April 23, 2014 | 1123 users online

Powder - Josie Maran Cosmetics - Argan Matchmaker Powder Foundation

no image

rated 4.0(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/7/2014 1:48:00 AM More reviews by Makeupcrazed1

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin, and I am an nc30 and a lady at sephora matched me with light-medium shade. I wanted to use a powder foundation because of my oily skin and so far this hasn't caused any breakouts! I don't have any big pimples the only reason I wear a powder is because I have some redness so I use it to even out my skin tone and this actually works very well. If you want something completely full coverage then this is not the powder for you. It help control my oil, I've heard that argan oil actually helps to balance oily skin. My skin still does get a little shiny but I just blot once a day and I'm shine free. I also use my Estée Lauder matte perfecting primer under this, so that might help. I use the puff to put it on because I feel like it works better, I noticed that when I swipe it on, my skin will get a little red, but when i pat it on, it's amazing. It's very build able and definitely looks like skin! I love natural looking makeup and this doesn't look powdery. The only complaint I have is that it takes a while to match your skin color, so your face can look a little white for a while but it's not like you look like a ghost. It also has a little bit of a smell when you first open it, but once it goes on the skin it doesn't bother me at all, which is why I don't mind. Overall, I would recommend and buy this product again!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2014 4:15:00 PM More reviews by Msgdfx1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased this a year ago and I wasn't in love. )I have tried her matchmaker liquid foundation and that is a winner for me.) But, this one didn't come close. It did not morph into my exact skin tone. It just sat on my skin making it appear dry, orange and uneven.

Well, a year later, I pulled it out of the cabinet and decided to try again. I modified my application technique. Instead of swiping it across the product and swiping it on my face, now, I pat the product the product gently with the puff and gently puff on to my skin. So, I get a barely there application, but, still with a bit of coverage.

It looks a whole lot better and is workable for me. Yeah!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2014 10:22:00 PM More reviews by Makeupallie14

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

OMG this powder is amazing! I was running really late for school one day and I put took about 30 seconds to put this on. Later in the day I looked a mirror expecting my face to look terrible. But instead my skin looked so airbrushed and pretty! It looked like my skin but better. I will continue use this as long as it is being made.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/12/2013 3:49:00 PM More reviews by korean

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

hmmm, idk. i bought this from sephora in light/med. i'm nc 20-25 and the color works but perhaps a tad darker than i would like.it has flicks of white patches in the "colored" pressed mineral powder.The coverage is light, good for summer or humidity. bare minerals has better coverage , for reference i use the color fairly light in bare minerals.

the compact is rose gold plastic, kinda cheap, but it works. the mirror is great. comes with a sponge in a hidden compartment. no scent or irritation, goes over my sunscreen well. if i don't find anything better i will keep using this for easy breezy days, but not for special occasions where i want a more polished foundation look..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/18/2013 5:48:00 PM More reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a great powder I love it on days when I don't want anything too heavy and just light. It's also a great setting powder I use this along with the argan serum foundation and it mattifies and stays put all day and great for the dry winter air because the argan oil hydrates. As for the coverage it varies if you apply with a brush it can go on sheer to medium build able coverage but with the sponge it can go on very heavy full coverage and lead to oxidizing really badly if you apply it the wrong way. Try it sometime.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/10/2013 4:13:00 AM More reviews by lizg629

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a little sad that the reviewers here aren't so crazy about this product as much as I am. Here is my experience:

