October 24, 2014 | 1677 users online

Sunscreen - Shiseido - Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion + Broad Spectrum Spf 50+



image 0

rated 3.0(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 33% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/21/2014 11:44:00 AM More reviews by Yumi2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This sunscreen is very liquid and runny in consistency and it generally feel light on the skin when applied. I never found that I had a white cast problem with it and I generally like it as it provides me with the protection I need and it didn't feel like applying heavy grease. It also does a really good job if your looking to prevent gaining unwanted tan lines in the summer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/22/2014 8:52:00 AM More reviews by dragonisdragon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Black

I'm a little confused as to why this product is listed three times on makeupalley, each with different overall ratings? and two of them are marked discontinued? was there a change in ingredients hmmm..anyways as far as I know this is still available at sephora. in toronto many times out of stock-__-
I have been using this since I was about 20 and am now 24. maybe by saying this some people will critique me and say i don't use enough sunscreen on my face which i probably totally don't but i only need a bottle of this per calendar year. maybe even less. its so fluidy it feels like it lasts forever but since i am trying to fade acne scars and melasma i ALWAYS would panic when the bottle started getting close to finished and would buy a backup.
this creates a really flawless base for makeup for me. not liking the smell though after many years has gotten a little nauseating but the quality of the product remains.
my skin is dry and i find that this can make ur dry spots look white and obvious. so exfoliation regularly is a must. my friends also like this. i found that with this regularly there is an improvement in darkness around the mouth but since acne scars pop up often as others fade away its hard to tell whether there is an effect in that dept.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2014 5:00:00 PM More reviews by bigbadpanda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was at Sephora picking up a few products and saw the travel size of this sunscreen and decided to give it a try. I see the regular size of this product is $39 at Sephora. It is super pricey! However, I love this.

I have combination skin. My t-zone gets oily and the rest of my face is normal. I don't have acne and I don't have sensitive skin. Maybe that is why I love this product, maybe it works for people that don't really have skin issues. I'm not sure if this will break you out or not, you won't know until you try it!

This sunscreen is definitely scented, and it's pretty strong but not overpowering in my opinion. I personally love how it smells, and it makes my face smell good and that is fine with me. The texture of this sunscreen is great. It has a powdery finish which is what I wanted, I do not need anything greasy on my face. I also live in hot & humid Miami, so anything greasy will just melt right off my face. I don't have that problem with this! This sunscreen is white, so you need to rub it in well. If not, you probably will notice a white cast.

Overall, I think this product is great and I will definitely be repurchasing another travel size to carry around with me in my purse!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/20/2013 5:00:00 PM More reviews by furafura

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I was really excited to find this at T.J. Maxx for $25. I loved the discontinued version, and bought it a couple times (it lasts forever!) But this new formula seems to create much more of a white cast on the skin. I'm pretty pale, so it doesn't affect me TOO much, and I use BB cream and powder, which helps even everything out. However, my darker-skinned friend used it on her face and it turned her skin very white. It still does an excellent job at protecting my skin all day, but I think next time I'm going to try out Shiseido's Urban Environment UV Protector (in the white packaging).

I like the texture of the sunscreen, it's very light, watery, and easy to apply. The fragrance is strong, but it doesn't bother me - I personally like it because I hate the smell of sunscreen! But definitely stay away if you have a darker skin tone - it will make your skin look ghostly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/16/2013 12:12:00 PM More reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Received a packette of this from my Sephora purchase. First off, I am about NC 35, breakout is never an issue for me. This product is silicone based, which is OK by me, BUT, it has a white case, in order for a sunscreen to be effective, one has to put 1 teaspoonful for the entire face & neck (therefore solely depended on the spf in foundation is useless).
I look like Gary Oldham in Dracula, 2 hours passed while I was computing, the white cast is still there.
Glad I didn't buy it, besides, waterproof SS for everyday city use, I say meh.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/16/2013 1:45:00 PM More reviews by Intermission

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this because i needed a replacement for the neutrogena fecal sunscreen that i used all last summer.
i thought i might give i higher end product a try.

overall i have nothing to complain about..sunscreen is sunscreen right?

the only, and biggest issue i have with this item is that once applied on a bare face, putting makeup over the sunscreen makes my makeup melt off.

the sunscreen is slightly oily but it seems to stay like that the whole day. So makeup that usually lasts me 7 hours, doesn't stay put for even 2 hours.

that fact wont stop me from using it, but i will definitely not be repurchasing.

also i would like to point out that i did not have this issue with my previous sunscreen, make me wonder why Shiseido charges so much? ($39.00) vs. ($10.00 for neutrogena break-out free SPF100)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/7/2013 5:19:00 PM More reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Even though this lotion feels much lighter than its cream counterpart, it seems to perform almost exactly the same. I find that both feel a little greasy at first, but while that feeling does go away, I see a bit of a shiny finish. Others have an issue with a white cast but I find that if I blend it in well and let the sunscreen sink in for several minutes, it helps. Oil control is nonexistent, so this isn't recommended (personally) for oily skin.

