Origins Smarty Plants CC SPF 20

4.0

10 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Octinoxate 7.5, Octisalate 4, Oxybenzone 3.5. Inactive: Water\Aqua\Eau, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Silica, Phenyl Trimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, Polyglyceryl-10 Pentastearate, Pentylene Glycol, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Cinnamomum Camphora (Camphor) Bark Oil, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Magnolia Acuminata Flower Extract, Iris Pallida Root Extract, Rosa Damascena Extract, Citral, Linalool, Limonene, Algae Extract, Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Sapindus Mukurossi Fruit Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Thermus Thermophillus Ferment, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Seed Extract, Salicylic Acid, Cholesterol, Sucrose, Caffeine, Arginine, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Glycerin, Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Isopropyl Myristate, Lecithin, Polyquaternium-51, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Squalane, Sodium PCA, Urea, Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Galactoarabinan, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Citric Acid, Phospholipids, Trehalose, Xanthan Gum, Ascorbyl Tocopheryl Maleate, Disodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol. [ /- ]Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica.


on 7/26/2015 1:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really regret buying this. The sales associate made it sound so great, but it's been disappointing in several ways.

PROS:

SPF 20

Tube packaging

Does not feel as greasy as some tinted sunscreens

CONS:

The bergamot and citrus oils in this are so overpowering. It smells like I'm spraying Jo Malone cologne directly onto my face, and while I like Jo Malone, I wouldn't apply it to my face. Fragrance can be irritating to sensitive skin, and I have occasionally experienced some tingling and itching from this. It's not the worst SPF I've tried, but it's not the best.

There are two colors and I'm not fond of either of them. The medium/deep color which I thought would be a subtle bronze is very orange, so I ended up buying the light/medium shade which is pink and shiny. This means I have to apply foundation over it, whereas some tinted moisturizers and BB creams look good enough to wear alone. If anything Smarty Plants draws attention to big pores, and it doesn't do a great job of minimizing redness because the lotion itself is quite pink.

While octinoxinate, octisalate, and oxybenzone provide sunscreen, they are not as safe for sensitive skin as mineral sunscreens. I bought this last December and have since switched almost exclusively to mineral SPF products because I'm trying to eliminate irritants from my skin care regimen.

For a brand that markets itself as nature-based, Origins is not a cruelty free cosmetics line, in case you are looking for that. It is a branch in the Estee Lauder family tree. So is MAC, but MAC's logo isn't a tree and it doesn't have a lot of "nature" hype in its advertising. I don't always buy vegan products and I'm not vegan. However, when a company tests on animals, it seems a bit hypocritical to promote themselves as eco-friendly, which Origins has implied in their sales materials. And they're using just as many chemicals in their formulas as there are plant extracts. This is just an advertising tactic.

I find the name "Smarty Plants" annoying.

I do like the concealer in this cosmetics line, but I will never buy this sunscreen again.



on 6/5/2015 10:16:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this in a Birchbox sample and really like it. I usually use LM TM and I love that, but this is really nice for a lighter day when you don't want the slightly heavier look of tinted moisturizer. This gives me a nice glow, not tons of coverage but makes the overall quality of my skin look much better while looking as though i am wearing NO makeup.

Definitely will buy.


on 5/5/2015 5:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got a really generous sample of this after receiving a free facial at Origins and despite how much I like the idea of tint + moisturizer + SPF I'm sad to say that the color does have some shimmer to it and I'm not into that unless I was a dancer in a Beyonce video. It looks like I'm wearing foundation no matter how much I tried to wear very little of it and work it in. It also gave me some small comedonal acne on my forehead that nobody noticed except for me of course.
I don't mind the price but for that much they should not test on animals; leave that for important things like cancer research.
AND the Deep Skin Database gave it a high hazard rating. Perhaps next CC cream I will try will come from either Yes to Carrots or Physician's Formula.
On top of that I went the extra mile by applying my usual powder and I ended up with an orange face.
I don't mind the price but for that much they should not test on animals; leave that for important things like cancer research.
AND the Deep Skin Database gave it a high hazard rating. Perhaps next CC cream I will try will come from either Yes to Carrots or Physician's Formula.
I'm sure this is a great product for somebody else. Good smell though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 3:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have an oily t-zone and I find that most bb creams, cc creams and tinted moisturisers make my skin very greasy. Smarty plants is the only one I've found that doesn't make my skin super oily. It does make my skin more oily though, which makes it more ideal for me to use in the winter. I often mix it with my moisturiser before applying though. I have the lightest shade and it sinks into my skin nicely and evens out my skin tone. It gives me minimum coverage, which I like, and I use face power on top. The packaging is sleek, which makes it easy for me to take on trips. However, it does have a very strong scent. If it controlled shine, I'd give it five lippies.


