August 21, 2014 | 1733 users online

Blush - Maybelline - Coral Burst



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.8(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.8
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2014 6:52:00 PM More reviews by matt44bek

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

it's possible I've been looking for this shade of blush all my life ! Thank god for Ebay because I'm pretty sure this never made it to Australian shores. I'm off to buy a back up it's that good. Why you ask ? Well it is this gorgeous goldy coral colour that looks beautifully flushed when applied with a light (very light) hand. It is a colour that I never ever would've picked up had I not read other reviews and looked at some swatches online so I'm glad I researched it a bit. I am a pink girl ... I have a million blushes and they are pretty much all variations of pink. Most are Nars but even the coral ones I do own from the Nars line up (like Gilda and/or Gina) don't show up like this colour does. On my cheeks it looks like a vibrant more peach shade of Nars Deep Throat. Its different but oh so wearable. If you watch Hart of Dixie I am always trying to copy the makeup of Rachel Bilson , particularly the shade of blush that always makes her look so pretty and flushed .. perhaps I've found it. Anyway run out and find this makeup alley girls ... I think this could work on just about any one !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/5/2014 6:00:00 PM More reviews by bldsgrsxmgk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been loving the orange blush lately! If the hue turns you off a bit, I suggest trying it out, and Coral Burst is a low risk way to venture out. Alike to that uber-hot pink Bobbi Brown blush everyone has been raving over (name escapes me), you really should give it a whirl. These bright blushes work for everyone if applied with a light hand. But I digress. As other reviewers have mentioned, Coral Burst is a pretty good dupe for NARS' Taj Mahal, and wears similarily to Nyx' Cinnamon, another of my favourites. It looks good on me summer or winter, creating a flushed-from-within cheek. Paired with bronzer, it adds sunkissed warmth. When I bought this I was expecting chalkiness because of the laughably cheap packaging, but this is actually very pigmented and blendable! There is a slight sparkle, but this only shows up if you apply it to a larger area. I admit I am raving about the colour of the product more than its substance, but this is an extremely beautiful, affordable, and great quality blush to own! In my top 3!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/30/2013 3:12:00 AM More reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

Great dupe for Nars Taj Mahal IMO coral burst has a redder undertone but both exude a sunny orange sheen that needs to be applied with a light hand! I'm NC 25 and I use a tiny amount and blend, blend, blend...the result is healthy looking cheeks that glow:) so sad this shade is LE cuz I would def repurchase it due to the great pigmentation and staying power which is comparable to HE brands. The reason for 4 stars is that it's not a shade I can pull off everyday with my coloring, it's best saved for nights out or special occasions when I want to be "done up." If you can find this, buy it! Mine was only $2 on the walgreens clearance rack, a total steal for something so high in quality.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2013 3:05:00 PM More reviews by JJLOVEE

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This blush is an AMAZING addition to my cosmetics collection!

Very pigmented so a tap or two on your blush brush and you are good to go, Blending is very easy and lasting power is would say is a little more than average. I do not wear face primer nor liquid foundation. Just moisturizer (with SPF)!

I was researching this blush before I bought it (mind you, I purchased this when it first came out, earlier this year...march? april? But I just signed up for this website and decided to start reviewing for you!

WIth other research I came across a blogger (you can Google image: Maybelline Coral Burst vs Chanel Frivole) <--YES CHANEL. Surprisingly the woman's blog who reviewed both these blushes (and from what I saw on pictures), I was pleasantly surprised at how similar they are! Now, I have never owned a CHANEL blush so I can't say about the texture comparison. But with regards to the actual color, the blending, swatches, and actual application on the cheeks were IMPECCABLE! I suppose a CHANEL comparison to this DRUGSTORE blush made me feel a little more satisfied knowing I picked this baby up! If you compare side by side, this blush looks intense and scary but since it is highly pigmented and easily blends, you wont get a neon orange plop of color (unless that is what you're going for so pile it up then my sistah!)

The amount is A LOT for what you pay for because of it's high pigmentation, that a little surely goes a long way. I used this pretty much every day of this year's spring season and my little dome of a blush is still dome-y! I can see this blush being a for SURE spring/summer staple, even going through the beginnings of FALL.

