July 29, 2014 | 2050 users online

Hair Color - Schwarzkopf - Color Mask



image 0

rated 3.1(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.1
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 3/17/2014 7:02:00 AM More reviews by shirleyV

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I use this product frequently to cover my awful silver roots.
I love the way it's so easy to mix in the little pot. The coverage is good. The colour is lovely and deep(I use the dark brown) it lasts pretty well too. All in all I like this one as it's a mask I don't feel it's too messy. 9/10 for quality and ease of use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/1/2013 5:55:00 PM More reviews by LadyxBec

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

My only real complaint is the smell! It tingled a little, but wasn't painful or any worse than what I experience at the hairdressers. I used light copper brown.
The Good: Application was super easy (I always use my fingers for hair dye anyways), I liked the tub thing and shaking it. The condition did a nice job of softening up my hair. I'm pleased with the colour.
The Bad: the smell! Oh my god it was awful. It actually like, caused pain in my nose and eyes from the chemicals.(only when I tipped my head forward to do the hair at the nape of my neck, the rest of the time it didn't bother me as much). My hair did feel quite dry after I rinsed it out, but the conditional dealt with that. The colour is not the same as on the box, but it's pretty close & I'm yet to see a hair dye that actually is!

Overall, it did what I wanted. I generally go to the hairdresser, but if I ever needed an emergency touch-up again I would happily use this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/1/2013 5:10:00 PM More reviews by courtneytx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a terrible product. I used Perl Blonde on my already blonde hair and It did nothing other than dye it an ugly shade of green. I then had to damage my hair when trying to fix it. This product did not do as described and I will be avoiding it at all costs in the future!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2013 10:07:00 AM More reviews by LilLexy100

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I bought this in Golden Brown and it was on offer in TJ Hughes for about £4 so I thought I'd give it a try. I wasn't expecting much after reading the mixed reviews but I love the results. I have medium brown hair and it's turned my colour exactly the shade it promised. It's a gorgeous deep golden brown and I've had loads of compliments on the condition and shine on my hair.

I applied it to my roots for 20 minutes first (as they were growing out and slightly lighter than my ends) and then to the ends of my hair for the final 20 minutes. Then I applied the masque conditioner - you get loads of it - at first I thought it was a 6 week supply!!

The dye is in a 'tub' and you apply with your fingers, which for some might be odd, but I've always applied my hairdye with my fingers (gloved of course) so I can 'smoosh' it right into my roots.

The colour is super-even - at first I thought there wouldn't be enough product, and I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. I think I've found a new hair colourant!

I must say - all these reviews are entirely subjective and the horror stories I've had using blonde home dyes; well i could write a book on them. I always find the medium and darker shades of home colourants to work better and leave being blonde up to my hairdresser! So I'm positive I would have given a different review with a lighter colour...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/26/2013 10:53:00 AM More reviews by Sazzi060

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product recently as i normally get my hair done in the hairdressers nowadays but used at home colouring for years before. Last time i got my colour done at the hairdressers she missed areas an it was left patchy, i just wanted it fixed but wasn't going to pay to have it done again. This product cost me £7 which isn't the cheapest of the boxed colourant but personally i think was worth the price. The mask was easy to apply, i applied to my roots for 20mins then combed through for another 15min. My hair is even and completely covered (no patchs) i left the conditioner on for 10min to make sure my hair was deeply conditioned as i look after my hair an dont want one colour to ruin it. The result i love it, my hair is soft, extremely shiny ive had compliments saying it looks silky and healthy, the colour looks professional and natural. Overall i will be using this product again its perfect.
I used natural blonde 900, my natural colour is dirty blonde and i have been dying my hair light blonde for 10 years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/23/2013 6:03:00 AM More reviews by Amie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Right, before I rant let me just say I have been dying my hair for years, about 25 to be exact; I have tried pretty much every brand you can get your hands on, salon exclusives included. I also took LíOreal colour courses when I worked in a salon, so I know about colour.

I bought this on a whim the other day, it was time to do my hair (after being ill for several months and not bothering with it) this was on promo for £4, now I donít normally buy Schwarzkopf myself, my daughter does and it works ok for her, so I thought I would give it a go.

