Maybelline Baby Lips -Strike A Rose

4.3

35 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/29/2015 2:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great lip balm, must have!



on 2/28/2015 1:42:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was a little nervous about trying this, I'm very sensitive (note that I have NOT gotten the "medicated" versions, I'm sure those would not work for me). But I got a really great deal at Big Lots and went for it. I now have several colors, Strike a Rose being the only one with significant color. It's a very pretty bright but translucent rose, I can see it being good for most.

For those complaining about the color payoff, THIS IS A LIP BALM...not a lipstick. Says that on the package. When I'm running out the door with no makeup or just a dash, this is what I grab. I just don't look good with real lipstick and no other makeup, but I'm sure many of you can relate that I can't stand having "naked" lips. Most of these, you don't need to look in a mirror to apply. Doesn't last real long; once again, it's a lip balm.

Note for those who are sensitive: I steer clear of the minty or flavored or medicated or SPF versions, and have had no issues. (When Outlast first came out, it took 3 weeks for my lips to recover from 1 hour...)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is the first Baby Lips product I have tried, and I'm unimpressed. Strike A Rose is a sheer pink with a touchnof coral--like a hot pink coral. But since it is quite sheer I find I have to apply several swipes to detect a significant color change, yet when built up the texture appears cheap. It does feel moisturizing and is quite slippery--so slippery, in fact, that since I had to apply several times it migrated almost instantly past my lip line. Personally I would need liner to keep this in place, and I rarely use liner. The taste is slightly fruity but in a fake, plasticy sort of way if that makes sense. I have tried it a few times, and I get the same results each time. Overall I am not opposed to trying the line again. It's cheap and moisturizing. However this is one shade that just doesn't work for me. For reference, NW10 with pigmented lips.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2014 6:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

SHADE DESCRIPTION: sheer pink

PROS

- moisturizing
- scent

CONS

- sheer

COMMENTS: Eh...there isn't enough color to this for me to justify purchasing it again. It doesn't do much, but I do like the texture of these. I find it to be fairly moisturizing, but will stick to my regular lip balms instead.

Will not repurchase.


on 7/20/2014 1:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love red lipsticks but lately Ive been searching for something more subtle for everyday and now I have it :D even is more pinkish left an amazing alive color at my lips and fell very good.

The tint last for hours even you cant fell the same glossy silky efect

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2014 12:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A few years ago the jelly nail polishes were popular. This sort of reminds me of that. It has a cushiony effect on my lips like there is a bubble of color, but you can still see my lip color underneath. The color is pretty it's a bright coral hue, so a hot pink with yellow undertones. I like it for when I'm wearing a very low-key face and I need something to make me look like I tried a little bit.


on 7/1/2014 1:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have it in red, pink, and orange. Overall, I am very satisfy with this product as a university student. Its cheap, looks good, and hydrates.
The colour is very nice. Its sheer. I find it if you have darker lips it won't show as well (i.e Indians, Africans, etc.). I have friends from this ethnicity that aren't too impress with the colour payoff.
Anyways, it feels nice and light, lovely light fragrant. Not overpowering at all. I love to use this overtop my lipstick/lipstain. I love to apply it overnight as well. Leaves your lips nice and soft the next day! I use it throughout the day to keep my lips hydrated and my whole face looking fresh.
The only thing I don't like is the packaging.... It's too clunky for me. But no big deal. Buy it you want a lovely hydrating sheer lippie!


on 5/27/2014 4:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am pretty picky about the texture of lip balm. I generally prefer non-sticky Vaseline type balm. Baby lips feels amazing and the colour is a very pretty sheer hot pink. It is not overpowering at all. I gave it a 4/5 because it does fade very quickly and disappears within 10 minutes after using it!


on 5/13/2014 2:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My first colored baby lips (I bought the colorless sunscreen balm a while back) and oooooo it makes my lips so smooth. I really like this stuff, I think I may buy more colors.


on 4/28/2014 10:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this as a gift, initially I was really pleased with the color. As many have mentioned it's a beautiful shade, like almost coral hot pink but very sheer. The reason why I didn't like this product is the texture, I can't stand it. It's oily and thin. It makes me feel like I rubbed my lips with mineral oil, it feels cheap to me and I can't stand it. Sorry to the fans, but I'm not on board with baby lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top