Flash photography is also not recommended, and do remember to take care when removing this tenacious product (oil cleansing, for example).

As of now (summer 2013), the following Shisiedo sunscreens are available in the US (these are the basic sunscreens, not including anything like lip protection, tinted products, etc.):

Extra Smooth Sun Protection Cream/Lotion N SPF 38 (Broad spectrum)
Ultimate Sun Protection Cream/Lotion+ SPF 50+ (Broad spectrum)
Urban Environment UV Protection Cream SPF 40 (Broad spectrum)
Urban Environment Oil-free UV Protector SPF 42 (Broad spectrum)

All of these products were recently reformulated and I have to admit I've very disappointed :( As someone with (dehydrated) oily skin, none of them work for me, including the urban enviro lotion, which is both too drying and lacking in oil control.

Although only the urban enviro lotion claims to be oil-free, from what I can tell looking at ingredient lists, none of these sunscreens contain oil. (But check anyway if that's important to you).

According to Shisiedo, extra smooth is best for drier skin types, ultimate is for activities that involve lots of sun exposure, and urban enviro is for everyday (though the lotion is targeted for oilier skin types).

The formulas are white, with the lotions on the runnier side, and the creams a little thicker. Both the extra smooth and ultimate formulas feel a bit greasy and leave my face with shine -- lotions and creams. Only the urban enviro lotion feels like nothing, though the urban enviro cream is a little mattifying in the beginning.

All of the sunscreens have some form of alcohol, but I don't think they would be considered drying for most. That is, except the urban enviro lotion, which my dehydrated oily skin cannot handle due to the high alcohol content. (Interestingly, even when I was very oily, I could not use this lotion, but for a different reason: little oil-control. So either I find it too drying initially, or not mattifying enough.)

I found the cream formulas a bit too rich for my oily skin, and none have the initial mattifying effect of their past formulations (except the urban enviro cream, but it's not that great anyway).
The ultimate cream was a favorite for the oily-skinned because of its mattifying abilities, but I can't say the same for the new formula. It leaves a shine after application (rather than a semi-matte finish) and it does not control oil.

As for a white cast, I find that I do see one with most of the formulas, particularly the ultimates. However, with the extra smooth and urban enviro formulas, I don't have a problem when I let them sink in. For the ultimates, I try to blend them in well and also give them some time to sink in.
In terms of photos, however, there is a ghostly face effect.

One thing to keep in mind with these sunscreens is that you really need to remove them properly -- preferably with an oil. They are known for their tenacity so if you experience any breakouts, consider your removal methods too.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/24/2013 1:18:00 PM More reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I purchased this mainly due to the high spf of 50. This left a whitish cast on my skin and caused my combination skin to breakout. It is a very light, milky lotion with a light fragrance.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/29/2013 11:30:00 PM More reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Active Ingredients:

Octinoxate 7.4%

Octocrylene 3.0%

Titanium Dioxide 1.7%

Zinc Oxide 19.3%

Inactive Ingredients: Water, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Isopropyl Myristate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Isododecane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polybutylene Glycol/PPG-9/1 Copolymer, Xylitol, Glycerin, Methyl Gluceth-10, Saxifraga Sarmentosa Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Ectoin, Sophora Angustifolia Root Extract, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Isostearic Acid, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/Methacrylamidolauric Acid Copolymer, Silica, Alumina, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Talc, Alcohol, Trisodium EDTA, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, BHT, Syzygium Jambos Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance.

39$ for 3.3oz/100ml

Haven't tried this yet, the amount of isopropyl myristate in here scares me (5/5 for acne causing on cosdna)
it was pretty white cast-y on the back of my hand, will update later


Update: I tried this, although I didn't break out or have any stinging, the white cast left by this sunscreen was absolutely unacceptable. I would at least be okay with it, if it went away after 30 minutes. But even after two hours the white cast was still there. The lotion settled into my stubble too, leaving me with a white moustache and neck.(I'm male) this kind of cast is unacceptable, especially for the price tag. For the same price or cheaper I'd get no white cast with sekkisei sun protector or replenix sunscreen spray. This is going back..
Shine control was very poor btw, much UNLIKE traditional japanese sunscreens . Sorry shiseido, a miss imo ...

Is this review helpful? Yes No