September 19, 2014 | 1866 users online

BB Cream - Ponds - Luminous Finish BB+

rated 3.9(88 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/14/2014 10:36:00 AM More reviews by celina5847

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If you like this product and it's your HG...Buy it Now!! I'm sure this is going to be a discontinued item since I've seen it on clearance in several stores. $2.99 then down to .75CENTS (which I got free because I had a $1.00coupon)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/7/2014 1:53:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

This might be a good "starter" BB cream--it has the thicker texture and glow of the Asian ones and you can pick it up in the drugstore or supermarket. And a lot of people love it, I did too when I first tried it. I liked the finish and it didn't break me out. However--I could not shake the feeling that my face was dirty when I was wearing this, ugh, and it only got worse as the day went on. Lasting power is not great either. I went to the Lioele BB and probably won't look back.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/26/2014 2:48:00 PM More reviews by Beatully

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Finally getting around to writing a review of this product! Initially, I really liked it! This was the first BB that matched my skintone perfectly! People asked me what I was using on my skin! However, there are some downfalls to this product. The coverage is somewhere between light-medium. I would not recommend layering this as it will look cakey. Doesn't hide acne/acne scarring, but will at least dull the appearance of them (You will still need to use concealer if you like full coverage). It will, however, hide redness and even out your skin tone, which is nice! I recommend this to someone with normal-dry skin. I have very oily skin in my T-Zone, and when this stuff says "Luminous Finish" they commit. It starts off matte, but within an hour, my skin began to look very greasy. This product even made my cheeks look oily, and it especially made my nose look absolutely disgusting. If you have oily skin, you will need a very good finishing powder to keep the shininess at bay.

I don't know if this is a common trend with Luminous Finish foundations/bb creams, but this stuff rubbed off like no other. Even touching a tissue to my nose would complete saturate the tissue with product.

I also could not stand the strong smell. Right from the moment you remove the cap, you can smell the product. It has a strong, almost floral smell. As the day goes on, my face wreaks of sunscreen.

I did, however, wear this stuff on vacation and my face was ironically the only part of my body that did not get sunburned. I guess for this summer or a day at the beach, this isn't a bad product to have around.

Another plus, this is one of the first makeup products that did not cause my skin to breakout. So if you're acne prone, this may make a nice base for your makeup, and lessen the amount of products you will have to use to hide spots. It also does not settle into pores or creases, and lasts pretty much the whole day.

All in all, I most likely wont be repurchasing. May have something to do with my new acne prescription, but this BB cream now looks very cakey on me, and doesn't work well with my oily skin. I'd say if you have normal-dry skin and some scarring or redness that could use some covering up, go for it. However, if you have oily skin and have active breakouts to conceal, you may wanna pass on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2014 8:51:00 AM More reviews by imkt

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Edit- Upon closer inspection, I see our formulation in this part if the world is different (better?). My tube, marketed as "Flawless Radiance BB+", is labelled as SPF 30+. The liquid is incredibly thin and easy to work into the skin. And as I mention in my review, the colour 'beige' is phenomenal. That's all. My opinion stands.



I have fine, dry skin, and I find that this works wonders on me. It is incredibly light, yet it provides nice coverage without a makeup-y look or feel. Where I live (southern Africa) this only comes in beige or chocolate, so I am not sure how this compares colour wise to what others have experienced. I have fair olive skin and the beige is wonderful. It is one of the only tm/bb creams I have used with a true yellow undertone (Bobbi Brown has great yellow based shades, but it is unattainable here). And, of course, the price is right. A very good purchase in my opinion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/12/2014 4:34:00 PM More reviews by laurenjill05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got the shades light and medium on clearance at Target. I am really glad I didn't pay full price for these because it is basically just a lightly tinted moisturizer - so don't expect any coverage from this. My skin tone still looked uneven after applying this, and I have clear skin. The medium shade looks pretty dark when you squeeze the tube, but it's so sheer it really doesn't even matter because once spread out it's not even going to show up. If you're looking for a bb cream with coverage - you're better off trying Garnier's or Rimmel's matte bb cream. I would return these but I figured they were so cheap I'll just use them as a moisturizer. They do have a nice rose scent and pretty packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/11/2014 9:32:00 PM More reviews by gwen712

