December 19, 2014 | 877 users online

Eyeliner - Laura Mercier - Creme Eyeliner

no image

rated 4.8(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.8
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/17/2014 3:52:00 PM More reviews by shriekingviolet

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I picked up this liner in Canard about a month ago and was so thrilled with it, that I immediately ran out to pick another one up in Violet. Sadly, I'm a little less enthusiastic about that one. Canard is *perfect.* Not only is it a lovely matte dark teal (which is surprisingly wearable, even if you're not a fan of bold makeup!), the texture is a dream to work with. It's creamy without being messy, goes on perfectly opaque with just one swipe, glides on smoothly and delivers a crisp clean line. And it wears all day long without smearing or smudging! But Violet? Eh it takes a little more work. It has a much softer, almost goopy, texture than Canard. It goes on semi-sheer/semi-opaque, and slides around during application. Once it sets it's fine, no smudging or smearing and lasts as long as Canard, but it's much harder to get a thin crisp line with it and I find myself needing to do a lot clean up when I use it.

I'm interested in getting other shades of this (have my eye on cobalt!), but only if they're more like Canard than Violet.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/7/2014 6:43:00 PM More reviews by katemvirginia

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue







I love these!!!! Great quality & don't seem to dry out! I love the color selection & how easy they are to apply. Good quality jars & products. I'm shocked these aren't raved about more on MUA.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/13/2013 8:50:00 AM More reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

My new favorite eyeliner! I am usually a liquid eyeliner girl. I've tried gel eyeliners in the past and did not like how they applied. This one is a creme though and applies SO smoothly. It's more wet than a gel liner but dries to a matte finish that does not budge. I bought the Cobalt blue shade but I will definitely be purchasing more colors.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/19/2013 8:35:00 AM More reviews by jessimon

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First eyeliner that has long staying power and great colour payoff for me. I've tried pencils, gels, other cremes - a myriad of brands (Mac, Bobbi Brown, Shiseido, Chanel, YSL, Covergirl, Rimmel, etc.) but none lasted more than a couple of hours before fading, melting or settling into fine lines under my eyes - not a good look! Laura Mercier's creme eyeliner is easy to apply using a fine brush (I tightline both above and below my eye) and dries quickly. It stays put all day (no touch ups needed) and removes easily with a sensitive skin makeup wipe. It's also easy to apply for a winged/cat eye look.
I usually buy all my makeup on Strawberrynet but they didn't have this product, so I purchased the Espresso and Violet for full price from the local department store because this eyeliner is _that_ good. I've used the Espresso more than the Violet as it emphasises my eyes while also giving a more natural look (prefer this right now). It has probably saved me a ton of money, as my search for the no-budge, easily applied eyeliner is over. Highly recommended!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/8/2013 6:43:00 AM More reviews by tmchichi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I actually only use this on my lower waterline. Love the consistency and pigment and the fact that it's waterproof. For me, I still use a waterproof pencil under this to extend the life of it since I use eyedrops throughout the day and no waterproof liner is waterproof enough for my waterline. Honestly, it doesn't stay all day on my outer corners, but it doesn't smear. I actually don't know where it goes because I don't feel it in my eyes either -.-;;

Bottom line, I don't feel the need to spend money on other liners as I'm quite happy with this one and would repurchase it when what seems to be a long lasting jar runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/30/2013 4:34:00 PM More reviews by GentleReader

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Absolutely stunning violet color that makes my green eyes pop without screaming "purple eyeliner". I use it to tightline my upper and lower lashline, and I couldn't be happier with this eyeliner! After searching for a long time and spending a fair amount of $$, I've finally found my HG purple e/l. :)

Amazing staying power (I teach hot yoga, so I should know!), very easy to apply, and a true violet color that's not too blue or red. Awesome as tightliner for a subtle, daytime look. Easily built up into a thicker, more dramatic line for night with excellent color payoff. Worth every penny!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/10/2013 10:40:00 AM More reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

As others have stated this is not a gel eyeliner and as such it performs superbly. It is more liquid but creamy and that makes application a lot easier and it looks better than gel liners. I mainly use Bobbi Brown gel liners for the colours but they do appear heavy and gunky, likely to crack and overall don't look nice. This is a new generation and a great product. I have it in Canard which is a real grown up deep teal with a nice balance of blue to green. It is easy to wear so it won't look garish ever but will look particularly nice and tropical without going over the top on a hot summer's day. Yes day - this is not a "night only" shade. I will be purchasing more colours since I am so pleased with this product.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2013 7:50:00 AM More reviews by shelly5858

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Love this eyeliner. I bought the violet. I did not need it as I had just bought a Bb gel eyeliner. But, once I tried it in the store I could not resist. Goes on like a dream. Soft, easy to work with. Color is beautiful, like a soft blackish violet. Doesn't feel like a tub of mascara lie some other gels do. So easy to work with. and lasts all day but still comes off easily with remover. Loved it so much, I had to buy the Noir even though I have bb in black! Now, thinking if I should go buy another!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/7/2013 11:49:00 AM More reviews by dkitaen

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is the best creme/gel liner that I have used and I have used them all. It is a smooth wet consistenancy almost like liquid liner in creme form in a jar. It goes on beautifully and stays on all day. I can't rave enough about this.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2013 2:20:00 AM More reviews by hybridlola

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Superb gel eyeliner that rivals other HE products I have tried. Formula and colour (Canard) are a dream. I will repurchase Canard when the time comes and will definitely pick up other shades.

FORMULA
The formula is a gel cream that is quite moist, creating a nice smooth consistency to work with. The texture is much softer than BB gel liners, which I find rather dry even when new. The consistency reminds me of some MAC fluidlines I have owned, but perhaps more gel-like. Pigmentation is excellent and intensity can be achieved without having to build up the product. The finish has a slight sheen to it when swatched, particularly the black. In the shade Canard I find the sheen barely visible on the eye, although I think it helps to give the turquoise a softer look.

APPLICATION
A thin eyeliner brush is needed due to the wetness of the product. I first picked up the LM tightliner brush to try a tightline, but found the brush too thick and product too wet to tightliner with. This was my first try though, so I am sure the product can work well for tightlining with some practice. I found the BB eyeliner brush worked very well for my first try. I applied a thin line on the top and brushed a tiny amount of product on the lower lash line with the point of the brush to add tinge of colour. Once finished the application, I tried to smudge the line slightly but it wouldn't budge. I sometimes like to blend my gel liner slightly to soften the look. It seems as though I waited too long to smudge, as the liner sets quite quickly.

WEARABILITY
Once the liner set it didn't move or fade at all. I wore it for over twelve hours and it looked just as fresh at the end of the day as when I applied it. Best staying power of any gel liner I have tried!

COLOUR (CANARD)
Absolutely stunning! A gorgeous medium-dark teal shade that is intense yet very wearable for daytime. It evokes images of the Mediterranean Sea. The shade really makes my hazel eyes sparkle, though I imagine it would look beautiful with all eye colours. A unique and very flattering look that can be rather subtle if worn as the central focus with neutral makeup or as a beautiful compliment to a more dramatic evening look.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No