Currently my hair is med blonde roots and slightly lighter lengths and ends, not bleached into oblivion, but light blonde none the less.
I have had beige hair (yes all the rage now apparently) long before it was "in", and thought I would try it again as it's been a while since I tried it. The colour that I bought is 940 Beige Blonde.

Now per another reviewer there was comment about the smell, well the mask itself (pre dye) is lightly floral, albeit plasticy, but not totally unpleasant. Once you add the dye it does change, but I still didnít think it was too bad, maybe this would vary depending on the shade you used, i.e. the pigments in the darker ones may make that a more unpleasant smell, IDK. I gave this a good shake and the toner colour that they have added to this is grey/green, so the dye will be odd once mixed.
I went ahead and used my brush (for dye) instead of my fingers, but I guess if you are not used to dying the finger method and the fact that this wont drip may be easy for some, and less cumbersome to apply, so thumbs up on that.
I did the root method, tested and timed accordingly. Now the sting, yes it DOES! I was totally shocked by this as I have only ever had that issue when dying my hair completely platinum white, literally no other dye I have used does this, so this was an upleasant surprise. And the stinging didnt go away untill I had washed the dye off.
When it came time to wash out the dye, it didnít lather very well, I live in a hard water area, but I still donít have too much of an issue with other boxed dyes lathering. I rinsed and what I was left with was crispy dried hair, now Iíve been here before and once the conditioner was added and rinsed, it sorted that right out and I didnít see any adverse effects, HOWEVER, the conditioner with this was is very basic, it barely conditioned my hair and left it feeling still rather dry after rinsing.
The colour.............OMFG. NOT beige blonde at all. The roots, and not just my roots but about halfway down my lengths was brassy reddish blonde, the ends were beige, but definitely on the grey side. My hair was still quite dry looking.
I decided to leave it overnight and rewash the next day to see what happened, well when I did it lightened the ends, and they were more beige I suppose (nothing like the lovely Nice & Easy Beige Blonde though) but the root & length just got brassier. When I looked in natural light I may as well have dyed my hair light auburn :(
Also I noticed about an hour later I had some spots coming up in my scalp and around my hairline, not small but very large cysts, since i am writing this a few days later, they are still there, smaller but still red and bumpy, it's possible that the "correction" I had to do to my hair (see below) exacerbated the issue, but I dont get this problem from other dyes, so I'm unimpressed to say the least, and very disappointed in this dye!
I have now had to re-do my hair, streaked with platinum to lift it, and apply toner and purple shampoos to correct the roots, and do two intensive masks to correct the dried ends, including a small trim :(
Save your money ladies, after the promo this stuff is going up to £7. You are better off with Nice&Easy, or the dreaded L'oreal (their reformulated colours are much better now) or Sally's for the good stuff.The only thing I am glad about is that when I applied the platinum colour to lift it, it came up quickly to light blonde, so at least if you must correct it, it wont be an impossible feat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/18/2013 10:26:00 AM More reviews by Romany65

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have to totally disagree with former review..I bought this in the Warm Mahogany colour. Easy to mix, and apply ( I found it easier to use a brush, like they do in salons rather than fingers)..30 minutes later rinsed off. Applied hair mask/conditioner. left for 1 min and rinsed. result=..Lovely shiny soft beautifully coloured hair! Smell? no worse than ALL hair dyes. Smell after dried & styled? gorgeous. I found depth of colour spot on. Well done Swatzkopf a winner. *****

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/29/2012 2:31:00 PM More reviews by siobhan5

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Schwarzkopf company has launched a new haircolor range called "color mask". The clue: you mix the color in a jar like a hairmask. Schwarzkopf also promotes this range saying it "like a Spa experience, nearly like a relaxing hairmask."
Well, it's not. This must be one of the most aggressive hairdyes I've ever used. (and I used a relatively light color, No. 665/light chocolate brown") It has a sharp stench, my scalp became quite warm while having it on, and it also burned on my skin a little. The idea of putting it onto your head like a hairmask isn't that great either, because it is hard to put it on exact spots, especially if you only want to dye the roots. After washing it out my hair was extremely dry, also after using the hairtreatment coming with it. I had to wash my hair at least twice to get that sharp unpleasant stench out, and the color was ok but not overwhelming. All in all a complete disappointment, there a way better products on the market which aren't that harsh an d can be applied much more easily. I certainly won't repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No