September 19, 2014 | 1166 users online

Liquid - Bobbi Brown - Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation



image 0

rated 3.2(6 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 33% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/28/2014 8:32:00 AM More reviews by Mimix

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I rarely wear foundation - mostly because I don't need it, and also because I have dry skin and prefer to let it breathe. On the occasions when I fancy a more "pulled-together" look it's good to know there are gentle, non-drying founfations out there (well, not a lot to choose from). Shades are also a big issue so when I first discovered this foundation in the previous formula I was pleased to find an exceptionally good match (warm sand, 2.5).
I was intrigued when the new formula came out. It sounded like an improvement and as a matter of fact it was. Smooth and even application, the skin feels moisturised and stays so. Light and invisible and with a subtle but definitely-there glow that seems to come from beneath the skin.
Yes, the shades are all off-scale. Warm sand: way too yellow and dark (on me). Sand: the yellow showed on my face like egg yolk (OK, not quite). No point in even trying warm ivory (even more intense). How much lower could I go? At another counter the MUA put porcelain on me (porcelain, what??). To my great surprise it blended well and for a while I thought it was that or nothing. I was able to test this shade further with a sample. After a few days I knew it wasn't right - this time because there wasn't enough yellow and this shade of porcelain simply washed me out, despite being about the right intensity. I was very close to giving up when an imaginative person suggested I tried cool beige (3.25), another oddity I had brushed aside before, but this time I put it all over my face and, against all my expectations and logic, it was the best colour match for my light-medium neutral skin leaning towards yellow/olive. Seriously, it's (nearly) like my skin in a bottle, colour-wise. So if like me you were warm sand or even beige in the previous formula and porcelain doesn't work for you, do give cool beige a try, you might be pleasantly surprised. I think the new cool beige is the only light-medium shade that is not too yellow (so in comparison to the other ones it is "cool" - but not quite as cool as the original cool beige, so that makes it neutral I suppose). I hope this helps!
I wasn't happy about the shades not being the same as in the previous formula, but in the process they've created my perfect shade!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/13/2014 1:24:00 AM More reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Pros:
- Decent coverage
- Dewy, natural finish
- Practical pump packaging
Cons:
- Colors are "off", going on much darker, which is particularly an issue with light, cool skin tones like mine. With BB, I am usually Porcelain, (MAC NW10/15 for reference) which in this formulation is way too dark and orangey, but even Alabaster is too yellow, plus it oxidized and darkened within a short time after application. So for my complexion, there is no way to make this product work in its current form.
- High cost $52
- Strong smell
Overall: I really like the finish and packaging - and I gave two lippies for those two categories - Once the shade "bugs" are ironed out this should be a lovely product for drier skins. Hopefully the lavender fragrance will be eliminated.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/12/2014 3:45:00 PM More reviews by mieka

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This foundation has such potential. It does run very dark and you either need to try it in person or go at least a shade or 2 lighter than normal. The problem is the lavender fragrance. It is so strong that it actually burns my eyes - and i'm not putting it in my orbital area at all. Minus the fragrance and with the right color match, this would be lovely. But due to the fragrance, I can't recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/24/2013 8:35:00 AM More reviews by lyndsay83

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I decided to buy this after finishing Bobbi's BB cream and extra repair foundation. I had a harder time color matching since it felt like the product oxidized and turned darker on me after a few minutes. I have dry skin and was looking for a luminous look that this did not give me. I got clogged pores on my chin and cheeks after a week of use. I ended up returning the product back. I was quite disappointed this didn't work for me as this is a treatment product with peptides and other benefits

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/27/2013 1:27:00 PM More reviews by CStuartMonteith

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Having read that the colors are a lot darker than the other BB foundations, I got two samples, sand and porcelain. I am normally warm sand. The sand one turned a deeper color after 5 minutes; the look and texture was ok as I put the Revlon primer underneath. The next day I tried porcelain, this time without the primer but with my usual moisturizer. My face became very shiny, as if I had dipped it in oil. I thought it might get a bit drier later, but it did not. Also, the color was wrong: it is light enough but instead of being yellow based, it has a pinkish ashy tone to it. My skin is dry, so I don't understand why the shine should happen. As for the color, if you were paler than sand, forget about this foundation. The lightest one, alabaster, might not be pale enough for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2013 2:43:00 AM More reviews by Brandjunkie

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The jury is out! I am officially in love with Bobbi's latest foundation that has replaced the original Luminous Moisturizing one and is currently a Nordstrom exclusive. I have been on the hunt for a new HG liquid foundation after my beloved Shu Uemura Face Architect Smoothing Foundation was discontinued. I came to love Shiseido's Radiant Lifting which was also discontinued. I'm sure you can imagine my frustration but I guess I had it coming since Japanese companies tend to keep updating their products on a regular basis. I finally went back to my old standby from years past, the now discontinued Luminous foundation because I loved the color match (Warm Beige) and the hydrating feel on my skin. What can I say, Bobbi Brown's foundation colors are perfect for my warm NC25ish skin tone. The main problem that I had with that one was that I tended to have to blot my oily T-zone very often throughout the day. Now with this new Luminous Treatment one, I don't have to blot nearly as often and the finish is fabulous! The texture is completely different from the old one where it feels lighter and applies more toward a light to medium finish as opposed to the heavier buildable coverage from the old one. It gives me a truly a "lit-from-within glow" long lasting finish where my skin looks like velvet all day. While I still need to use concealer on my hyperpigmentation spots, it really does minimize my pores. My hairstylist, whom I can always count on to tell me the truth and can see me up close, commented on how beautiful my skin looked and the color match was the best she's seen on me in a while (granted the YSL Touche Eclat B40 she last saw me in totally oxidized to the wrong shade.)

Other Pros:

- comes with a pump where a little comes out at a time (I love that!) and I can control the amount I want even if it's just a drop
- rectangular palm sized small glass bottle that's easy to shake (I'm looking at you YSL)
- I only have to set with my BB sheer powder on my T-zone and leave the rest of my face so that the luminosity shows.
- it applies well with my Beauty Blender sponge, fingers or foundation brush
- it doesn't have SPF in it - (I like to apply the recommended 1/4 tsp. of sunscreen for effective protection with the ingredients of my choice; plus, there's times like night events where I don't need sunscreen and don't want to be photographed with sunscreen on.)
-no oxidation after it sets
-no break outs =D

Cons:

- $52, but then all new "revolutionary" dept store foundations seem to be around this price
- it still has the Lavender scent which may be a skin irritant for some although it is slightly lower in the list of ingredients
- runs warmer- since the silver pigment was taken out- so the fairest of the fair may not find a color match (I ended up with Sand!!! which is 1-1/2 shades lighter - so be sure to get matched at the counter if you can)

Bottom Line: Love, Love, Love!

Edit: 9/5/13*** Just logged onto Bobbi's website and noticed that it's available online now so if you can't get matched in person, definitely upload a photo of yourself and chat with the makeup artists online because they're really good. I am really surprised that it's described as full coverage since I have yet to see that on myself, but maybe ymmv.

****************************************************

Edit: 9/6/13*** Ok, I stand corrected. I used the Boots No7 foundation brush to apply the foundation this morning and was able to build up the coverage in layers. I prefer my fingers and the Beauty Blender for a lighter coverage though.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No