October 30, 2014 | 805 users online

Mascara - em cosmetics - Lash Gallery Lengthening Mascara



image 0image 1

rated 2.9(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 40% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2014 1:35:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I received this in my Ipsy bag a couple of months back and I AM IN LOVE. I'm not a fan of Michelle Phan's videos and I don't think her skills are anything special so when I when I received this I really wanted to hate but I can't. This mascara is holy grail for me.

I already have dark, relatively full lashes that are curly on their own. I know, lucky me. What I do have problems with though is finding something that really gives me great length and definition without smudging (I have extremely deep set eyes), clumping, or making the tips of my lashes look like spider legs from all the cheap fibers. Because of this I had given up on lenghthening mascaras and stuck to waterproof volumizing formulas to give my lashes a boost.

This mascara really delivers. From the very first use I was blown away. This added crazy amounts of length to my lashes while still looking very natural. No smudging, no clumping, no spidery looking tips. I also love how well it layers. One coat makes my lashes look a little longer and defines, two coats and they're very long and defined, three coats and I look like I'm wearing an amazing pair of falsies... and still not hint of clumping, smudging or spidery tips.

The staying power is fantastic. This does not come off unless you try to remove it. My lashes look the same at 11 pm as they did at 6 am when I put it on.

The applicator it really nice. It's pretty wide and has a nice curve it so I can get it very close to the base of my lashes and work my way up. I found holding the applicator at different angles changed how the product went on. Some angles gave more volume while others were great for adding length to the tips so I love the applicator. It gives me lots of control.

Because of the formula I can only see three drawbacks which may or may not be an issue for you if you're considering this mascara (and I think you should :) )
.
1. While this isn't "waterproof' it doesn't behave or come off like any mascara I've used before. I'm not sure how to describe it except that it basically turns into a sealed, glossy, rubber-like coating on your lashes. I know that sounds horrible and heavy but it's not at all. My usual makeup remover (Almay pads for waterproof mascara) do almost nothing to break this down. I have to use water. Once wet it starts to comes off in balls or flakes on my cotton pad so I usually wash my face first and then remove the mascara. It's not difficult to remove, just different.

2. Because of the finish I do occasionally notice flaking. Not major flaking but if I use 3 or more coats (3 is my norm) I'll usually experience a tiny bit of flaking by mid-day. No big deal though. This doesn't smudge so I can literally just wipe them away with my finger or a tissue and be on my way.

3. Because my lashes are naurally thick and dark I can't attest for how well this would work for other lash types. If you have thin or sparse lashes you might not be satisfied with the volume this delivers but this is a lengthening mascara not a volumizing mascara. I also can't attest to how well this holds a curl because I rarely curl my lashes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/18/2014 1:26:00 PM More reviews by Drinabambina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got this in my ipsy glam bag and I love it I have purchased it several times and this is great if you want to add volume to false lashes

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/18/2014 3:04:00 AM More reviews by Bittersweet43

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was really excited to try this because I have been watching her videos for so long. My friend gave it to me for free so I can't complain about the price at all (though i've seen her prices are not cheap by any means.)
It did a good job at separating the lashes. It did not clump.
But other than that I didn't like it. I tried 3 coats and it did nothing for me. I have very sparse thin small lashes so I need something really heavy duty for anything to happen.
Maybe people with already nice long lucious lashes will enjoy this more than I did. :(
I will never buy this. I will likely never use it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/4/2014 9:53:00 PM More reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I received this in my ipsy bag. It makes my lashes long and dark. It does not add volume, but it doesn't claim to. It never clumps, smudges or flakes, even when I take a nap with it on. It removes easily with cream makeup remover. I bought two tubes of this when my ipsy sample ran out. I got 40% off and free shipping. The regular price is $20 a tube, and I won't pay that much for mascara. As long as I can get this on sale, I will continue to repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/9/2013 8:52:00 PM More reviews by malibu64

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I received this mascara in my Ipsy bag. I'm honestly surprised at how many people hate this mascara. I love it! It's my second favorite mascara ever. Why? Because this mascara DOES NOT SMUDGE. I apply it at 7am and if I don't wash it off and wake up with it the next morning, it still looks EXACTLY THE SAME. Absolutely ZERO under eye smudging. The final look of this mascara doesn't make it stand out from the crowd. The black tone is quite soft, and it makes your lashes look quite soft. Separates beautifully and I have had NO clumping issues. More than two coats will cause it to look spider-y. Does not add volume but adds decent length. This mascara washes off best with soap and water. It doesn't like my oil-based waterproof eye makeup remover. At $20, it's unlikely that I'll buy again unless there's a good sale. Overall I think it's a great product.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/29/2013 5:43:00 PM More reviews by beautifullycurly

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This mascara was horrible. I received it in my Ipsy bag. It made my lashes clump up, didn't add much length, and barely added any volume. It is a complete waste of money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 11/22/2013 7:06:00 PM More reviews by Kica

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I rec'd a full size of this in my Ipsy bag. I measure all lengthening mascaras against my HG They're Real mascara. This one just doesn't measure up at all. I didn't get nearly the length after 2-3 coats that I get with TR.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 11/18/2013 8:30:00 PM More reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This added no visible length to my lashes, only slightly darkened them. What it did do - was make my lashes feel heavy, waxy and the fibers clumped all over even after I brushed this out. I noticed if you brush out your lashes with this mascara on, it tends to rip out a lot of eyelashes because of the sticky and tacky fibers. After an hour, many of my lashes were just stuck together - it looked like Lydia's bangs from Beetlejuice.

I also find this difficult to remove. I used plain mineral oil & then washed with my normal facial cleanser and it sort of came off, but my eyes still felt itchy. When I rubbed them more flakes appeared under my eyes, then I went back to wash my face and my lashes somehow still felt sticky.

For this amount of money you are better off going to Sephora and getting something decent, actually even the cheap $3 mascara I used from e.l.f works way better. Such a rip off for the cheap junk quality.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/18/2013 7:33:00 PM More reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I got this in my Ipsy subscription and it really did lengthen my lashes, almost too much! Unfortunately, it added NO volume, but it didn't claim to. I did like the formula because it was drier and not clumpy, but it has strange fibers in it which probably help to elongate the lashes. When I washed it off I just used my soap and water and little tubes came off each lash. It removed much more completely and easily than my other mascaras. I wouldn't repurchase because it's just too expensive for what it is.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/18/2013 6:37:00 PM More reviews by Mford11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this in my November Ipsy bag.....and i'm so glad i got it here instead of actually buying it ($20). The wand is a curved tip, with really short clumpy bristles. It did nothing to lenghten my lashes, and I basically saw no difference in my lashes other than darkening them a bit. Later, when I tried to remove it with wipes and cold cream, it would not come off. When I took a shower it clumped off in chunks with just water. There are so many better mascaras out there.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No