Tom Ford Sahara Noir

3.3

11 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/30/2015 5:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great scent and a perfect layering (base) fragrance. It's balsa wood and incense. The incense dissipates fairly fast, but the intense wood drydown stays on and on. I love it because it LASTS for many hours and I get compliments every single time I wear it, whether alone or with something else. I sometimes layer it with fragrances from Guerlain, Serge Lutens, Tom Ford and Joe Malone and I often wear it alone. It's not heavy, but it "holds" even on my dry skin. It's versatile, sensual and NOT TOO SWEET or typical "department store" like. A wood lovers dream!! My husband wears it too.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 6/1/2015 10:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I think this was a marketing fail. It was marketed to women, but I find it to be very masculine. That isn't to say a woman couldn't wear it. It is a strong incense bomb, but if you let it sit on the skin, it's beautiful. Definitely a middle eastern inspired scent. Not for the faint of heart. With the trend of men wearing stronger colognes, this could definitely pass. It's a great scent I don't think gets the attention it deserves.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2014 8:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Dry dusty attic, that's all I get from this scent.


on 9/27/2014 7:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I usually enjoy, or in the very least am tolerant of all of the Tom Ford fragrances. Many of them I absolutely love, and even the ones I am just meh about I can find a note in there to appreciate. Sadly, Sahara Noir is the exception. To my nose, it smells like strong incense and baby powder. Almost like a hippie trying desperately to be sophisticated. A fragrance I could not wash off too soon.


on 7/8/2014 11:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got this as a sample from Sephora. It smells pretty awful on me, like tooth decay. It has a very woodsy scent. The woodsy scent is so strong that too much can make it smell unpleasant. Perfume smells different on every person.


on 5/15/2014 6:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Addicting and exquisite.

The perfect blend of smoke, wood, incense, and depth. The smell of smoking resin is unmistakable.

Exotic and heady. Cannot get enough of this one.

If you like roses and all things floral, take a pass. Tom Ford, Inc. describes this as an "ode to frankincense," and if you've ever burned real frankincense resin (on rough charcoal pellets), you'll immediately recognize that this is indeed an ode to one of the most precious resins in human history, with some added notes and nuances rounding out the fragrance. I heartily recommend the following review, which captures the fragrance beautifully:

http://boisdejasmin.com/2013/05/tom-ford-sahara-noir-perfume-review.html

Other notes include: "frankincense, cistus essence, bitter orange, Jordanian calamus (an oasis sweet grass), cypress, cinnamon, papyrus extract, jasmine, beeswax absolute, amber, ambreinol, benzoin, vanilla, cedar, agarwood, and balsam." (courtesy the above link)

Not for the shy, or those reluctant a bold statement. You must love rich smoke and incense to loose yourself to this one.

Unisex, bold, evocative --- and unmistakable in composition. (Comparison's to 'Black Cashmere' are common: I find it much bolder, smokier, deeper, and richer. But everyone's nose differs.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2014 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Just wanted to say that this fragrance reminds me very much of DK Black Cashmere. Dry, woody incense. Since Black Cashmere is getting hard to find, I would recommend Sahara Noir to anyone who is looking for a replacement or a similar scent. For those who like their perfumes spicy, this fragrance is heavenly. Very warm and inviting in cold weather, too potent for me to even consider wearing in hot weather. It's unfortunate that it's so expensive, but to me, it's worth the money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2013 1:35:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow - this stuff is intense. First off, I think this is a man's cologne all the way. Nothing unisex about it. So for me to wear it, it's out of the question. That said, even on a man it would have to be the smallest amount possible worn to not completely take over his surrounding public. It's probably best after a few hours rather than first applied.


on 8/21/2013 4:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Sahara Noir is the perfect name for this fragrance. It's very dry, powerful, incense. It's pretty much Frankincense, tobacco and maybe a little wine or cognac. This fragrance makes a statement. It truly stands out from typical department store scents. It reminds me of the smell of an ancient, historic church. Very calming and comforting, I can see this appealing to those who want to steer clear of florals. The potency and lasting power is amazing. In fact, it's so potent I'd prefer it come in a dab bottle instead of a sprayer. It should be applied very, very sparingly. Honestly, I'd prefer it on a man, but I understand that some women may be drawn to it. Quite simply, it's not my cup of tea but it's beautiful for what it is. It's smoky and sultry, not sexy like Black Orchid, but stunning none the less. It's very Tom Ford- classy, sultry, statement-making.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2013 1:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

On my skin, Sahara Noir first and foremost is incense. Very pronounced frankincense, like someone just opened a church door during mass. Strong and yet comforting, the resinous-spicy-ambery scent is warm and I luckily do not get the sour patchouli note that the previous reviewer described. I can detect some bergamot and mandarin in the opening and some peppery tobacco, dry patchouli and oak moss as the scent warms up on my skin. Sillage and lasting power are very good, as in most Tom Ford creations. While this is definitely a unisex fragrance to be worn by both men and women, I don't think it is overly masculine. To me, it is a confident, dry, strong scent, and it is quite unique at that. I think Sahara Noir will be best suited for cooler temperatures so I am looking forward to wearing it in fall.
Packaging: Gold color plated textured glass flacon, similar in shape to the original Tom Ford Black Orchid, White Patchouli etc.
Retails for (a steep!) $150 for 1.7 oz/50 ml, it comes in that one size only.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
No.5
No.5
943 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top