Slight SATIN SHINE <--but NOT GLITTERY, OILY, but a healthy shine. Just the faintest of a glowy finish.

Oh I don't really wear MAC make up But I am nw30-nw35 for reference (yellow/brown filipino undertone)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/19/2013 1:48:00 AM More reviews by olithea

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This was on my wish list for a while and it's everything I hoped it would be. The blush is very finely milled and super super pigmented. I have very fair skin and I had to use a light hand and blend carefully to get a natural look. For darker skin tones, this color should show up beautifully. I normally have no luck with drugstore blushes being pigmented enough, but this is one I highly recommend.

I only gave the packaging two lippies because I can't seem to open the catch of it without messing up my nail polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/3/2013 1:17:00 AM More reviews by sivadore

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Found this on clearance at a drugstore and decided to buy it on a whim. I'm so glad I did, this blush is amazing! The color is saturated but highly blendable, so it works on my NW10 skin. I have to be very light-handed, because it's easy to make this blush too dark on fair skin.

This is one of the best drugstore purchases I've ever made. A combination of risk and surprise payoff. What a great and unique blush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2013 9:41:00 AM More reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Excellent drugstore find! I'd been searching for a deep orange blush, and this one is exactly what I wanted, at a great price. I can't say more than the previous reviewers have said but, if you are interested in a great orange blush and can get your hands on this limited edition product (without being price gouged by the sellers on eBay currently charging ridiculous prices for it), do it! Great for WOC!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/11/2013 10:14:00 PM More reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I'm on the pale side (NW20,) but I decided I needed this anyway. Found it at rite-aid tonight (BOGO half off,) and picked up seashore frosts along with it. WOW. this is veryyyy pigmented--I did not err on the side of caution initially, and regretted it immediately. With a light hand, I can pull it off, but this would e better suited to a darker skin tone than mine. I'm really impressed with it regardless; its such a rare color to see in a drugstore. Later this summer, I imagine t becomes a staple.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2013 2:44:00 PM More reviews by TheHateress

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I normally don't purchase drugstore products, because I cannot try them beforehand, but this was one that I went out on a limb for and I am very glad that I did.

This blush is bright orange and I would say the 'Coral' in its name is not at all applicable. The blush itself is a richly pigmented vibrant orange with a simply radiant golden sheen. I really found that once applied and blended outwards towards my ears, I got a lovely radiant glow. As a very dark woman (NW50/55), I would highly recommend this blush for someone looking for a natural look. Applied lightly and blended well, it really gives off a look of naturally radiant skin.

If you are a fan of NARS's Taj Mahal, I would very highly recommend adding this to your beauty arsenal. Compared to Taj Mahal, Coral Burst is a deeper orange with a finely milled golden shimmer, as opposed to the larger chunks in T.M. Both products will emphasize large pores.

As far as packaging goes, it's pretty basic: a square with clear top and a blush mound in the center. Compared to all of the blushes I have, I felt it to be pretty tiny, about the size of a half dollar coin. I found that I needed to spend a bit more time blending than I do with NARS blushes. The product was very soft and easy to pick up with a blush brush.

Even though I like it, and it's a limited edition I will not purchase a backup, that's because I've replicated the look with Estee Lauder Pure Color Blush 'Naughty' and The Balm's Mary Lou Manizer.

I found mine at Rite Aid, and paid under $9.00 for it.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2013 9:10:00 PM More reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This review is for Maybelline's Limited Edition Coral Burst Blush. Wow....it's a bright tangerine powder that really packs a punch. Just what I need come summer for my NC40/42 skintone. It sort of reminds me of an old fashioned blush that Flori Roberts used to make, only brighter and more modern!

Although it looks almost neon in the compact, it can be blended out to a beautiful peach. I've been wearing it toned down with a bronzer under the cheekbone and a bit of pearl cream highlighter on top (NARS) A word about the packaging....This is a solid, modern looking compact that is very well made. It houses the blush in a way that makes it look like a jewel. I really appreciate this because I'm into packaging.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No