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The best ever, but I'm seeing it clearanced a lot of places. Is it going away? Just my luck.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2014 7:55:00 PM More reviews by doorah

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm happily surprised with this near perfect and affordable BB cream from Ponds. Like many, I spend lots and expect better performance the more I spend. Although I have tried several of the higher end options I reach for my Ponds BB+ cream every single day. I first apply my Estee Lauder Matte perfecter and then the BB cream. It applies and blends like a dream and leaves a soft satin finish. I usually use more "sheer" foundations because medium coverage formulas seem to either accentuate dry areas I didn't even know I had, or settle into fine lines and wrinkles. Which brings me to one of the main reasons I love this product; I get excellent coverage and it looks and feels natural. I am also pleased with the sunscreen capabilities as I've been in the sun longer than I expected (meaning I didn't apply any additional sunscreen as I would had I known....) and although I may have received some redness elsewhere, my face was not affected at all. It lasts all day and into the evening as well, which is really quite remarkable for me. The only drawback I have is there are only two shades. Light and medium. The light is too light for now as it is mid summer, it may or may not work during the winter months, however the medium first appears way too dark from the tube but when I blend it over my skin (with my fingers, nothing else) it seems to melt into my skin and I get that medium to full coverage and the skin tone is very natural. I have cool toned skin which makes most other medium or full coverage foundations appear yellow or orangish on me. I also don't notice any fragrance at all as some others have mentioned, not sure why that is as I have a very sensitive nose! This is seriously one of the best discoveries I've found in a long time. I will definitely repurchase and I won't mind if I need to mix the two shades together for my winter skin, it's worth it to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/5/2014 4:20:00 PM More reviews by hollywoodgirl

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I love this product. I received a sample and liked it so I used ECB at CVS to buy the full size. I start with Monistat Anti Chafe Gel on my cheeks and then apply the BB cream with my fingers. After a minute, I lightly apply Physician's Formula Mineral Wear face powder, using a brush. Then on goes a little powder blush and lip balm. I'm good to go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2014 1:42:00 AM More reviews by Missbutterfly201

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I gave this bb cream a 5/5 because I LOVE this stuff! I'm a teen & I have a hard time finding face coverage products because everytime I try one it turns out cakey or dry looking even if I put on lotion & a primer. So before school starts back up I was on an Internet Hunt to find a new face product that would feel light but also give me good coverage and wouldntlook cakey. I watched Youtube videos on this product and read reviews on this and a lot of people said this was awesome! So I decided to give it a try. I found this at target for $6.98. YES $6.98! It's usually $10-$11 but they had the bb cream on clearance for some reason! I got the color light. The bad thing is there is only like 2 or 3 shades. So if you are an Inbetween Shade you might need bronzer. So here's how I applied it, I 1st moisturized my face and then I just squeezed a dime size amount on my finger. I dotted it on my face and then patted it in with my fingers and VOILA! A smooth flawless finish! I was so suprised on how this looks on me. It looked a little dewy so I added a dusting of my rimmel stay matte powder over it and the finish was great!!

I love the packaging, the finish of this product, the smell of it & the color matched pretty well to my skin. Overall I will buy this again! (:

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/27/2014 8:50:00 PM More reviews by lulu56

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I ran out of my Lumene BB cream and saw this in Walgreen's. It is a lot cheaper and it does not smell like the Lumene. Lumene has me looking greasy lately and was tired of the smell. I am surprised that this went on smoothly and dried almost matte, yet it also gave me a glow and it stayed on better. I also like it has mineral sunscreen. I bought the medium shade and matched my skin perfectly. Love the flat tube and it doesn't leak. Would buy again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No