October 25, 2014 | 1690 users online

Liquid - Estee Lauder - Double Wear Light No SPF

rated 4.3(15 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/27/2014 1:29:00 PM More reviews by franktommyquaker

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I believe this foundation is the greatest thing of all time. I do sometimes cheat on it and try others but when I do it only confims that this is the best choice for me. Good color match for me, looks natural, and keeps me shine free for hours. On top of this it does not break me out and wears forever. I am also a fan of regular Double Wear but only when I want very full coverage which is not often. If you have oily skin, need long wear and like a natural light to medium coverage then I recomend this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/5/2014 4:22:00 PM More reviews by six30

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

The Estee Lauder, Double Wear Light Stay-in-Place Makeup is the best foundation I've ever used for my sensitive combo skin - and I've tried a lot of them!

Looks terrific on as it blends beautifully leaving a fresh, soft finish. Lasts all day needing only a bit of finishing powder on my t-zone. Great colour match as well (Intensity 1.0 equal to MAC NC20, MUF Ivory 20).

Buildable coverage, long wearing, oil-free and transfer-resistant.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2014 6:05:00 PM More reviews by Mozart68

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Natural Finish
I have tried foundations and BB creams from EL, Lancome, Laura Mercier, Bobbie Brown, Chanel, Armani,... you get the picture. The regular DW is too chalky-looking on me, but the Light verision is dang-near perfect. Shade 3 is a neutral shade that covers my redness without looking cakey or shiny. It's not unusual for me to need powder on my t-zone, but I don't need any with this foundation. The finish is natural - no JLo glow, no sparkles. This is the best foundation I have ever tried.
* Why did it take me so long to try this foundation? The first time I tried it, I was matched with 3.5 which was too orange for me. I thought all of the shades would be yellow-orange, so I did not look again until recently. I am glad I tried again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/31/2014 4:20:00 AM More reviews by hazeleyes1

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

HG material. Fabulous coverage (medium buildable to full - NOT light). Dewy but not oily/shiny looking. Does not look or feel cake or heavy despite having excellent coverage. I wear it with EL luminous primer and/or a BB cream underneath. Only need a small amount for the perfect finish. For reference, I'm an NC35 in the winter, NC37-40 in the summer and as I have a bit of a tan now I'm wearing ELDW Light in Intensity 3. However, this same shade seemed to also work for me when I had less color to my skin, without looking like I spray-tanned my face. I just keep going back to this, for good reason. Check it out if you haven't already!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2014 8:28:00 AM More reviews by Lochinvar

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been wearing the sample of double wear light all week and I'm in love.

I have normal/combination skin. This stuff goes on sheer, but not as sheer as the invisible fluid, but still it doesnt' look like i'm wearing slap. It looks natural.

The durability is what is really impressing me. its summer, its hot, its very humid here, and this stuff holds up. All day, at the office, no touch ups. I put a crème blush over it and it too shows at the end of the day whereas with the invisible fluid my blush disappeared by lunch. This stuff, my skin is flawless all day.

I find the product a little drying on my skin, it feels a little tight, but other than that its fine and it looks even more fine. it achieves the look I want, ie nice skin as opposed to heavy coverage slap put on with a concreting trowel.

I also have a good set of laugh lines around my eyes and this stuff smooths over them really nicely, so for a mature skin, I'm really happy with this product as an excellent natural looking base with a bit more coverage than the Estee Lauder Invisible Fluid but without that heavy full coverage look.

Will definitely consider purchasing this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/1/2013 6:46:00 PM More reviews by kyates99

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

HG foundation, hands down! At 43 I just started having the need to wear foundation due to some broken capillaries and redness on my cheeks and some redness surrounding my nose as well. After a long search with many different high end and drug store foundations, this one is it! I have crazy sensitive, acne prone, oily T-Zone skin and this foundation fits the bill for me. It controls my oil, blends beautifully and am I'm super happy that there isn't any SPF in the new formula as sunscreen tends to give my skin a crazy itchy reaction. After I apply my serum, eye cream and moisturizer I use an airbrushing foundation brush to apply it and stipple it all over my face and it looks flawless - just melts into my skin; not settling into my fine lines. I honestly can't say enough good things about it! Oh yeah, I'm an intensity 2 with medium skin tone. :-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/14/2013 7:51:00 PM More reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

This was money badly spent.

Overpriced, turns cakey in like half an hour while going all patchy and orange.

It also broke out my chin and the crevices of my nostrils (and I know it was this; I had a good skin care routine in place, wasn't that time of the month, it was the only new product)

I liked the consistency straight out of the container, but it just didn't work out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/14/2013 2:39:00 PM More reviews by blairXwitch

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I am a fan of the original Double Wear, it's still my HG for when I go out and need to look my best.

I also recall trying the Double Wear light with SPF and hating it so much, I swapped it away. It made me an oil slick and broke me out.

I found out on MUA about this non-SPF version, and decided to try it out, because I needed a foundation for every day, with good coverage and lasting, but didn't want to use my original DW 7 days a week (I'm sort of worried my skin would get too used to it and it would stop working for me, lol). So I purchased this in Intensity 1 (I'm 1N1 in DW).

It matches me very well, and covers almost as well as the original. I don't have much to cover at the moment, I need more to even out my skin, and if I do have a pimple, I would still use concealer.
I have to say, I'm very happy with this foundation and I think it's way, way better than the version with SPF. Now keep in mind that my face breaks out from any kind of SPF, so if you don't have that issue, then you'll like the other version too.

I don't think it dries that fast as some reviews mentioned, I have plenty of time to spread it evenly and pat it on with my BB. It leaves an almost airbrushed finish, semi-matte, and makes my pores look a bit smaller. It dries with no tackiness, smooth and natural. It has a medium coverage, and if I layer, it doesn't cake.

I don't use a moisturizer or primer under this, and even if my face is a bit dry after washing it, as soon as I apply this foundation I feel comfortable and moisturized. I'm oily and it stays semi-matte for a long time, I do blot however after 4-5 hours. After blotting it looks the same, no rubbing off and no separation.

I like to apply a powder over it, to set it and render it more matte.

I like the tube more than the bottle of the DW, so much easier to dispense.

I will most definitely rebuy :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/4/2013 11:12:00 PM More reviews by madscientist01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation to test out for my wedding makeup after doing some research. The SA matched me to intensity 1, but I just went and exchanged it for intensity 2 as the previous shade was clearly too light for me.

I love this foundation! It is the first high end foundation i've tried, and I love it! It smooths onto the skin like a dream, blends flawlessly, gives a good (medium) coverage, and does not look cakey! I think this has also helped to control my oil! :O

After 8h wear, my skin is just barely starting to show some shine, and after 12h my skin is slightly dewy.

This foundation is simply amazing! This is the most natural looking of any foundation i've tried, yet gives good coverage. LOVE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/1/2013 6:47:00 AM More reviews by Shh23

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I like this foundation. It's super easy to blend and covers beautifully, it sinks into my skin I don't have to worry about tell tale lines around my chin area. It is nice for summer or day to day wear when you don't want anything too heavy on your skin. It doesn't last quite as long as the heavier duty formula But I find that if I set it with doublewear powder foundation it lasts longer. I wore it mixed in with ordinary doublewear and yves saint laurent touche éclat for my wedding. Perfect I had so many compliments about my skin. Xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No