September 1, 2014 | 1994 users online

Primer/ Corrector - L'Oreal - Base Magique Transforming Smoothing Primer



image 0

rated 3.7(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 1.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 6/3/2014 1:53:00 AM More reviews by Diankarl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was skeptical about this product after reading quite a number of Cons. But since it's very affordable, I just purchased one. This is my very first primer. Never used any before. First attempt wasn't very good since I put too much. Then on the next attempt I used less and gave few minutes for my skin to absorb it. Then I applied foundation but only tapping gently instead of rubbing on skin as this caused the primer become lump-like texture (yukk..). Next I put on setting powder and finish with setting spray (I use Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs, and Rosewater). The result was surprising. The makeup stayed longer than usual. I live in Hong Kong where summer is around 30-34 degree and the humidity can reach 99%!!
It covers pores definitely. I have light birthmark on my face, and I usually covered it with thick concealer which made my skin look weird under light or sun. But with this primer, I can just apply foundation to cover my birthmark, and it looks more natural. I have combination skin and this primer leaves very matte finish on the dry area of the skin, so the setting spray helps to moist the matte part to balance the overall "dewiness" level.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/3/2014 2:18:00 PM More reviews by lidyachu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've heard quite a lot about this product but never have any chance to use it until six months ago. I decided to purchase it, and I don't really like it.
I love the texture, it's so buttery and smooth. It glides so easily on my skin, and it covers up all my big pores around cheeks area. It kinda reminds me of Benefit Porefessional. It makes my face looks smoother and nicer.
The downside about the product is, it makes my skin oilier than usual (I have dry combination skin). After few hours of wearing this with my foundation, it feels heavy on my skin. I just couldn't stand it. Maybe it's not the one for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/12/2014 9:35:00 PM More reviews by Sabrinaclarke

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I think it's a really good primer. It holds up my bb cream and foundation, even when I was sweating i was surprise to see my foundation/bb cream did not crease and it looks exactly the same as when I first apply my foundation/bb cream. A little does go a long way with this product a little amount of it can cover my whole face and it makes my face feel so smooth and light like I'm not wearing any makeup. For price I got it for around $12.00 i use a spatula where I got it from a small Japanese store so i don't really have a problem with the packaging except for the size they should have made it a little bit bigger. But overall a great primer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/4/2014 2:07:00 PM More reviews by boyforever

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

careful. breakout is await. horrible product. love it when i wear it. but after tt problem is await huhu. too bad

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/10/2013 6:57:00 AM More reviews by HoloMe

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this primer. I love the way it feels on my skin when applied and I haven't come across any problems using it yet. I don't tend to wear makeup for long periods of time so I can not speak about how it may or may not extend the wear time of your makeup but so far so good.

A small amount does seem to get good coverage and my dry skin feels really nice when I put it on.

I do agree that the jar could be a bit bigger to allow any ladies with longer nails an easier time in getting it out of the jar. Perhaps they could supply a cosmetics spatula with it so that you don't have to worry about potentially contaminating the rest of the product. At least that would be an easy fix.

So, for me this works well and I will definitely be re-purchasing this when needed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/14/2013 4:59:00 AM More reviews by mizzemmixox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I love how this smooths out my pores, but it does clump up if I try to rub it into my skin. I don't think it does much for making make up last longer, and it seems to make me oil up faster. The packaging is also unhygienic. But I just use a cue tip to get it out. Other than these negatives, it does so what it claims to do, which is smoothing out the skin. Also my mum loves it for her large pores. Once this runs out i want to try the more expensive Porefessional

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/11/2013 4:41:00 AM More reviews by Burma76

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This primer does help my makeup last. With a dusting of powder and a fixative spray my makeup lasts 10 hours or so in pretty good condition. For some reason this doesn't seem to work on my eyelids though. The pale pink colour is still visible on my super pale NC15 skin until I put foundation on so you can't wear this alone. Like all other reviewers I hate the jar packaging. Yuck.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/10/2013 12:20:00 AM More reviews by hannahn631

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this primer! I use a really small amount through my t-zone and where I have large pores, and really rub it in well. It works a treat! It helps my foundation last longer and improves the overall appearance of it. The tub isn't very well designed but a spatula overcomes the problem.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/3/2013 10:57:00 AM More reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I hate the tub design, so unhygenic and difficult to use with nails. Prefer if it comes in a tube. Besides that, an overall good base for foundation. Too thick for entire face so i just apply it under my eyes for concealer to go on smoothly and stay in place.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/29/2013 5:28:00 PM More reviews by Shaistalovesmakeup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutely have a love hate relationship with this product. Love the smoothing effect it has on my skin but my god does it really take some effort into making sure that it is well blended into my skin. Packaging wise, i hate the fact that i had to dig into the tiny tub and i had to use a small spatula to scarp the product out due to hygiene purposes. Price wise, i paid $23.90 (sgd) and to me that it quite pricey for a drugstore brand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No