August 30, 2014 | 1797 users online

Skincare - Face - MD Forte - Glycare Cleansing Gel for Oily Skin

no image

rated 3.8(25 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/31/2012 9:52:00 AM More reviews by taltman11

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This facial wash is a staple in our house. I keep spare bottles on hand so we don't run out. My husband uses this wash every day. He has oily skin, but few breakouts, and gives this product the credit for keeping his skin clear. I use it during the summer months when my face turns into an oil slick. It doesn't dry out our skin or cause irritation. We love this stuff! As I mentioned in another review, I order MD Forte products from a major beauty website that almost always has this product line on sale for 20% off. Oh, just as background, my husband is 42 and suffered from acne in his teens and 20's. His skin is clear now, but he still has oily skin. My skin changes with the seasons and once the weather warms up, my face produces more oil than Saudi Arabia.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/14/2010 12:44:00 PM More reviews by kokolani

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Awesome cleanser!!
I have used MD Forte on and off for about 7 years. This stuff is wonderful for oily skin (don't go for this one if you are dry). It smoothes out the surface dullness and gives you a super clean fresh feel like nothing else! helps brighten skintone with regular use, helps keep skin clear of mild acne and dead skin. Also it is perfect to use just periodically as an exfoliant if you don't go for granular scrubs. At times when I am using the whole MD Forte line i will use this daily. I have a different regimen right now so this is too much acid and too drying to use in conjunction with that stuff. but i do use it on the rare occasions when i need to exfoliate and i mix in a tiny bit with my regular cleanser and that works well with no irritation.
At first this may sting a little while you're getting use to it, and it may cause purging if you are congested as well. But your skin should get used to it if you build up a tolerance gradually. Avoid the eye area cause you definitely don't want this to get in your eyes, it stings!
I change my products when my skin needs change, but this is one cleanser i always tend to go back to when i need that deep kind of clean. it rocks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/6/2010 4:02:00 PM More reviews by justforfun

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I was using Paula’s Choice 2% Liquid AHA up until November and unfortunately, this product worsened my skin. Paula’s Choice has great customer service, though, and they refunded me without any questions. After reading all the rave reviews, I decided to order some products from MD Forte. I used their Facial Cleanser II and Facial Lotion II three years ago, but I stopped because “natural” and “organic” was all the rage and I was advised to stop using ‘harsh’ chemicals on my skin. I believe that was a huge mistake because I can remember telling my friends to purchase from MD Forte because I was so happy with the results back then.

So, I ordered from skinstore and used the 20% off coupon that a few reviewers had mentioned (thanks! it worked!). On Christmas Eve, I received my products: Glycare Cleansing Gel, Glycare Perfection Gel, Glycare II, Replenish Hydrating Cream, Facial Lotion III and the Skin Rejuvenation Hydra-masque. With the overnight shipping and tax, I think it came to around $115 or something, which is pretty good if you ask me. That day, I began the regimen for my oily/acne prone skin which can be found here: http://www.skincare-md.com/index.cfm?event=mdforteregimen (you can find the regimen for your skin type) and also used the mask for 15 minutes after cleansing. I should add, however, that this regimen is not advised by MD Forte, but by skinstore, and MD Forte advises that you develop a regimen with your physician or dermatologist – and for good reason too! The first week was like hell for my skin. There was A LOT of purging: my skin was very tingly, the glycare perfection gel, in particular, gave me a burning sensation for the first few days, and I got 4-7 hard pimples on my face (when I usually have 2-3 smaller and manageable ones). However, the first day I used it my mom said that my skin looked better so I think that the mask worked very well and the replenish hydrating cream made my skin velvety smooth. So, purging is to be expected with this regimen, however, if you were using MD Forte II products before, I don’t think it will be as bad. The only reason I went straight to Level III is because I used Jason’s 12% aha gel and PC’s 2% and my skin is very oily, so I thought it would be okay.

Anyway, this past Tuesday, it was officially the second week I had been doing the regimen and even before realizing that, I noticed how much more even my skin has gotten. My face is noticeably smoother, my pores are smaller and my skin tone is more even and I can only thank MD Forte for that. Also, one test I do to see how well the product is working is to do some whitehead extractions on my nose (the white stuff beneath your skin that you can’t really see) and there was a lot less white stuff that came out than before which means that the products are really exfoliating, deep cleansing and rejuvenating my skin. I am really excited to see the full results on week 6 or after the 2 month mark!! I have a lot of scarring and it is definitely fading, and even today my friend said that my makeup looked really good (which has EVERYTHING to do with the canvas you’re putting it on) and I noticed a lot more men looking too ;)

I was going to wait until after 6 weeks of using the products to write a review, but I am so pleased with the results so far that I want you all to know about it. If you have acne or oily skin, do yourself a favor and try MD Forte products and if you’re really gung ho, use the full line like me! It is winter, so using sunscreen is probably not as important as the summer, but you should still get in the habit of using a sunscreen if you are using these products. I use the Vichy 60 SPF (I know its a lot but its weather resistant to) – I put it on after the replenish hydrating cream, and then as a last step I use Cover FX primer before putting on my makeup (cover fx concealer).

