November 25, 2014 | 1846 users online

Hair Treatments - Couture Colour - Pequi Oil



image 0

rated 4.4(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/8/2014 11:33:00 AM More reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Sephora used to carry this, and I'm still trying to use mine up. This smells fantastic (like coconuts) , but it leaves a gummy residue on my hair and thus, I can only use it on hair that isn't clean when I want to slick a ponytail back.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/19/2013 12:26:00 PM More reviews by lizmcgugin

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i love this stuff. Lets just say my hair is very "overprocessed" but i am still working on growing it out as well. I did have an ombre so my ends are not in the best shape. i have tried so many different things, and this oil literally transformed my hair. i can run my fingers through it and it doesnt knot up like it usually does. so great. love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2013 7:27:00 PM More reviews by annalynn77

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

After reading sparkleBunny37 just wanted to say I couldn't agree more with her what a great detailed review and so right on..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/31/2013 6:35:00 AM More reviews by Snooties

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff more than I love any of my family members. Literally every time I use it (which is every day), I spend the entire time I'm applying it thinking about how I want to recommend it to everyone I know. Makes hair soft and shiny *without* making it greasy. It's done wonders for my split ends. I have straight, medium to thin hair, but I think this product would work well on all hair types. And it smells fantastic.

It's worth noting that a little bit goes a long way: I only need about four or five drops for my very long hair. Do yourself a favor and buy a small bottle, which is only about $10 but will last you forever. Seriously, this stuff seems pricey, but the small bottle is all you need, and given how many uses you'll get out of it (I've been using it for weeks and have barely made a dent), it's an amazing value. Love, love, love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/22/2013 8:26:00 AM More reviews by jenwrite

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Excellent product. I received a free trial version, and it works very well throughout the day to make fried hair smooth. The oil does not weigh down fine hair, which is wonderful when compared to similar Argan oil or silicone products (Aveda, Frizz-Ease) I have used. You do not need much in your hand - five to eight drops seems to be a good measure for my shoulder-length hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2013 7:55:00 AM More reviews by CocoMademoiseIIe

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I was skeptical when I first read the reviews, but now that I have gone through an entire bottle I am convinced this is one of the best products I have ever used. I blow-dry and flat-iron my hair on a daily basis, so the ends of my hair tend to become brittle and dry, even with regular trims. This treatment corrected my dry frizzy ends and added lots of shine. Best of all, it didn't weigh down my hair or make my hair look greasy. I apply this everynight before bed. I have acne-prone skin and I haven't had any problems with it clogging my pores (which sometimes happens when hair treatments get on my pillow).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/5/2013 10:11:00 PM More reviews by cfmarie79

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I too received this in my Glambag, and am pleasantly surprised with how much I love it. I never thought I could use oils on my hair as I have long, THIN, wavy hair that goes limp like you wouldn't believe. My ends are a complete disaster beause I can never afford to have my hair cut, and I love to keep my hair long...I know, I'm working on it :)

Anyway, I use this oil on my damp hair only on the bottom half before I blow dry, concentrating on the ends. I probably use more than I should but even so, never get a greasy or oily residue. This stuff smells SO good ya'll! It's very lightly and pleasantly scented almost like a macaroon, but doesn't interfere with any other scented products I may be wearing. It feels very healthy and luxurious and keeps my ends from looking shredded. I received a 0.5 oz. sample and have been using it liberally for weeks and still have a little less than half remaining! I don't usually ever buy full sized products of samples but let me tell you... this is now officially part of my staple product lineup! I want to buy the 4 oz size to save some $$ because I know I will be using this for years to come, but it's sold out right now on the website so I'll wait :) I took off a star because of the hefty pricetag, but I'm okay with paying for quality products so it's not a big deal. The 4 oz is $50 by the way, the 2 oz is $32.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/20/2012 1:42:00 AM More reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Couture Colour's Pequi Oil is a nautral oil derived from the pequi fruit, a fruit native to the Amazon Rain Forest. This oil is claimed to be "rich in moisture restoring antioxidants, vitamins A&E, and nutrients that help maintain hair's health, colour, and radiance". Couture Colour says that this oil, which is 95% organic, will "tame frizz, mend split ends, revive dry, brittle hairs, and has a natural UV filter to keep colour vibrant, fresh looking." Couture Colour offers three sizes of Pequi Oil, .5fl oz ($12), 2fl oz ($32), and 4fl oz ($50). This is some pricey stuff! I got a little .5fl oz (15ml) sample bottle in my October Ipsy bag. Couture Colour products can be bought through the brand's website and at Sephora. This brand does not test on animals. This hair oil was made in America.
This hair oil has pretty nice packaging for only being a sample. A translucent, plastic sepia bottle is toppoed off with a black screw on cap. This bottle is recyclable. Unscrewing the cap reveals a small tab that acts as a stopper. Popping that little tab up reveals a small hole. You'd think, as an oil, this stuff would just pour righto ut and be a mess, but pouring product out isn't as easy as you'd think it'd be; it actually takes a few shakes to get an adequate amount out. The label that wraps around the bottle is grey, and is still firmly affixed despite it's exposure to oil. The label features the name of the product on the front, and directions, warnings, and ingredients on the back.
My hair can get a little greasy, so putting more oil in it didn't sound like a good idea to me, but like a good little blogger I put this oil treatment to the test. Couture Colour's Pequi Oil is a viscose, but not thick, clear oil. This stuff smells exactly like Biscoff cookies to me. Nom! This hair oil is no where near as greasy as I predicted. Come to think about, nothing about this oil is anything like what I expected. Do I honestly think that this Pequi Oil mends split ends and gives me hair thats "600% stronger and 250% shinier after just one application"? No, that's bull. But I love what this oil does for my hair, regardless. Its suggested that this product is applied before shampooing, styling, or blow drying, but I like to work this hair oil in after a thorough brushing on a day in between washings. The oil absorbs almost instantly, but the results aren't quite as fast acting. I don't notice the full results from this oil til the next day (I tend to apply it at night). The next morning, when I brush my hair out, my hair is superbly shiny, silky, and so easy to work with, it actually makes me want to do something other than just put my hair up in a ponytail. This treatment doesn't make my hair oily either. The best part is that the results last for about two days in my hair. I apply Couture Colour's Pequi Oil twice a week and it has really improved my hair's texture and it gives me a small confidence boost. Plus it makes my hair smell like one of the most delicious and underrated cookies ever.
I really, really like Couture Colour's Pequi Oil! It wasn't what I thought it would be, it's much better! This product has really piqued my interest in trying other hair oils. If Argan or Moroccan oils are anything like Pequi oil, than I can totally understand the hype. While I don't believe this product's outrageous claims (we've had this talk before about split end mending), I do like the results it delivers. Sadly I won't be purchasing this product due to the price. I will continue to use and enjoy Couture Colour's oil, I still have at least 3/4 of the bottle left even though I use it frequently. I definitely recommend Couture Colour's Pequi Oil if you can afford it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No