Essie for the twill of it

4.6

16 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/9/2015 1:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of my favorite fall/winter polishes!

PROS:
-color is a beautiful duo chrome purple/green/brown
-easy to apply, not streaky at all
-long wearing
-dries quickly

CONS:
-can chip, it's not life proof, but most nail polishes aren't



on 1/27/2015 2:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very pretty color. The application isn't too bad. It's a bit thin. I need three coats to make it completely opaque. Chipping isn't bad. It lasts about four days.


on 7/9/2014 5:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

- super cool colour, holographic
- nice shaped brush
- one coat is enough

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2014 12:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Overall, Essie is NOT my favorite brand of nail polish. I have had horrible luck with most Essie polishes; they have been either too difficult to apply, or they are streaky, they bubble, or they drag. There are really only 2 that I liked (Made to Honor and Shine of the Times), until this one. "For the Twill of It" is one, exceptional nail polish! It caught my eye a couple of times on display in several places, and I finally caved and bought it. I am so glad I did! I wore this for 8 days without even the slightest chip or tip wear! I couldn't believe it! And the color just made me fall in love! In one light in was a beautiful, sparkling, sage green. If I turned my hand, it was a frosty steel gray. In other lighting, it looked like a satiny, silvered-plum color. Now THIS is a polish that I got many compliments on! So beautiful! I wish I took a picture to share, because I also added a white, glittery topcoat with mixed glitter pieces (bar, hexagonal, and tiny circles) only to the cuticle area (opposite end of the nail tips), and my nails looked like they were sporting a snowy scene on a cold, wintry day. I know "For the Twill of It" is similar to OPI's "Peace, Love, and OPI" and another polish by Julep (forgot the name), but I would definitely recommend this one because it is one Essie polish that proved to be worth every dollar I paid for it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2013 6:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this polish. The colour is unique, the lasting power is pretty good (under the Essie Good to go topcoat) lasted about a week. It is spring here, and it is part of the fall collection, but I just had to try it on and it looked great. I often catch myself looking at it under different lighting and see what colour it looks under what sort of light. It reminds me of oil rainbows in the puddles. Lovely, edgy, unique.


on 10/13/2013 12:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

For the Twill of It is a pretty gray/purple metallic duochrome that was released for fall 2013 in the For the Twill of It collection. This polish is gorgeous. It is gray and then when the light changes it turns plum colored or even a teal blue-green. The formula on this is really nice and it glides on smoothly and evenly and is almost opaque in once coat. I used 2 because I always use 2 coats. This has a little shimmer in it as well and this is a really pretty polish. It reminds me of an oil slick where you can see the rainbows in it as the light is reflected. This is a dupe for OPI's Peace & Love & OPI. This has a slight bit more shimmer but the colors are dead on and I have them side by side and they are identical. You won't need both. Also very close is Essence Chic reloaded. The Essence is a shade darker but if you have one you really don't need the other. Same with Gray's Anatomy by Wet n' Wild - it's a few shades lighter so not a dead on dupe, but if you layer it over a gray base first then you can get it close enough that if you have one you really don't need the other.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2013 10:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm very particular about buying Essie polishes as they are either fantiastic, or horrible. So I did a little research on this color and was convinced. That being said, I probably would have bough it regardless just because the color is incredible. I made the mistake of applying it in my dimly lit bedroom and thought the color looked flat. But as soon as I was out in brighter light, the mulitdimension nature of this polish really came through. Nails shine green or purple depending on the angle lighting. I found myself mesmerized by them all day during my classes. The application process is fantastic. Two coats= full opacity. This first coat looks pretty streaky and I thought I would need mutiple coats afterwards to correct it. But two thin coats does the trick. It also lasts fairly well too. I find it doesn't peel as badly as some of my other Essie polishes. Overall I"m really satisfied with this product and I have no doubt it will become part of the permanent collection or re-releaed as part of another.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2013 10:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am recently new to Essie and usually stuck with OPI and Orly for the most part. I am in love with this color. It is a very unique color (which I always look for) and changes depending on the light and angle.

Twill is described as an iridescent maple and I would say it's more of an iridescent grey-green-plum? OPI has a similar shade for their fall collection called Peace and Love. I don't own the OPI one, I went with Essie for a change.


The wear has been great, 4 days now with no chipping. It was easy to apply and dried quickly. In some light it looks green and sometimes steel. I would definitely buy this again and hope they keep this in the line after Fall.


on 9/23/2013 4:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

When I first saw all the new fall 2013 colors from Essie I was most drawn to this but I wasn't sure how much I would love it so I didn't buy the full size bottle but I did buy the Essie fall 2013 mini set collection.Which gave me the chance to still try For The Twill Of It and at the same time try a few others in the new fall collection.

So yes I really do enjoy this color because For The Twill Of It is a very interesting color to have in your polish collection. It is very much like having three colors in one depending on the light it will shift and sometimes I can see half green and half purple which looks so cool!. From a distance it appears like a dark gray and looks much better up close. Due to the color I wouldn't wear this during any other season except autumn.

Even though I have the mini bottle I found it really easy to paint with but I didn't like the formula. A few of my nails dried with tiny bubbles which always happens when I use Essie even though I applied very thin coats.

I skipped a base coat and applied two thin coats of polish then finished with China Glaze first & last for the top coat. Three days later and no chips are there! Which is really great because I have been pretty tough on my nails the last few days and have been thinking the polish would chip any second now... but no chips yet!

I don't think I love it enough to buy the full size bottle since the formula is not good to me but I will add some thinner into the polish and try it again in a couple of weeks to see if the bubbles can be prevented. I never get bubbles with any of my other polishes. If bubbles happen again then I will buy a similar color from Zoya or OPI.


on 9/15/2013 11:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this for $5.99 at Winners, I love this colour! The formula is amazing and the colour is so unique, I've gotten so many complements on it!


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
130 Reviews
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
345 Reviews
Nail Polish
212 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

52 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
Back to Top