April 21, 2014 | 970 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Wild Watermelon Lip Butter



image 0

rated 4.6(22 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 4/20/2014 7:48:00 PM More reviews by jadefly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

This lip butter feels like a fine leather handbag: It is truly "buttery" soft and just glides onto your lips, giving a good amount of pigment. I would give the general line of Revlon Lip Butters 4-5 lippies!

Unfortunately, I think this particular shade of red in "Wild Watermelon" is too cool for my light-medium Southeast Asian coloring, hence the 3 lippie rating. I'll return this one and consider trying another color once my Maybelline Baby Lips in Grape Vine runs out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/11/2014 1:47:00 AM More reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Omg!!! This is one of my favourite lip butter lipstick ever! I hated the lip butters because the ones with the shimmer were drying and chapped my lips... and then I found this colour. It's the perfect red for those who hate the feel of drying lipstick! This colour is a pink based red which I really like Especially for my NC30 skin tone... (Im a lipstick dabber/ not swiper) It doesn't look too intimidating. It's creamy and non drying. It stays on well, smooth and it makes my lips appear so plump...
Because its a balm, it doesn't have lasting power (about 4 hrs on me) I think this lipstick colour will look great with darker more simple eye makeup. It's $10.99 Canadian

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/23/2014 12:30:00 AM More reviews by GlisteningSheen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Price: About £8 from Boots (England) but often on a 3 for 2 offer. In Singapore I bought this for about $9 SGD at the airport. Not a bad price at all for the quality and colour selection.

Packaging: Love how the lid is colour coordinated to the colour of the lipstick inside and how the top of the lid is clear so you can see the colour of the lipstick. A bit tricky to open at times as the lid is so long that there isn't much of a base to hold on to whilst pulling the lid off!

Product: This is very moisturising like a lip balm, has a glossy sheen like a lip gloss and has the colour of a lipstick. A great combination of all 3 products in 1!!! Wild Watermelon is a beautiful summer colour. It is a bright pinky red that wears a bit more on the corally side on my lips. One coat leaves my lips with a natural looking hint of colour and two or three coats build the colour intensity up to a much more pigmented and more vibrant shade. This colour is like Candy Apple in that it has no shimmer but leaves a nice sheen on the lips and so isn't completely matte either. It is a great way to wear a bright vibrant summery colour without all the downsides of wearing a very bright opaque lip. The colour is sheer but buildable to the intensity that you desire.

You know how some lip colours just instantly brighten and lift your complexion, well, Wild Watermelon is that colour for me, just like Candy Apple Red. Both of these colours look amazing on my NC25-30 complexion and instantly make me look more radiant and awake.

Has a subtle cinema sweet popcorn smell that fades quite quickly and is not bothersome at all.

Lasts a good 6 hours depending on eating/drinking habits. Whilst the gloss like sheen may fade after a couple of hours, I find that the colour lasts for quite a few more hours and fades evenly. I only reapply this after I've eaten/drunk something otherwise I just let the colour fade naturally.

Not at all drying even when I've used it for several days in a row.
Great selection of colours and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend especially if you're not a fan of very opaque lipsticks, like me.

GlisteningSheen xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2014 11:37:00 PM More reviews by clarabeau

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This lipstick is so brightening and flattering on my NC10 skin. You know how when you feel tired, it's the end of the day, and your face needs a pick-me-up, there are usually only a couple of lippies that you can apply and instantly look better? This is one of them for me, an HG. It's kind of a corally-pinkish red on me, and just lights up my complexion. It is bright, yet soft.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/18/2013 5:30:00 PM More reviews by snowbear64

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was the second lip butter from Revlon that I have bought. I purchased the Strawberry Shortcake one as my first, but I figured I would try a red one. I didn't want one that was to bright, as I was new to lipsticks and wasn't sure how this one would look on my lips. But I took a chance and tried it. The packaging is very cute, and the price is meh. Its not a bad price but its not great. I expected much more for what I paid. The lip butter was very moisturizing but I found that it started to "feather," a lot on my lips. It just wouldn't stay in place. And after a while little balls of color started to bunch up on my lips. I think that this product is a good "one time buy/try." It just didn't work for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/1/2013 7:32:00 PM More reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a bright cool-toned red shade. No sparkles or glitter: just clear color that is buildable. It looks lovely with my skin tone, and let's me wear red without all the hassle that comes with most red lipsticks. It does leave behind a stain, which you either like or you don't (I don't mind it).

Like all of the lip butters: applies smoothly, feels good, requires frequent reapplication.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2013 5:51:00 AM More reviews by PixxiDust

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought a couple of the Revlon Kissable Balms and did not care for them. But the Lip Butters are awesome!

Wild Watermelon is a really nice color - bright without being overpowering and definitely suitable for day wear; this is a creamy color with no sparkle or glitter. I wouldn't say it's super conditioning like an actual lip balm, but it feels really nice on and does not dry out my lips. The wear is about 3 hours - and when you reapply the residual color that was left blends in nicely with the fresh application.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/24/2013 5:30:00 AM More reviews by ggalie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have had lip butters in the past and lost them, since I use them all the time! Great formula, good color payoff for the light, moisturizing formula. This is a very nice, bright sheer pink shade (on my skintone). I use it like my summer "accessory" since I can't wear much jewelry in the heat. Love this shade, and LOVE the lip butters!

I gave it a low price rating because I live overseas and this product retailed for $15 US. But I had to have it...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/21/2013 9:28:00 AM More reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Ah Wild Watermelon, how I love you!

This is a beautiful fruity pink with a sheer dewy finish and is the most lovely cheerful summer shade. One swipe gives you a subtle wash of colour, two gives you a little more punch and three will give you a fabulous, vivid colour pop. This shade becomes redder as you build it (although I certainly wouldn't call it a true red). It feels like a balm and does seem to moisturise and protect my lips when I wear it. Can you tell that I like it?

I think of this as being Candy Apple Red's non identical twin sister - similar finish, colour payoff, buildability and summery brightness - but this gal is pink rather than coral.

It's a somewhat cool shade but I would say that warmer toned skin could still easily pull this off, in the same way that I can wear the awesomely hot Candy Apple despite my cooler skintone.

Wild Watermelon fades evenly to a lovely pink stain, but it does transfer badly as all the Revlon lip butters seem to do. You will be doing constant touch ups, but with such a moisturising, balmy product that is a pleasure rather than a chore.

If you've always wanted to wear brighter or deeper lip colours but not been sure where to start I would recommend Wild Watermelon (or Candy Apple) as you are in control of how vivid the shade is, and the shade looks equally beautiful whether applied as a sheer wash or built up to full strength.

I hope this colour is never discontinued as it is my summer favorite.



4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/5/2013 10:28:00 AM More reviews by squirrelXetiquette

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Well, after purchasing my eighth lip butter by revlon, i swore i would not buy any more. Then came the wild watermelon shade. After vacillating in the aisles for about :20, i bought the darn thing. Am i happy with it? Duh! My one concern was that it was going to look like candy apple or cherry tart. Does it? Nope! A bit different; it is a little more playful & pink. No shimmer -- just straight up watermelon! A nice shade that you will not regret buying. The texture is nice & the payoff is decent. Im in pajamas & i am wearing it -- it is that nice!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No