November 26, 2014 | 1165 users online

Mascara - Avon - Avon Mega Effects Mascara



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.4(41 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 10/22/2014 3:25:00 AM More reviews by Angelbix

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

My Avon Lady gave me this as a gift, and I guess I have mixed feelings about it. The Pros: very black pigment; mostly water resistant; long-lasting. The Cons: tricky, somewhat messy application if one isn't careful; some under eye smudging if worn on lower lashes; the lid does not stay on at all- pops off all the time posing a risk for bacteria or product dry out; flakes a little bit after several hours. I guess because it's difficult to apply I don't use it as often as traditional wand mascara, so I would say that I am grateful I didn't pay for it because it would have been a waste of money. 10.00 USD is rather steep for Avon mascara if you ask me. I will not purchase this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/6/2014 4:51:00 AM More reviews by allbeautyincluded

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

this product make me confused sometimes i like it and some other i don't i don't like the package because it been dirty

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/3/2014 7:50:00 AM More reviews by lottieooo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Don't waste your money. It looked so cool and innovative but it did nothing for me. Wouldn't reccomend it

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2014 4:12:00 PM More reviews by LeilaXXX

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm in two minds about this mascara. I liked (but not loved) it, and if it were cheaper I would likely buy it again (10 is a lot for a mascara in my opinion). When I have time to apply it slowly and carefully, it is fantastic: volume, length, blackest black lashes. However I wear mascara daily, and I usually don't have much time in the morning to apply it, so I prefer a quick swipe and go formulation, which a long handled mascara wand with a huge brush is perfect for. Even a cheap mascara with a fat brush suits me when I'm in a hurry. So I found I wasn't using this mascara often, and I do like to use them up quickly to avoid any bacteria buildup (bit of a germophobe here). I will keep an eye out for any offers from avon in case I can pick it up cheaper than the rrp, but I wasn't sufficiently wowed to buy it again at full price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/1/2014 12:10:00 PM More reviews by AmbyBambi88

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I am obsessed with mascara, I have a draw full!
I bought this as I was interested by the new design, and while it took me a few times to get the hang of how to apply it, once I did I thought it was great!
I have long natural lashes that are blonde so I find it hard to find a mascara that really can get to them all but the way the brush is made to adjust I can get every lash!
After using a curling wand, I use a tool where it is a barrier between my lashes and my skin when applying mascara so I dont suffer any product going anywhere it shouldnt, and I liked this so much I bought two back up bottles!
I do sometimes layer it up with another mascara if I really want a massive eye look but day to day this is great by itself.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/16/2014 9:36:00 AM More reviews by jessparker

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is ridiculous. Was it designed by a man who has never used mascara? It deposits over the eyelid, impossible to apply with a good angle, lid doesn't go on properly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/21/2014 1:17:00 AM More reviews by Mutethecity

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really like, but not love, this mascara, because there are a few things that could be better. For starters, the wand is pretty cool. It looks like a mini paint brush in some ways. The mascara itself is really good. The formula adds a lot of thickness to my lashes, but not a lot of length. The brush is good, and coats lashes well without clumping, but can be hard to use for getting inner/outer corner and bottom lashes due to large and awkward shape.
Your lashes will not be spidery, but unless you wiggle the brush during application, they will not be as separated or fanned out as traditional wands. You also kinda have to hold the brush at an odd angle as well, because the swivel handle is impractical and not long enough. Also, the lid is separate from the brush itself, and tends to fall off in my makeup bag because it doesn't 'click' on tight enough. But pretty good for $10.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/4/2014 2:01:00 AM More reviews by CanadianDreamer

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

As an Avon rep myself, I wanted to get my hands on this mascara as soon as it was first available to us. I was very impressed with all the tutorials online on the Representative website stating how to use this product and I wanted to get in on all the action as all the hip young endorsing celebrities were saying this was a great product. Needless to say I wasn't very impressed when I used it. It doesn't do anything for my lashes, didn't separate nor lift. It was as if I didn't even have mascara on, so I had to combine the use of this mascara not with Avon's Drama mascara to enhance my lashes. I have natural black lashes and I blame most of the mega effect's resistance on that fact. But still, I was disappointed as everyone was telling me this was the next best thing. It did not look good to me that even the cap of the mascara wouldn't lock into place, exposing the handle. It is a rather tiny device in comparison to most conservative mascaras as this is only about 3 inches in length - making it harder for some people to apply. Granted, the handle does bend to suit your application needs. In conclusion, I didn't get the results I expected out of this product and I believe a great deal of marketing sucked me into buying it in the first place. Avon's other mascaras are a lot better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/31/2014 12:28:00 AM More reviews by ellavator

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Really didn't like this mascara at all! Considering the price, I wasn't impressed with the clumps and artificial look :/ do not recommend

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2014 11:33:00 PM More reviews by Amadahy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I am a complete mascara addict. It's sick... But I just can't help myself! My eyelashes are relatively straight with only a hint of a curl right at the ends, so my lashes need to be curled tightly and mascara'd lightly to maintain the curl, and this mascara really does the trick for me. This mascara seems to be a Marmite product; you either love it or hate it, and I definitely love it. The brush separates my lashes and pushes them apart and fans them out - but most importantly, the mascara doesn't pull the curl out of my lashes, which I am really happy about. I was so impressed I've actually bought another three, as I can't get enough of it.
The only downsides to this mascara is the short, hard-to-hold handle, which is a bit flimsy, and the weird tube the brush has to be shoved into and wiggled back out (ok, more like yanked out impatiently) but I don't much care because the results I get on my lashes are worth it :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No