only wish it didn't cost so much, but it is worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2014 7:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Nice formula. Smooth and even application. After the 1st coat - lovely length...After the 2nd coat - volume built up in a very clean NON clumpy manner. I really like this mascara. It was part of the SDM Sampler (Canadian's know what Shoppers Drug Mart is) and I would def re-purchase this mascara in full size. It makes my eyelashes looks so long, full yet healthy (if that makes any sense), clean like. It also curls my lashes and I do not need my curler (which I don't always use everyday anyways, depending on the mascara). Oh and I like how it feels light on the eyelids like I'm not even wearing mascara yet when I look in the mirror I have a full set of long and plush lashes. It's a really beautiful mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2014 1:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

I got a deluxe size of this mascara with the smashbox wondervision palette.
The only thing I enjoyed about this mascara unfortunately was that it holds a curl and that it doesn't smudge or flake.
The formula was so dry I took a long time to layer enough mascara onto my eyelashes. Additionally the mascara did not provide me with enough volume or length. It just made my eyelashes look blacker and held the curl I used with my eyelash curler.
I have Asian lashes so this may be a factor...but overall I would not recommend this to anyone nor would I repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Smashbox Products

image

Brow tech

359 reviews
Back to Top