Trish McEvoy Blackberry and Vanilla Musk #9 EDP

4.1

167 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/26/2014 6:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I wanted to love this based on the rave reviews, cult- like following, and opinions that this was much better than "falling in love" by Philosophy. I love anything with blackberry and vanilla as well. I convinced my husband to order it for me by promising a months worth of back rubs and I couldn't wait to get it. Unfortunately this was NOT better than my beloved FIL. In fact, I didn't like it at all. It didn't smell sexy, soft, and feminine as others had described it but rather unpleasantly spicy and masculine on me. Could be my chemistry as I liked the smell in the bottle. The only good thing in this case was that this scent didnt last more than 2 hours on me. For $90 for a perfume it better be the best scent ever made and last all day. Back it goes and with my money I'll be able to order 2 bottles of FIL. My husband says I still owe him the back rubs though lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/21/2014 9:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I want to firstly say that I love this fragrance. I have bought the 3.3 oz. bottle twice, I have the body cream and the rollerball. It makes me happy; I love smelling it on myself.
Now with that said, although I do love it, I will not be purchasing again. Why you ask? Because too many times has someone said "why does it smell like a Christmas tree?" while they've been around me. And I know it's me because deep down, it does smell like... pine? A mix of pine and berries that evokes a winter evening... I don't know. It's a lovely, warm, inviting smell, but not for a perfume. It's embarrassing. I might purchase the rollerball now and again for my personal enjoyment but I refuse to wear this in public after my current bottle runs out. I also really enjoy the Sexy 9 fragrance, maybe that one will replace this one. We shall see.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2014 1:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have worn this fragrance for several years, and I still love it. To me, it is the perfect blend of vanilla, blackberry, and musk. I don't feel like a 14 year old with a candy coating; and I also don't feel like an old hippie wearing too much vanilla and musk. The combination of scents is just right - it's a classy and easy-to-wear fragrance. I'm surprised by the reviewers saying this has no lasting power. On me, it lasts all day, and is one of the rare fragrances that I can tolerate smelling all day without getting sick of it. It will always be part of my fragrance collection.


on 12/14/2013 10:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This right here MUA, is my HG fragrance. This is the one fragrance I have never gotten tired of. I purchased the 3.3 limited edition size and it was well worth the money. The quality of this fragrance is much better than Philosophy. I prefer this fragrance to Sexy. I will repurchase.


on 9/21/2013 3:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love, love love! Sweet yet refreshing, but needs to last longer. I go with the volleyball.


on 6/3/2013 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have to say... this is a very lovely scent. But i'm not rating the scent based on how well i like it. It's the kind of balance of sweet and somewhat fruity (tart blackberry) that i love in fragrances. I don't care that this is for females(i'm male), i love it and will wear it, it's really nice for winter ! when you'll be warm indoors.
I have gripes about this though, the packaging for the largest size is awkward. It's insanely expensive at 85$ for the full size, and it has little to no staying power, after 4 hours i can barely smell sweetness if i dig my nose into my wrist. I expect a more pricey designer fragrance to stay more.
Several dupes are out there but this is a unique fragrance in that the dupes are close...but not quite exact to the original. (i personally suspect the fragrance creators purposefully made the fragrance non-lasting so they could call their formula "unique" so people would buy it more )
Philosophy's Falling In Love is a close dupe for this but not 100% exact, maybe 95%? unconditional love is similar but sweeter

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2013 2:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm really sad that I have to write this review. I absolutely adore the scent - it's pretty and sweet without being cheap. I wanted to love it and keep it forever... but it gave me a pretty severe allergic reaction on my skin.


Please note that I don't have sensitive skin and I'm not really allergic to anything, so this came as quite a surprise. I like to spray perfume on my pulse points, like my wrists and neck. When I spray this perfume on my skin, it makes me look bruised in that area! The rash would stay on my skin for a few days, even after I stopped using this. While it didn't physically hurt, it looked so bad everytime I used this perfume, so I had to return it. :(


on 1/15/2013 10:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love love love this perfume SO MUCH but alas the staying power is so terribly weak I can never really bring myself to justify the price of it. Every now and again I am able to win it at a semi affordable price on eBay. I've even tried layering it.... :/ just doesn't last long enough for the high price tag. I'll purchase again just because I love scent but to keep it around longer I only use it as 'night out' perfume.


on 12/24/2012 3:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The smell is very much like Falling in Love by Philosophy yet this one stays on longer. I love the scent and it is pretty and light for the summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2012 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

No.9 is a relatively natural-smelling blackberry, It is not artificial, nor too candied, and has a green "blackberry bramble" type of scent. However, lasting power is pretty weak. On me, it lasts... maybe 2-3 hours? However, there is a pleasant, barely detectable drydown of clean musk after the scent fades. Regardless, I do need to reapply periodically.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
No.5
No.5
943 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top