April 19, 2014 | 886 users online

Eyes - NYX - Wonder Pencil



image 0

rated 3.9(32 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2014 4:34:00 PM More reviews by PeggyA

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been lining my bottom eye rim with a nude eye pencil for the past several years. It makes my eyes look bigger and more awake. The brands that I was buying were Paula Dorf, Vincent Longo or Tarte. The cost per pencil was between $18-$24. I was thrilled when I found the NYX Wonder Pencil for $4.99. The pencil is soft and non irritating to my eyes. This pencil is as good as the more expensive brands. I will definitely purchase again when this pencil runs out. Normally a pencil like this lasts about a year for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2014 7:48:00 PM More reviews by BonChicBonGenre

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have to go buy back-ups of this. I use this primarily for concealing dark acne scars - not the craters but the dark spots/dots that are left on your skin. I have several around my nose and mouth and the Medium shade conceals *perfectly*. I apply my foundation and then rub this all over the scars. It's like watching someone on Photoshop go through with an eraser - the dark spot just completely disappears! The texture is creamy and I blend with my fingertip. Then I dab translucent powder to set. This is the best concealer I have ever used in my entire life and, as I said, I need to go buy back-ups!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/31/2014 2:55:00 PM More reviews by ninaeaster

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was a disappointing product from Nyx. I have had great luck with Nyx lately except for this.

Pros:
The price

Cons:
Does not really brighten my watering
Barely stays on for three hours
The formula is dense and hard to work with

Will not be repurchasing

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2014 11:46:00 AM More reviews by MollieS

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I have Light and Medium and I am in love. I use both constantly to help conceal, sharpen lines, and highlight. Totally matte and transfer resistant. I highly recommend these.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/22/2014 4:50:00 PM More reviews by KJette

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

What a neat little product.

I don't own or wear lots of makeup, and I try to have the most simple makeup routines as possible. When I first saw this product I thought 'Oh sure, just another unnecessary step to add in the morning. How much of a difference do waterlines and reverse lip lining actually make?' I couldn't help but be intrigued by the potential of this product, and it's so affordable, I bought it in Light.

I kind of love it! I'm still not convinced it works 'wonders' but it's sure a handy little thing that have around! I use it to line my waterline and to correct pigmentation around my lip line. Makes me look and feel more polished and awake. I think it's too light and waxy to use as a concealer, but I suppose in a pinch it would be better than nothing. It's just so convenient to throw in your purse and use whenever, it's hard not to love it.

Is it a must-have? I didn't think it would be, but I'm beginning to change my tune. I definitely don't 'need' it but now that I've tried it, I'd rather not live without it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/20/2014 12:31:00 PM More reviews by MzDT

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This works for me wonderfully, but I don't use it on my waterline or for blemishes. I use it around my nose instead of concealer, and for that purpose, it is amazing. Just gives me a flawless look. I also think it works great to cover up flat scars - from old blemishes, pigmentation issues, ect. Set with a bit of powder, I think great and the price is fantastic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/16/2014 3:11:00 AM More reviews by chicshrieks

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Forget about using this to cover up blemishes, it's way too waxy so won't blend out evenly. These wonder pencils only come in three shades, and I bought it in 'medium' because my skin is a bit darker now (its Summer).

NYX touts this pencil as multi-purpose; you can use it to line your waterline to brighten your eyes, use it as a reverse lip liner and to cover up blemishes. Like I said before, forget about this as a concealer.

The pencil isn't the absolute best for lining waterlines-I had to go over it a couple of times for it to show up. But in a pinch, this will do. I found that using this as a reverse lip liner worked best. Whenever I wear a bright lip colour, I always use this to define my cupids bow and cover up the awful red ring I have around my lips. The bottom line is: this is best as a lip liner, okay as an eyeliner and useless as a concealer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/2/2014 8:13:00 PM More reviews by MoodySunshine

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I was expecting too much from this product when I first bought it (for my waterline) but after awhile I started liking it a lot more. However it does definitely make your eyes look wider and brighter. Its reasonably cheap so id suggest it :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/25/2014 1:34:00 PM More reviews by JayBee422

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I L O V E this thing! OMG, let me tell you how amazing it is! I used it to line my eyes, which are tiny, and it opened them up! I even had someone ask me what was different on me! I also used it as a reverse lip liner, and it made my lips look nice & full. I have the medium color & it complimented my skin pretty well. Over all, it's a must buy! I'm going to ulta today to buy another one!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/18/2014 9:22:00 PM More reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I had my heart set on loving this so I'm bummed this turned out to be a flop. First, the shades. Medium was too light for my skin but okay for the waterline. Dark was better but it does have a strong red/orange hue to it. When I applied this over a blemish, it looks foolish like BAM LOOK at this blemish. I put a big orange dot on it! So we go into the next huge problem with this. It does not blend at all. Now, I have oily skin so most things melt into my skin with ease, not this pencil. I find this pencil to be hard and reminds me of those long skinny Wet 'n Wild eye pencils I used in the 90's. Such poor cheap quality here with Wonder Pencil.

Is this review helpful? Yes No