I went into Sephora earlier this year (2013) to get another BareMinerals powder. However I felt like the one I was already using was too orange for me. One of the consultants helping me suggested I go even a darker BareMinerals than I was already going. But it was too dark and yellow for me and left an ugly texture on my acne prone face. I asked if she had any other products and she suggested I try out the Josie Maran Matchmaker Powder Foundation. It went great and smoothly on my skin. It feels light on my skin, gives me the perfect coverage , and doesn't look too yellow. I love wearing it everyday after I go through my regular skin care regime. Gives me that perfect coverage without looking too over done. It looks flawless and natural. The duo application pad it comes with is the best. It has two sides so you have two different methods of application--buildable coverage. I have found that the most effective way to apply this foundation is to pat it on your skin and lightly buff it. It completely resolves any excess oil and gives an even look. You do have to reapply every few hours but I think it is worth it.
I ran out of this product a few weeks ago and went into Sephora to purchase again. I wanted to make sure I had the right shade (I had light-medium before and thought I might need fair-light). The consultant helped me out and she applied the light-medium with a sephora 55 brush and it was amazing. Even the consultant was impressed with the flawless even coverage this product gives. I absolutely love it. It also does a great job of covering some pores. I honestly would recommend this product to anyone who has oily skin, wants a foundation that gives a buildable coverage, and has argan oil. I never ever have gone to buy a product again (except for the clinique perfectly real foundation). I think it does a great job. Pricing is a worth it for this product--at least for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2013 8:20:00 AM More reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a sheer powder foundation which actually matches my skin quite well. I am NC10-15 with neutral to yellow undertones. This powder was perhaps a little too pink but not so that you would notice. It was matte but not in a powdery way, in fact it was slightly glowy in that it looked almost like my skin.

Coverage is very sheer but sometimes I just wear concealer with powder so this works fine. It doesn't oxidize on my skin even when applied over a sunscreen although it does tend to cling to wet patches like most powders do. I gave it a 4/5 as it can look heavy over sunscreen and the heavier patches won't blend so you are stuck with patchy foundation. But the way round this is to apply all over with a fluffy brush, and blot away any excess moisture first.

I prefer applying with a brush rather than the applicators. I appreciate there being 2 double-sided applicators with this, one side gives full coverage and the other side gives a sheerer finish. The packaging feels a little cheap, it looks like it would be heavy but in fact it is lightweight.

I much prefer this foundation to Josie's liquid Matchmaker foundation as the color is not orange on my skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/27/2013 11:47:00 PM More reviews by bameiboo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've used many Josie Maran products. Luckily I got to visit a Sephora store in LA. They showed me this foundation and I was amazed! My skin is fair but now tan and it will work all year. I usually use bare minerals but its a tad dry or mychelle stick that are sticky. This foundation is perfect,natural and free of the parabens I'm allergic too. Plus it has argan oil which is another review of its own!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/22/2013 4:40:00 PM More reviews by LetsSwap

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this product SO bad. I'd been lemming it for quite awhile, and finally bit the bullet. I chose light/medium for my NC30-ish coloring, because I'd read that the darker one oxidizes into orange. This one offers very little coverage. I got a compact with very little of the "white" flecks, mine's almost all shaded so I'd expect it to cover more, but nope. It also fades very quickly and leaves me quite oily. The compact is good; it houses the sponge separately from the product. And by the way, I think there's an error with the previous review, as I see nowhere on the box or container that there's any SPF in it. Sadly, this one is going back and the search for a quality powder foundation compact continues....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/28/2013 11:33:00 AM More reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in fair/light. I wouldn't consider this a powder foundation, just a powder...and not the best one at that. The color-adjusting that works in JM's liquid foundation doesn't work here: the powder applies and stays on as one shade--in the case of fair/light, it comes out a chalky white. The powder can be blended out to look decent, but I shouldn't have to use extensive blending on a powder. Staying power is just like your average powder, nothing special here. Fallout when applying is horrible--whether I use puff or brush, I lose as much powder to fallout as I do to the application. To top things off, it's ridiculously overpriced considering it's subpar. At least it has SPF, but that's not anything that I can't find in another product. Disappointing product and one that I won't be repurchasing.

Update: I've found that switching to a flocked powder puff makes for a better application with less fall out than using the sponge/puff hybrid it came with or with a makeup brush. Because of that, I can apply and blend it so it looks better. I probably will not repurchase this, however.

Is this review helpful? Yes No