on 12/24/2014 1:01:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my new HG tinted moisturizer. It is very light and non-greasy, adds moisture and makes my skin look radiant, but nobody would ever guess that I have anything on my face. The med-light formula works perfectly on my NC20 skintone. Sunblock ingredients often causes a burning sensation for me, but this doesn't at all, and it has an SPF of 20. I'm not sure if it will actually improve my skin like a treatment, but I wear it for protection and subtle coverage, and am thrilled with it for that purpose. For comparison, I also love Laura Mercier's TM, which is different-thicker and heavier coverage, less moisturizing, and much more like foundation. I cannot goop the LM on for extra SPF or it will look cakey. Smarty Plants is more natural looking. I can put on a lot of it when I know I'll be out in the sun, without the worry that it will look gobbed on. Since I can't apply the LM generously, I always worry that I don't have enough on to give me a true SPF 20.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2014 12:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is not bad! My face looks healthy, even, glowy. Not a lot of coverage but that is to be expected. It smells great, like many origins products. It is light & not hard to blend.


I wouldn't say it's a true CC cream. More like a tinted moisturizer.

I had a sample but I'd definitely wouldn't mind trying it again.


on 8/15/2014 1:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample, which includes the light to medium and the medium to dark.

Color: I'm Asian, and typically fair skinned, so my undertones tend to be yellow-ish. However right now I'm tan, so the light to medium was too light and the medium to dark was too dark. Mixed together, the color was o.k, but I wouldn't purchase the product if I had to buy two to mix together. Also, I could tell that the light to medium wouldn't even suit my fair skin in the winter because it's too pink toned. The medium to dark can kind of come off orange-ish as well, so unless this matches your skin tone perfectly, you have to be careful and watch out for streakiness.

Texture: I really liked the texture of this cream as it is light for a CC cream and therefore doesn't feel too heavy on your face like a foundation. However, this does mean that you sacrifice coverage, so it's a give and take. I didn't find it greasy, and after my skin absorbed it, my skin feels pretty smooth. As a bonus, it smells awesome! I love SPF products that have that citrus-y smell.

Does it do what it says it will: As I only got a sample, it's hard to tell. I did not think that it instantly color corrected my skin. To me, this product worked more as a tinted moisturizer than a CC cream. However, its promises to neutralize things that cause skin damage over time therefore make you look younger might be worthwhile to try the product over a longer run.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Other

I have tried all types of CC creams, this one is the only one that had the right shade for me (light-medium) and didn't dry out my skin or enhance fine lines. It goes on smoothly, doesn't blotch, isn't shiny, greasy or chalky. Has a nice SPF. I use it daily when I leave the house. If your looking for something that covers skin problems, this isn't for you. If you just want to look refreshed and not made up-then this is what your looking for. I use regular foundation when I go out socially.


on 2/27/2014 1:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this after trying the tester and comparing it to the Smashbox CC cream. Origins Smarty Plants is very lightweight and provides sheer coverage, which I preferred to the heavy texture of the other sample. It is very subtle and corrected my uneven skin tone, but any blemishes are still visible. Goes on easy and is buildable for more coverage. I love the SPF and my sensitive skin has not had any negative reaction to it so far. Perfect starter as my first CC cream, and I would highly recommend it for use on 'no makeup' days.


on 9/10/2013 8:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my first CC cream, so I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. I have it in the Light/Medium shade, which works very well for my very fair skin and adds a bit of tint. The coverage is very light, almost sheer. From that perspective it is very comparable to some sheer tinted moisturizers. It gives me a natural finish, without being oily or shiny. It has SPF 20, which is a bit low for me, so I use sunscreen underneath it. It has a smell reminiscent of GinZing, but it is not strong and disappears in a few minutes. It claims to contain antioxidants that protect the skin from environmental damage.

What I like about this product is that it allows me to skip a step (i.e., I can put on the sunscreen and the cream and go out). This is important to me during the summer months, because my face does not feel like it's melting. A good tinted moisturizer does the same. I can't speak about how well the antioxidants work as this is difficult to judge.

In summary, to me this is a tinted moisturizer with a few added benefits. The price is pretty comparable to similar products. I may repurchase for use during summer months.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top