Marc Jacobs Lash Lifter - Gel Volume Mascara in Blacquer

2.9

28 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/29/2015 10:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love the texture and finish of this mascara but its negatives outweigh the positives for me. It is not volumizing and it flakes quite a bit after only a few hours. It does not clump easily which is nice but since there is no fullness, it sort of makes my lashes appear thin and stark. If the flaking bit were minimized I could be pleased with this for use as a "natural" look day mascara but that flaking is just a killer for me.



on 6/7/2015 10:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This mascara is pretty natural, volumizing and defining without really lengthening or curling too much. The texture is creamy but not clumpy and does not flake easily. While I do like this mascara, I definitely do not think this is the most impressive mascara on the market and the Marc Jacobs brand comes with a high price tag. This was nice to try, but I would not repurchase.

Update 08/26/2015: After having used this mascara for a while, I would rate it a 4 out of 5 stars, because I have managed to make this formula work for me. You can get fairly dramatic eyes with this. I wish the formula were a bit more natural, but I find that I like the performance of this product sufficiently to repurchase.


on 5/19/2015 8:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a 500-point bonus pack from Sephora. One word to describe it: yuck! Didn't hold a curl. It smudged. Disappeared by the end of the day. Wouldn't even consider buying a full-sized tube.


on 4/18/2015 2:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this as part of a set from sephora and I do enjoy it

it gives me a glossy well-defined mildly volumizing look very quickly

keeps a curl well

looks good at the end of the day

CONS

- can't be built
-hard to use lash comb after applying
-when you wash it off, it breaks down into flakey chunks and its gross to work with.

I like this- it produces a nice effect quickly

but I wouldn't buy it because its so expensive and I have affordable mascaras that give me results I'm happy with. It is not bad though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara is horrible. I got it in the summer stash at Sephora. Worst one Ive ever tried. The formula is sooo weird and gross. It makes your lashes stick together and look really bad. Don't buy.


on 3/7/2015 10:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Got a sample of this from Sephora. There was still some left when I threw it away after 3 months, that's with daily (one coat) use. I won't be purchasing a full size however. It's a very 'wet' formula so easy to work with, makes very natural looking lashes and didn't cause any irritation to my super sensitive eyes. There's just nothing that special about it to warrant spending $30 on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been absolutely in LOVE with Marc Jacobs beauty products since the Re(Marc)able concealer was recommended to me. I own a few brushes and have tried the foundation several times, though never bought a full sized version. The packaging on MJ products is always so chic and luxurious and are generally one of the more affordable brands available at Sephora. This mascara was interesting to me because it is truly a gel, making the formulation noticeably different than other mascaras. I really enjoyed it during the first week or two of use; I found it light and mousse-y and easy to work with. After those two weeks or so went by, the formula became increasingly thicker and more difficult to work with. As one reviewer mentioned, honey-like. Naturally this lead to clumping and uneven application. I'll say maybe if the brush was different, maybe more of a comb-type of brush instead of the large, lush kind, maybe it would be more easy to work with? Part of me still enjoyed this mascara, even though I did not get the use out of it I hoped for, but definitely try to sample this before purchasing. It's not for everyone!


on 1/6/2015 2:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

To be completely honest, this mascara is pretty terrible. It's got a very sticky, honey like consistency. It made my lashes clump and stick together terribly. It doesn't apply evenly for some reason. after pulling the brush through my lashes, some will have mascara on them and others are still bare. And when I try to add a second coat the mascara just sticks to itself and clumps worse. Needless to say, it is impossible to build volume with this product. It lengthened my lashes a little bit, into thin pointy spikes because they were stuck to each other. Really this product had zero redeeming value to me.


on 11/6/2014 7:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried them all - Christian Dior, YSL, Chanel, MAC, Laura Mercier, Benefit, and the list goes on... BUT THIS. THIS MASCARA is amazing. First of all, I have lashes, but they need volume. This coats the lashes, doesn't look dry, looks completely natural but opens my eyes up like no other. It doesn't clump. It doesn't smear. I don't look like a racoon after wearing it all day. It comes off with eye makeup remover. It has no scent. It's the first mascara that doesn't seem to leave my lashes brittle. I love it and will buy again and again. BRAVO MARC JACOBS!!!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample, and am soo glad I didn't pay for it because this is NOT worth $30 to me, or even half that. The brush is meh, the formula is not as wet as I thought it'd be, rather dry actually, and it did little for volumizing my lashes. Poor performance and poor formula at a high price tag? Sorry Marc, I'll pass on this one. It didn't smudge though, so two stars....you could do worse than this.

Edit: To those who log on to MUA just to write a glowing review on 1 product that the company paid you for, shameeee on you! I hate clicking on someone's name to see that they only wrote one obviously paid for review, ugh!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top