Anyway, I will update this review in 4 weeks or if I happen to notice a big change in my skin before then.

P.S. For those who will also do the regimen or use MD forte products, I saw a tip on the website that said that you can do a few glycolic acid masks to speed up the skin renewal process and then you will get clearer skin faster. I definitely don’t have money for that, but to those of you who do, I suggest you talk to your derm about that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/11/2009 1:38:00 AM More reviews by ghoo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is an extremely effective product- if you have very thick, oily skin, you should try it out. It works wonders on blackheads on my nose and other areas that are super oily- but for the rest of my combo skin it is just too harsh. So far I have been using it as a body wash instead, and it makes the skin so smooth, as if I just had a salt rub.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/7/2008 2:47:00 PM More reviews by Svetlana7311

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Glycare worked wonders in keeping my blackheads and oiliness at bay, I am not acne prone, I do get zit or two sometimes just like everyone else, so I can not comment if it's good at controlling breakouts, I mean real issues here, I don't think this cleanser on its own will resolve these problems for you. It is not an acne medication, it's only a cleanser. I used it a couple of years twice a day until the thing about clogging and harsh sulfates and "greatanhealthy" mineral makeup came out and I decided to switch to another SLS/ALS free gentle product and wear MMU. Welcome blackheads multiplied by XXXXX and even extra: Welcome large pores! Gosh, thanks. So on and off, sulfates or sulfates free, 4 years I went through a few bottles of this cleanser, and my skin always looked great with it. A human nature, you've got to find something better even if you have it already. I wish Ive never switched. I want sulfates, nothing else will clean out debris from inside of your pores. And I did try oil cleansers, I started DHC again, not a miracle. Glycare can be drying, agree. Never for me. Even without a moisturizer. My skin has changed lately and it's not so oily anymore, and I switched to MD Fortle level III, it has a higher percentage of glycolic acid, and I love it as well (update, I prefer glycare). I have some Glycare leftovers and I alternate two cleansers, although I still have no problems with gel one, no dryness or any other issues. I don't use them twice a day now. Now after trying both I can tell for sure that Glycare does way better job at removing makeup and debris than level cleansers. So if you wear makeup and sunscreen you will need to precleanse and use level cleanser afterward, or use it in the morning. I do not like leave-on glycolic acid products, I prefer lactic acid for my pores, fine lines and small spots, but I love MD Forte Glycare.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/9/2008 2:55:00 PM More reviews by tlw

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is great on my face. I have thick oily skin, with large pores. I use to break out but that has stopped. I wash with this and then use La Roche Posay Effaclar K. The combo of these two have done wonders on my skin. Sometimes this gel will sting your face, but as soon as you wash it off that goes away. The bottle is huge and I ordered it online for $25.00. The pakaging is not the greatest, the cap is useless. I will continue to buy this cleanser as long as it works.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/28/2008 3:12:00 PM More reviews by rallu

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I like it because it makes my face clean but I won't buy it again because it dries out my face and i don't think it helps with the little pimples .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/12/2008 8:56:00 AM More reviews by starrydreams

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I did so much research before I bought this because I was desperate to find something to help my oily/acne prone skin. I bought this in conjunction with the Glycare Perfection Gel because they both had a lot of positive reviews. Well, let's just say I am more than disappointed, and they were both a total waste of money. I stuck with them for quite a few months and they made no difference in my skin. :( I had such high hopes too. I am 22, almost 23 and I still have really bad acne. Shouldn't this have stopped a long time ago?? The weird thing is it has actually gotten worse with age. Oh well, my search for something that will help my annoying and problematic skin continues! (Keep your fingers crossed for me.) :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/1/2008 8:27:00 PM More reviews by Jessica84

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for about two weeks along with the glycare 1 and the glycare perfection gel. Normally when I try new products I have 1-2 weeks of horrible breakouts followed by my face clearing up (my skin just always has to adjust), but not with these products. Within a couple of days the little tiny zits that covered my nose and forhead were smooth, which is amazing. It has also majorly cut down on the cystic acne as well. I live in an extremely dry climate and normally it is a constant battle to keep my skin from being flaky and rough (while incredly oily everywhere else), but I have had no problems with this. In fact my face is less dry than it was before I started using it. Glycolic acid really does work great for me. I am thoroughly happy with this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/19/2007 8:58:00 PM More reviews by Carlita22

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have been using the facial cleanser II for over a year now, so I decided to try something different. I wasn't happy with this, though. This cleanser was far too harsh on my skin - it actually felt like my face was burning during and after use. Then, the next morning my face would be irritated and flakey. I was using the tiniest amount, but I guess this wasn't a good fit for me. I'm going back to the facial cleanser II.

Is this review helpful? Yes No